We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel , much better than expected”
Review of Kilford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kilford Arms Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed February 23, 2009

hi everyone this is my first review i hope to have many more ..............
we stayed in kilford arms hotel at the weekend when we arrived the staff we're very nice even got a mini tour of the place.went to the rooms we were staying in the family room which was huge , very spacious and very clean and comfortable. we had lunch in the bar which was also nice. they are recently after adding a huge smoking area i personally don't smoke but i didn't mind going out there with friends as it was a lovely area with lots of seats and heaters . the late bar was beautiful the three different levels were cool good music great atmosphere the only complaint that i have was the toilet down near reception was dirty could have been cleaned alot better .... the breakfast in the main restraunt in the mornings was buffet style was ok could have been nicer... over all i think the hotel is a great place to go with friends or young couples as a base for a great weekend and it's cheap the place is really nice so much better than i would have expected and would recomend it .

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 816 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2008

Stayed in the Kilford Arms while on business in Kilkenny. It was the only place i could find a room as all the rest of the hotels i contacted were booked out so i didn't expect much. But it was actually fine and the rate was pretty good too. I would consider it a pretty good 3 star hotel.

Room was clean, check in was quick, free parking, breakfast was fine, staff at breakfast were friendly especially an older lady whose name i didn't catch. They have a lovely bar called O'Faolains. It's huge. Loads of different split levels and constructed using pieces of an old church.

Location is perfect just off one of the main roads. Nice bar and restaurant across the road also called Langton's.

If i had to pick out any bad points it would be the hairsdryers and also on my last night there was quite a bit of noise coming from the smoking area below but it was fine the night before so it was probably just a noisey crowd that were there.
But it wouldn't stop me from staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IrishEyes85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

this is my first review since joining tripadvisor but I will be filling you all in on any hotel or good spots I come across on my travels in the future.. my partner and I travelled to Kilkenny for weekend break , had nothing previiously booked but had been recommended the Kilford Hotel from friends. On arriving at Hotel it looked so small from outside we were having doubts but parked car and went to reception, we were told of rates and activities in hotel for weekend by a very pleasant receptionist and we decided to take chance and stay. Room very clean and comfortable , lovely bar called O.Faolains open late , good laugh sat night with karaoke in other bar~ All in all very happy with hotel and staff breakfast adequate good find for enjoyable weekend break, in city centre. Will return

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IrelandAnnal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Stayed here for one night with girlfriend. Check in was OK. The room was very small and there was a terrible smell of stale smoke. Not much use in opening window as the room was tucked away in a corner.

Went down for dinner and there were only 2 other tables of 2 in the restaurant. Service was poor. Only one person on duty but this should be ok with 3 tables?????

The worst part of the say was the breakfast. This was totally chaotic. Tables were not cleared and staff did not understand English so no point in complaining to them. We eventually took a seat but as nothing was cleared around us, another couple had to sit at the same table. Thankfully we were only staying for one night.

If looking for somewhere in Kilkenny pay a little extra if it means avoiding this place. Shame, as it is in a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
4  Thank marky75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We stayed in Kilford arms for a hen party and found the staff extremely rude and very abusive.

They staff behind the bar became very abusive as we blew whistles in the bar having a laugh (as you would on a hen party) and we were then told to "get the [--] from the bar" ..the abuse from the staff continued that nite as one of our group tried to go to bed at 1am and could not sleep as the night club music could be heard in her room..when she advised the manager in the bar he said the hotel was known for music til 2am and there was nothing he could do..so in other words dont expect to get to sleep till after 2am in this hotel!! He then asked us all what were drinking to sit down and he would get us all a drink (after all the hassle we had had so far we were naieve in thinking he was giving us a free drink for our troubles when in fact we were asked to settled up the bill the next morning!!)

It then continued when one of bathrooms in the rooms flooded, The porter mopped up the mess and advised that one of the parties in the room had left the tap on!! then next time the shower was switched on it flooded the room again. The 2 people in the room were told the room was habitable and no refund would be given, the were offered a room in the basement which they refused so they had to move one of of other rooms and share a bed with another guest!

The bar staff refused to serve one of the girls on the group and said she was talking a load of "bollox". When we reported this to another manager at receiption she told us there was nothing she could do as the hotel owner was not in until Sunday (when we were leaving). The abuse from the bar man continued and were told to avoid the bar he was serving in!!!!!! Where else would you be told to avoid a bar man..i mean a group of 18 people giving the hotel 200+ per head for the staying in the hotel and another couple of hundred on food and drink and we were told to avoid the bar man.

As a group we found the whole experience a NIGHTMARE and would NEVER EVER return to this hotel.

The hotel owner never turned up on the sunday as we waited until 2.30 to speak to him and were tolded to leave mobile number and he would call. No phone call as of yet.

I would not recommend this hotel to ANYONE. You pay good money to stay in a hotel for the weekend and you would expect good service but this hotel is completley lacking service and manners!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank wicklow07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

Me and my boyfriend stayed in the Kilford Arms on Valentines weekend. We were staying in a room at the very back of the hotel
that was joined on to a Disco Bar. I wasn't looking for complete silence it was like the speakers from the bar were in our room.
We booked a table in the restaurant for 8.30pm, when we arrived we were told we had to wait an hour. We waited and I wished we hadnt because the dinner was terrible. The food was terrible, there wasnt enough staff on, we waited ages for a drink.
And here comes the best of all, me and my boyfriend were making the bed on the Sunday morning just before check out time when we came across a DIRTY WHITE SOCK in the end of the bed, that didnt belong to either of us. I looked again and found another sock, black one this time, that didnt belong to us either. I actually felt sick, we had slept in that bed for two nights with them dirty socks at the end of our bed. Obviously the sheets hadnt been changed before we arrived. When I reported this to the receptionist all I got was 'im sorry'. Their house keeping is a disgrace. I wont be back.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SineadAK2008Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2008

This hotel is on a main street in Kilkenny so the location is perfect for all restaurants and bars. The main problem we had was the overcharging for a room for the Bank Holiday Cat Laughs weekend. The room was small with 1 double (extremely flat) double bed with old fashioned decor. For €140 for the night, I was expecting something a little nicer.. The night club below can be a bit noisy so you may need to enquire as to where your room is located. Ours was fine but we had been warned of the issue. The night club also has a bad name around Kilkenny so we steered clear of that. On the plus side, the room was roasting as it was a warm night, and after enquiring with reception, a fan was put in our room while we were out for dinner. The food in the bar is average. Car parking is free.

There is probably more modern hotels in Kilkenny for the same price.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vixenbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.3 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,032 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,042 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilford Arms Hotel

Address: John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: $77 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilford Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This City Centre hotel is just a few minutes walk from the rail and bus station and within walking distance to all the major sights and attractions Kilkenny has to offer. With 60 bedrooms it is small enough to offer a truly personal service, while offering an excellent range of facilities for our guests. Whether dining in the White Oak restaurant or enjoying a drink in one of the 2 bars, make the Kilford Arms your home away from home.EntertainmentThe Kilford Arms is a great entertainment complex, with something for everybody! O’Faolain’s fabulous "super-pub" is built over 3 levels, with stunning architecture incorporating the ruins of a 16th century church! This new pub is a "must-see" on your trip to Kilkenny, and it features late bar and DJs nightly and a New Heated Smoking Area to Rear. PVS Bar hosts live bands regularly, and is home to the famous Kilford Karaoke on Saturday nights! During the day this is a great place for a quiet drink or to enjoy freshly prepared bar food. Dining The traditional White Oak Restaurant offers the best of local produce served in relaxed in formal surroundings. Open from 7am – 9pm Daily.PV’s Bar provides lunch and bar snacks menu daily, for lighter meals or a quick bite to accompany a relaxing drink! O'Faolains Bar serves food from 12:00 up to 21:00 daily, offering a great range, from light snacks to more substantial fare! Parking: Ample Coach Parking and Free Complimentary Parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Kilford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilford Arms Kilkenny
Hotel Kilford Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing