We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful hotel bit very overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel bit very overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

If u can get this hotel for c€130 or so it's worth it. We paid for a dinner,B&b rate which isn't worth it as restaurant food and service just ok. Book bed and breakfast and go eat in nearby Kilkenny. On plus side it's extremely child friendly with a mini cinema, good pool etc and hotel will get child minders in evening at competitive rates. Negatives were restaurant with dour staff and nil atmosphere. Reception was friendly but always busy therefore a bit slow. Hotel is in kind of administration so maybe explains skeleton reception staff. In essence, nice but eat out!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewv45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    472
    269
    101
    42
See reviews for
539
952
18
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Set in nice grounds, reception staff professional and friendly, room had a nice view and private balcony, dinner in La Perla good, spa was pitiful and breakfast was an awful affair.

It's not worthy of the 5 star rating. The spa was truly awful, it has potential but was poorly managed. It was cold, crowded, no steam in the steam room and my massage was 10 minutes short of what I booked (and paid for). I would not make this the primary reason for your visit.

I would not return.

Room Tip: Looking onto the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daubyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was brought here by my daughter for afternoon tea , it was very quiet and the wow factor was audible as we entered the Hotel. We were seated straight away and given menus , the lad that served us was very nice and we didn't have to wait long for the afternoon tea to arrive , 2pots of tea later and only crumbs left from sandwiches cakes and scones, delish. I'd go again .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahearne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had the pleasure along with my family of having our daughter's wedding here. It was a wonderful experience due mailnly to the friendlyness and hopitality of the hotel staff and management. They just could not do enough for us. Nothing was impossible for them and it made our stay all the more enjoyable. The food was very good and pleanty of it. The main function room was so nice and warm with great ambience. The guest rooms were all so well kept and maintained throughout our 3 day stay. The Christmas tree was a wonderful feature and helped create a lovely feeling. We were so glad to have chosen this hotel but to be honest from past experiences there it was what we really expected. We certainly will rteturn again soon but not with all the entourage !!!!

Room Tip: Take an executive room where you get a lot of space and freedom. Do use the swimming pool area as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dermot K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Nestled in what seems like a high end horse ranch, this estate gives you the feeling you own & LIVE on a horse ranch but without any of the duties. Beautiful landscaping everywhere and the views of the Irish rolling hills seems to transport you back in another era.

We love this place and hope to return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room on the top floor.. The view is exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJNashcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Lyrath Estate is a pretty impressive hotel when you enter. The foyer is beautiful and maintains a connection with bygone eras, albeit a little mixed in its approach.

We stayed here for 1 night only on a stopover to elsewhere. We were met with pleasure at reception and the hotel was nice and warm on a rather miserable evening. Our room was really nice also, probably somewhere between 4 star and 5 star quality. Couldn't find fault with it. Bathroom was really nice actually with separate shower and bath.

We had food in the really cosy bar area. However this is where we encountered some minor issues. The service was pleasant and timely. But neither of the two orders were fulfilled correctly and while i accepted mine, my husband had to send his back and he could not eat what was delivered. So that was dissappointing in a 5-star hotel. Althought the staff were very apologetic... would have been nice to have been offered a coffee or something to make up for it and improve our impression.

But back to our cosy room and we were happy. Unfortunately the experience for breakfast the next morning again was not at the level you'd expect. Understandably it was quiet as it was a Monday morning in November and so the hot counter was not filled and you ordered directly. I was thrilled with that actually as you are guaranteed fresh food. But unfortunately again the order came back incorrectly. Just a small thing but again leaves an impression. We were met by a pretty unfriendly individual for breakfast overall (looked like a manager) although the waiter was extremely pleasant and helpful. So we bypassed the manager where possible when ordering.

Very helpful staff on reception when checking out, although nobody could be found to bring our car around at the time (it was raining heavily). Again.. the small things.

I would like to stay here again to gain another experience to see if we were unlucky on a quiet sunday night/monday morning... but then again, should that matter to the customer?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoisinOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Nothing is five star but the price €€€€€. Best avoided. Smell from the Thai restaurant fills the entire hotel (and lingers until mid-morning), €30 pp to use the spa every visit (unless you're having a treatment), breakfast is a greasy bun fight. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dublin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Property: Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing