We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visit...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Return visit...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

... and still just as good. Excellent hotel if a bit pricey. We stayed as a family for a short break as we had done previously. They had a good mix of entertainment for kids while lots to do as a family between the pool and excellent grounds to go exploring in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellor101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,353
    497
    282
    110
    42
See reviews for
557
1,008
18
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Absolutely great place if you want to relax or looking for romantic weekend.
Food in restaurant was just incredible, I never had so delicious dinner! Lovely spa with very profesional staff. Room was spotless and with nice view. Very stylish place.
Highly recomended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danuta k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Went to celebrate 30th wedding anniversary.
Hotel was great. Sat outside in the gardens, strolled around the grounds....perfect romantic get away.
Hotel was busy with a wedding and lots of family groups but was well able to cater for us too.
Both dinner and breakfast excellent.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I am just back from a one night break at Lyrath with my husband. We had a number of issues while we were there, which we reported to staff, but I think they weren't really bothered.
My husband booked us in to the thermal spa for 2 hours, and we hadn't been told that the saunas, steam room and relaxation rooms were SEGRATED!! When we enquired about this, we were told that as the spa wasn't busy, we could use the facilities, but I would have been very disappointed to have been there on a busy afternoon and not allowed to chill out together. It also cost 30 euro each for this experience. This was very expensive for what we got, and, in addition, there were several newspapers for us to read, and they were all FOUR DAYS OLD. After the spa, I has a shower in the spa changing area, and there was nice face gel, toner, shower gel, conditioner and shampoo. However, in the male changing room, there was no shampoo or other products, apart from body wash. The men are charged the same price to use the facilities, so they should get the same value- even if men are not into facial cleansers and toners, I am sure that most of them do wash their hair and would like shampoo in the shower.
That evening, when we went to turn on the TV, we had no signal for the majority of channels. We rang down and were told there is a problem with Saorview - but this isn't a problem that has arisen overnight- everyone knows that the analogue reception was going to be turned off, so Lyrath should have dealt with this - and when we stayed, it was a few weeks after the digital switch over, and still no TV!!
Food in the bar was nice, but cheapest glass of wine is 8-9 euro.
We were also told that the bar stopped serving food at 7pm, which is very early for bar food- but when we asked again, we were told they would keep serving until 8.30.
We were on a break away without our kids, but I would imagine kids are not very welcome there, as all around me I saw signs that children had to be kept under control.
Our total stay for one night bed and breakfast with 2 hours in the thermal suite and a steak, 2 drinks and a shared cheese board came to 280 euro, which is not a real bargain, and for this money, Lyrath need to up their game a little.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dublin_IrelandNiamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here for mid term. Good service and facilities and all the hallmarks of a bank run hotel trying hard to recoup the millions this re furb must have cost.
Left a pair of earrings in the bedroom but 'they weren't found' when I tried to retrieve them the day after check out. I'm 100% sure where I left them and this is disappointing - GRRR
For that reason, beware of your belongings...
I doubt my earrings will compensate the banks!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moffireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

lovely hotel and great staff. stay there regularly. our only complaint is that every time we dine in yindees restaurant as the food is excellent. however, over the last 3 years both ourselves and our friends have noticed that the very same desserts have been on the menu in yindees and neither are appetising. Please change the desserts!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for two night's during the october bank holiday weekend,i loved everything about this hotel,lovely big clean room's,great size bathroom's with bath and separate shower,toiletrie's ,bathrobe's and slipper's,no noise from other room's which is always a plus in hotel's.The food was lovely,breakfast menu had everything porridge,cornflakes etc, fruit and your big irish fry. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the ground's of the estate are beautiful,all in all i would highly recommend the Lyrath hotel for a lovely weekend break....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Property: Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing