We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel.....”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding recently and its a really nice hotel very clean and the rooms are gorgeous,only complaint would be 8.50 for a glass of wine in the current climate is a bit expensive considering the bank owns the hotel...But its still a great hotel..

Room Tip: Choose rm 42 or 43 the old house
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarecrowjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,460
    526
    294
    113
    46
See reviews for
594
1,084
19
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have just attended our daughters wedding at the Lyrath Estate Hotel, Kilkenny. I would highly recommend this Hotel, it's quite amazing. The Hotel is luxurious and the staff were brilliant and most accomodating. Nothing was too much for anyone. The food was lovely and everything went off without a hitch. If you are thinking about booking this Hotel for a function then don't hesitate, you won't be disappointed. I can honestly say it's the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Enjoyed stay here during mid term - nice room on 4th floor - breakfast good. Hotel was busy and parking scare. Felt pool area was more like a three star hotel - did not try spa because it was booked out before arrival. Dinner was very good - only other comment was that hotel generally could have warmer temperature. Tom (doorman) gave us a very warm welcome and introduction - a great staff member.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

... and still just as good. Excellent hotel if a bit pricey. We stayed as a family for a short break as we had done previously. They had a good mix of entertainment for kids while lots to do as a family between the pool and excellent grounds to go exploring in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellor101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Absolutely great place if you want to relax or looking for romantic weekend.
Food in restaurant was just incredible, I never had so delicious dinner! Lovely spa with very profesional staff. Room was spotless and with nice view. Very stylish place.
Highly recomended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danuta k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Went to celebrate 30th wedding anniversary.
Hotel was great. Sat outside in the gardens, strolled around the grounds....perfect romantic get away.
Hotel was busy with a wedding and lots of family groups but was well able to cater for us too.
Both dinner and breakfast excellent.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I am just back from a one night break at Lyrath with my husband. We had a number of issues while we were there, which we reported to staff, but I think they weren't really bothered.
My husband booked us in to the thermal spa for 2 hours, and we hadn't been told that the saunas, steam room and relaxation rooms were SEGRATED!! When we enquired about this, we were told that as the spa wasn't busy, we could use the facilities, but I would have been very disappointed to have been there on a busy afternoon and not allowed to chill out together. It also cost 30 euro each for this experience. This was very expensive for what we got, and, in addition, there were several newspapers for us to read, and they were all FOUR DAYS OLD. After the spa, I has a shower in the spa changing area, and there was nice face gel, toner, shower gel, conditioner and shampoo. However, in the male changing room, there was no shampoo or other products, apart from body wash. The men are charged the same price to use the facilities, so they should get the same value- even if men are not into facial cleansers and toners, I am sure that most of them do wash their hair and would like shampoo in the shower.
That evening, when we went to turn on the TV, we had no signal for the majority of channels. We rang down and were told there is a problem with Saorview - but this isn't a problem that has arisen overnight- everyone knows that the analogue reception was going to be turned off, so Lyrath should have dealt with this - and when we stayed, it was a few weeks after the digital switch over, and still no TV!!
Food in the bar was nice, but cheapest glass of wine is 8-9 euro.
We were also told that the bar stopped serving food at 7pm, which is very early for bar food- but when we asked again, we were told they would keep serving until 8.30.
We were on a break away without our kids, but I would imagine kids are not very welcome there, as all around me I saw signs that children had to be kept under control.
Our total stay for one night bed and breakfast with 2 hours in the thermal suite and a steak, 2 drinks and a shared cheese board came to 280 euro, which is not a real bargain, and for this money, Lyrath need to up their game a little.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dublin_IrelandNiamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,915 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,756 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,024 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Property: Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing