We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, but a few problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here late in the year and the heating was broken so it was freezing! Reagardless of that it was a lovely hotel, and I enjoyed my stay (sort of).
*nice, clean rooms
*modern decor
*quite family friendly :(small private cinema)
*good food

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rate or slate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyrathEstate, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Rate or Slate

I appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor following your stay at the Lyrath Estate Hotel and convention centre.

I am really pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your break with us, and found the standards of cleanliness, decor and cuisine to be of a very high standard. I was however disappointed to learn of the difficulties you experienced with the heating within your room, I will personally ensure that our maintenance team are aware of your feedback and will endeavour to double check all are fully functional. I note your stay was in November and would appreciate it if you might contact me directly in order that I identify the room you occupied.

I have shared your very kind comments regarding the food, service and cleanliness of the hotel to all of my team members who were really pleased to hear such fantastic feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for what we can assure you will be another thoroughly enjoyable stay and clearly one where the room is more comfortable in terms of temperature.


Best Wishes

Iain Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,692 - 1,698 of 2,485 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LyrathEstate, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed from 3rd-5th February-a Sunday to Tuesday. Hotel was pleasantly busy for 'midweek' providing a nice atmosphere without feeling overly crowded. Ate in both restaurants each of the nights and both were equally good, breakfast was excellent with a wide range on offer especially the fruits/nuts range. There was an excellent singer/guitarist playing on the Sunday night which was a lovely surprise! Pool was nice but small, we didn't use the spa - didn't want any treatments and as it is €30pp for use of the thermal suite needless to say we didn't use it!! We had a lovely room - superior as this was included in our deal. Cant complain about anything - we had a lovely stay that was excellent value for money but comparing to other 4/5star hotels we've stayed in I would probably only return if we got another good offer/deal!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cc_cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyrathEstate, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear cc_Cork

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Lyrath Estate Hotel and convention centre.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your break with us and had the opportunity to experience most of the facilities whilst you were with us, and found all of these to be of a very high standard. I have passed on your comments to Louise our Spa manager regarding the tariff for the thermal suite and we aim to review the pricing for this service within the next month.

I am Glad that you were able to take advantage of one of our special offers which we run very frequently during the quieter periods of the year.

Best Wishes

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel on Sunday the 3rd Feb 2013. This is our second time at this hotel. The staff were friendly and welcomed us. We has a nice meal in the bar and there was a one man band in the bar to entertain us that evening.

We had a pleasant relaxed stay and would return again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sescommunications
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyrathEstate, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Sescommunications

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Lyrath Estate Hotel, and many thanks for leaving a review on Trip Advisor following your stay.

It is pleasing to learn that you have visited us at Lyrath in the past. Our key asset is of course our team and it is very rewarding when they are recognised for the great service they provide to all of our valued Guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate Hotel for another very enjoyable stay.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Myself and few friends headed off to Lyrath for girlie/catch up weekend. and we weren't disappointed. With 2 restaurants and 2 bars - there was plenty of choice. I was expecting a typical country house but in fact this place is very chic & modern on the inside. Saturday we all had treatments in the spa - all got top marks. The thermal suite is def worth a visit!

Saturday night we had dinner in La Perla which is quite large & spacious so a table of 9 didn't feel squashed in. There was live music in the bar upstairs which gave nice atmosphere for the night.

It's a sure sign a place is doing something very well when the spa was fully booked on a Saturday for treatments (there was at minimum 9 therapists on) and Sunday morning there was a queue for breakfast (even though the restaurant is quite large) but not a big delay. I am definitely looking forward to another trip to the Lyrath :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorro66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyrathEstate, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Lorro66

I am really pleased that you and the girls enjoyed your recent trip to the Lyrath Estate hotel, and thank you for the time you have taken to share your feedback with us.

One of the key assets is that we provide the best of both worlds at Lyrath, with our charming and beautiful original house, combined with the fantastic and well appointed addition of the modern and stylish facilities you enjoyed whilst staying with us.

The views from the thermal suite are quite spectacular looking out over our extensive grounds and beyond. Louise our spa Manager has asked me to pass on her thanks for the kind comments you have made in relation to your spa experience, the team were really delighted to know that you all enjoyed your treatments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate Hotel for another very enjoyable stay.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful weekend in Kilkenny. We stayed for two nights at the Lyrath and really enjoyed it. Our superior room was fantastic, there were plenty of people around for atmosphere and the food was excellent - special mention for the breakfast. Staff are extremely friendly and everyone we passed said hello. Luke the night porter deserves a special mention. He could not have been nicer when he moved all our stuff from one room to another and we didn't have to lift a finger! Thank you Lyrath.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyrathEstate, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear JKBJ

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel.

It really is pleasing to learn that you were able to experience and enjoy all of the extensive facilities whilst with us and that our key asset, the team, delivered fantastic service to you throughout your short stay. I have passed on your very kind comments to Luke, and he has asked that I thank you for such great feedback regarding his service.

We have a new team of chefs developing at Lyrath and the comments that you have made regarding the quality of the food have been very Well received by Noel our new head chef and his team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate Hotel for another very enjoyable stay.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just had a stay in the Lyrath last Saturday and the only thing to fault was that we couldn't stay longer! Stayed in room 41 in the old house and was awestruck at how magnificent it was, pure luxury. Enjoyed the restaurant, the spa, the staff were excellent. Look forward to coming back again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JimMolony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyrathEstate, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear JimMolony

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel.

I believe the hotel provides the best of both worlds with great quality modern amenities whilst retaining the charm and character of a bygone era in the beautiful surroundings of the Old House. Room 41 is really something special enjoying fine views over our extensive grounds and beyond, this being the original master bedroom when the house was a private residence.

It is genuinely pleasing to learn that you were able to experience and enjoy all of the facilities whilst with us and that our key asset, the team, delivered fantastic service to you throughout your short stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate Hotel and hope that next time you are able to stay with us a little longer.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,960 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,801 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,040 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: $145 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper’s is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee’s serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing