We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skeezy but So much fun”
Review of Kilford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kilford Arms Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
“Skeezy but So much fun”
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I spent one night at the kilford arms. The hotel is centrally located in the small town if Kilkenny. The Cit itself is Beautiful! With it's coblestone streets (not uncommon in Ireland) and small pubs and local entertainment. The Hotel was a bit ratty and much of a maze. all the rooms are essentially situated on one floor but the hallway vear left and right and up and down it was a treat trying to find my room after a typical Irish night in the Hotel Pub. OH the PUB! a one man band played all the music we asked and after his set the Bar Staff welcomed us behind the bar to control the music over the speakers. The pub closed at midnight however, once you're in the Bar you don't have to leave and they serve until you are ready to be done...5am seemed like a good time to maneuver our way to our rooms. Breakfast was your typical European Continental breakfast. a little on the cold side so I stuck to toast with Nutella! Yes NUTELLA!!! my fave! and a tiny bit of scrambled egg. the Rooms were awefull they smelled of Stale cigarette smoke and moth balls. The bed coverings looked about 100 years old and because of the colour scheme (antique...but not classy) they looked as though they would never come clean. However I only spent a total of not even 2 hours in the room so it was no bother to me. I did enjoy the fact that, being a smoker, I could have smoked in the room if i so chose. Would i go back? Not for more than a night. but yes with a group i would go back for 1 night i would definately go back.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank contiki2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    210
    127
    44
    61
See reviews for
81
310
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ennistymon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Stayed here for a few nights mid week and agree the hotel is in a good location for walking into the centre of Kilkenny which is a great city to visit. Large car park behind the hotel, and good sized room. However the cleanliness of the hotel in general was only average, the food in the restaurant was less than average and thought the whole place had a tired feel to it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPEnnistymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Actually heard about this hotel by word of mouth, and it lived up to its recommendations.
We had everything under one roof even the bank machine, its ideal and so central to the town to tour about. The rooms are a fine size and very clean, staff are very helpful and friendly, its like one massive family where we were made feel part of it too. Beautiful restaurant with yummy hearthy food. As for O' Faolains Bar that is a must see on any visit to Kilkenny. Saturday night was wild crack with everyone in great form with hen nights and when we had enough of that we just moved to a quieter section for a chat, oh such fun. Well done to the Kilford Arms for managing to keep all happy, we hope to see ye again soon

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sligo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilkenny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Stayed here with 2 young kids midweek. Ver easy to get to big car park at back. there is a train station near by tooGreat location near city centre and there is a new shopping centre open up the road very handy for the kids nice play area there coffee shops etc. Good size rooms. Staff very helpfull esp with 2 kids nothing was trouble. Food good in restaurant and at bar. They have entertainment at weekends gets very busy there is a amazing bar its all stone it was orginaly a church that thay rebuilt in the hotel.would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yngmarriedcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Stayed for a weekend in the marble city with my fiance. We really made the right decision choosing the Kilford. There was karoke on the friday night which i'd highly recommend to anyone wanting "a bit of craic" , we tried out the night club Pegasas on the saturday. very interesting let me tell you. Breakfast/Dinner was lovely. staff very friendly, big thanks to Gerry, and all the staff.. I'll be back!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olliethetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

My husband and I had a terrible time in the Kilford arms. Had to pay for the room on arrival in full. When we got to our room it was awful. It smelled of cigarette smoke, the lino was sticking up off the floor of the bathroom. the window was filthy. We rang reception at least 5 times from that room and there was no answer. Eventually we went to receptions and we asked to change rooms and we were told that we were late arriving so almost all the rooms were gone, we arrived at 6.00pm but the room had been booked for a week. Eventually we got another room that was much smaller. This room did not smell but the bathroom was a disgrace. Fility toilet room holder and shower door.
Was kept awake for most of the night by people running up and down the corridors and banging on doors. Eventually when we did go to sleep we were woken up in the morning by a gate banging in the pub next door everything some one went in the gate.
We ordered breakfast to the room - we had to pay the person delivering the breakfast 10 euro on delivery. There was no butter on the tray for toast and no tea either. The plates were almost the size of side plates and the food was not great quality.
Couldnt wait to check out of this hotel and leave. Location is good for a night out in KK but the price is a complete rip off for what you get. Felt completely ripped off and taken advantage. 130 euro for no sleep, hassles with staff and sub standard accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C0rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

You have been warned. This place is central in kilkenny and a tourist trap. Generally, keep away from Hotels called Arms/Inns/Bell.The truth of the matter is that I have stayed in better at half the price. I paid 90 Euro to share a room with a friend. Thats 180 E. The price includes evening meal and breakfast.........But wait, We had the evening meal in their restaurant and the food was sub standard/cheap and the the steak was served like like a joke and was tiny. The breakfast is an insult to the travel industry, Cheap ingredients, No beans, hash browns, mushrooms and kiddy portions.......Oh and dont even think about the fresh fruit or cheap cereals. By the looks of the other processed food on offer, save your stomach the agony.
Worst still is the restaurant decor and seating. Its disgusting and filthy. What were they thinking.
I have warned you all and I hate being ripped off, only I hadnt booked this place as a friend did. This place is designed to make as make as much money as possible using the cheapest foods and service. The rooms are basic and bland with noise from outside.
The bathroom is rubbish using the cheapest loo roll, disgusting bath/shower with curtain. Car parking also a joke as its to small. You have been warned.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FawltyTowers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilford Arms Hotel

Property: Kilford Arms Hotel
Address: John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilford Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This City Centre hotel is just a few minutes walk from the rail and bus station and within walking distance to all the major sights and attractions Kilkenny has to offer. With 60 bedrooms it is small enough to offer a truly personal service, while offering an excellent range of facilities for our guests. Whether dining in the White Oak restaurant or enjoying a drink in one of the 2 bars, make the Kilford Arms your home away from home.EntertainmentThe Kilford Arms is a great entertainment complex, with something for everybody! O’Faolain’s fabulous "super-pub" is built over 3 levels, with stunning architecture incorporating the ruins of a 16th century church! This new pub is a "must-see" on your trip to Kilkenny, and it features late bar and DJs nightly and a New Heated Smoking Area to Rear. PVS Bar hosts live bands regularly, and is home to the famous Kilford Karaoke on Saturday nights! During the day this is a great place for a quiet drink or to enjoy freshly prepared bar food. Dining The traditional White Oak Restaurant offers the best of local produce served in relaxed in formal surroundings. Open from 7am – 9pm Daily.PV’s Bar provides lunch and bar snacks menu daily, for lighter meals or a quick bite to accompany a relaxing drink! O'Faolains Bar serves food from 12:00 up to 21:00 daily, offering a great range, from light snacks to more substantial fare! Parking: Ample Coach Parking and Free Complimentary Parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kilford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilford Arms Kilkenny
Hotel Kilford Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing