We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel. Had everything to make our trip enjoyable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilford Arms Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Clare
1 review
“Great Hotel. Had everything to make our trip enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2009

My wife and I and our teenage and young adult children had a weekend away to celebrate an anniversary. The hotel and Kilkenny gave us a weekend to remember. This hotel was central, great food, great service, and very clean. The kilford bar with its Karoke gave us some great fun, while the super bar, O'Faolains gave us a great atmosphere for all ages to enjoy. Then straight to an amazing niteclub to dance and boogie to the late hours. The Kilford Hotel had something to suit all ages and tastes. Everyone enjoyed it. We will definately book another stay in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BannerFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    196
    123
    41
    58
See reviews for
73
292
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

This is my first review but hopefully not my last. We stayed in this hotel on a recent trip to Ireland to visit family. Its quite decieving from the front as it opens up in to quite a large hotel. The staff are very helpful and the location is ideal for exploring Kilkenny. We had a family room which was quite a nice size. The restaurant food was outstanding and the restaurant manager was very friendly. All in all a great stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank usa1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2009

For a celebratory weekend event I booked 6 of my family members to stay in this hotel, primarily because they wanted to avoid low standards previously encountered in B&Bs. Unfortunately, the Kilford Arms was a big mistake - shoddy decor, mouldy dirt around the shower doors, multiple flies left visible in the bathroom light-shades, peeling wallpaper, not to mention the glassy eyed, scantily clad young-ones staggering through the lobby at all hours of the early morning. If you don't mind being surrounded by, and sharing accomodations with, party-bopping drunkenness in a shoddy hovel, then this is definitely the place for you. Otherwise, avoid avoid avoid...!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wtffogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killarney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

I stayed here at the weekend with my husband and I am so dissapointed. Our room was old with a stale smell, overlooking the car park. The mattress was in the most awful state leaving us crippled in the morning. There were two women smoking in the corridor, not surprised as there was a big dirty ashtray next to the lift upstairs. We should have known when we were asked to pay in full on arrival.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minniemouse76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

We were given a family room despite only booking a double. The room was in the new wing and it was large, clean with good decor. We cannot fault the room.
There are two large bars and a restaurant within the complex. We spent time in both bars and the staff were excellent, the new super-bar has the best outside smoking area that I have ever seen.
We ate in the restaurant (interesting decor) for both breakfast & dinner. The food and staff were faultless.
We stayed mid-week and had no issue with noise, but I can imagine things being very lively at the weekends.
Carparking is free, but it can be hard to find a space, despite its large size.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerryChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

I love staying in the Kilford. I have stayed there several times through the years and it is always a wonderful experience. The location is brilliant - so close to everything. The restaurant has the most amazing decor with a great atmosphere and really great food. The staff are always friendly, sweet and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOBGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plo123
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

I've stayed in the Kilford Arms twice and both times I have been very impressed. The staff were very nice and friendly. The rooms were lovely. The hotel restaurant is worth eating in. The bars are great and the decor is amazing! The atmosphere was really good and we all had really good nights there. I really like that there is a choice of bars. The hotel is right in the centre of the city and there is a new shopping mall across the road. Everything I wanted was close at hand. I will definately be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilford Arms Hotel

Property: Kilford Arms Hotel
Address: John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilford Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This City Centre hotel is just a few minutes walk from the rail and bus station and within walking distance to all the major sights and attractions Kilkenny has to offer. With 60 bedrooms it is small enough to offer a truly personal service, while offering an excellent range of facilities for our guests. Whether dining in the White Oak restaurant or enjoying a drink in one of the 2 bars, make the Kilford Arms your home away from home.EntertainmentThe Kilford Arms is a great entertainment complex, with something for everybody! O’Faolain’s fabulous "super-pub" is built over 3 levels, with stunning architecture incorporating the ruins of a 16th century church! This new pub is a "must-see" on your trip to Kilkenny, and it features late bar and DJs nightly and a New Heated Smoking Area to Rear. PVS Bar hosts live bands regularly, and is home to the famous Kilford Karaoke on Saturday nights! During the day this is a great place for a quiet drink or to enjoy freshly prepared bar food. Dining The traditional White Oak Restaurant offers the best of local produce served in relaxed in formal surroundings. Open from 7am – 9pm Daily.PV’s Bar provides lunch and bar snacks menu daily, for lighter meals or a quick bite to accompany a relaxing drink! O'Faolains Bar serves food from 12:00 up to 21:00 daily, offering a great range, from light snacks to more substantial fare! Parking: Ample Coach Parking and Free Complimentary Parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Kilford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilford Arms Kilkenny
Hotel Kilford Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing