We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lawlors Guesthouse
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Kilkenny
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Zuni Hotel(Kilkenny)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pembroke Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Troysgate House(Kilkenny)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveler rating
13
6
1
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
6
1
3
6
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 29 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed here last weekend, just a one night break in Kilkenny. We had never stayed in Lawlor's Guesthouse before, usually we try and get a room in The Hibernian Hotel so we were a bit unsure what we'd find but I have to say it really is great value for money. The location is perfect if you want to be in short walking distance of all the great pubs, restaurants and shops. The owners were very helpful, once we had paid for the night the next morning all we had to do was leave the key in an agreed place, no waiting about to check out etc and the late check out time (12.30pm!) was most welcome.. Although breakfast is not available, there was juice, yougurt, crackers and cheese and tea and coffee making facitiies in the room which was a nice touch. The only thing I would say is that the room we had was a little bit tired and dated looking. Just small stuff but a few cracks in the walls and the curtain hanging down could be sorted very easily and would make a difference. Also I would say if you want a quiet night this would not be guaranteed as we were in the front of the guesthouse and it was noisy all night with traffic and revellers. The last little critisism I have is that there wasn't any shampoo or shower lotion in the bathroom, just liquid hand soap for the wash basin and shower. If these few small things could be improved on it would be a really very good guesthouse but all in all I couldn't fault it for the price you pay, really good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shalaylay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

whatever type of holiday you are seeking from killkenny, lawlors guesthouse can provide for you. On arrival me and my partner were worried we'd chosen the wrong place but we called the hotel and the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and patient. there is a car park down the road a bit and it 2 euro for 24hours. then the rooms were flawless, spotless and really comfortable. for the 35 a nite its an absolute steal. best place ive ever stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xXxfoxycoxyxXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

I have stayed at Lawlors at least one night a week for the past 18 months and have never been disappointed with the quality of any of the rooms and I've stayed in them all!
The rooms are spacious, comfortable, spotlessly clean and the welcome from Miriam and John is second to none. I Feel I have to respond to the very negative and damaging review dated 7/10/08 which in my experience is extremely unfair.
Lawlors Guesthouse is an excellent B & B in a top location, representing great value for money, not a 5 star hotel and should be reviewed as such. I travel and work around the country staying in many B & B's and hotels and would not put Lawlors second to any of them.
Keep up the good work Miriam & John!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MayoBluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

I must say that i most definately DISAGREE with the review "do not stay here". I have had the opportunity of staying in Lawlors Guesthouse on many occassions and each stay has been as perfect as the last. Lawlors is situated on John Street which is in the hub of the city centre with lots of bars and good places to eat and also across from a new shopping centre. A seedy neighbourhood I think not. Kilkenny is a most beautiful city and Lawlors Guesthouse is the perfect stay. The rooms are kept immaculate and each bed is dressed with crisp white sheets and white duvet covers. I aso must add that over the past three years of staying in Lawlors I have got to Know the owners and their daughter and I always receive a warm welcome. I am just sorry I have not posted a review before now!!!! Lawlors has three stars and the guesthouse definatly lives up to this classification.I am not surprised that the majority of reviewers agree with me.
I say well done to John, Miriam and Emma Keep it up and I look forward to my next stay..

Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
Thank misty145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

I cannot believe this was the same place that I had read fairly good reviews in Trip Advisor. With so many other choices in Kilkenny do not stay here. Go stay in another town if you can't find reasonable accommodations.
After reading the reviews of Lawlors in Kilkenny I thought that it would be a good place to stay. the location is fairly close to Kilkenny Castle but not in the best of neighborhoods. Somewhat seedy. It was by far the worst experience we had during our 2 wk stay in Ireland.
I booked directly via phone and paid 100 euros for a very small dirty gloomy room. The entire place smelled bad. My husband is a pilot and has been staying in hotels all over the world for the past 35 yrs and in his opinion this was the worst place he has ever stayed. The type of place where you sleep on top of the covers.
We arrived around 5:30pm to find that the pub had gone out of business. No one meet us at the door and we had to bang on the door for about 5 minutes before anyone came. They showed us to our room and we never saw them again until breakfast which was good.
There is no parking so you must park in a public lot across a very busy street. The location is right on a busy street but not near the main pub section. Absolutley nothing good to say about this
place. and feel that tourist should beware.
bbeerbower

2  Thank bbeerbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews