We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review..”
Review of Kilford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilford Arms Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mixed review..”
Reviewed June 10, 2008

This hotel is on a main street in Kilkenny so the location is perfect for all restaurants and bars. The main problem we had was the overcharging for a room for the Bank Holiday Cat Laughs weekend. The room was small with 1 double (extremely flat) double bed with old fashioned decor. For €140 for the night, I was expecting something a little nicer.. The night club below can be a bit noisy so you may need to enquire as to where your room is located. Ours was fine but we had been warned of the issue. The night club also has a bad name around Kilkenny so we steered clear of that. On the plus side, the room was roasting as it was a warm night, and after enquiring with reception, a fan was put in our room while we were out for dinner. The food in the bar is average. Car parking is free.

There is probably more modern hotels in Kilkenny for the same price.

  • Liked — Good service
  • Disliked — Old fashioned, small stuffy room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vixenbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    221
    136
    55
    65
See reviews for
92
335
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

Just back from a weekend in this "hotel" and can safely say I will never go back. The staff were downright rude and had no regard for the customers of the hotel...the owner been the worst culprit.

One of our group was assaulted by a member of staff...when reported to the manager he checked the CCTV and when he saw what happened he immediately agreed to a complimentry stay (you are ok thanks!!!) and to pay for glasses repair! The owner then arrived refused to give his name....refused to listen to what happened.....and refused to pay for damaged glasses. Walked off while situation was been explained to him....so rude it was unbelievable.

Left our room on Saturday and it was cleaned while we were away despite having the do not disturb sign on the door! When we got back the master key for all the rooms had been left in our room....lucky I was honest wasn't it!!!! Handed it back to reception straight away and got a tut for my trouble!

In the residents bar after closing time and decided to go outside for a cigarette. Was told I wasn't allowed exit the hotel for a cigarette and if I did they couldn't guarantedd I would be let back in!! Asked were I can go for a cigarette then and was sent to a corridor on the premises were everyone was smoking. It was disgusting so I opened a side door to let in some air to be told by the barstaff (who were there smoking as well) that the door has to remain closed....so much for the smoking ban!

Free passes to the nightclub are included in your stay....great if you are 16....drunk....vomitting.....and looking for a fight...if not stay well away!

All in all this hotel (and I use that term very loosely) is a disgrace and if you value your safety then I would stay well away!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ireland07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2008

Have just arrived back after a weekend in this Hotel - Having stayed here previously and had no probelms we decided to re book - 16 of us! They have the rudest staff i have ever come accross - the rudest been the owner himself. There was an incident on the 1st night were 2 off duty members of staff attacked my friend and broke her glasses off her face as we tried to get into the lift to go to bed - this was an unprovoked attack - the owner has refused to pay for a new pair - SHOCKING.

A master key of all the bedrooms was also left in one of our rooms which would have gave us access to all rooms in the hotel....

Most defo one of the worst places we have ever stayed - go here if you want to be attacked and treated like dirt by the staff!!! Its defo losing its business as bar and nightclub were full of underage drinkers - do yourself a favour and pay the extra and stay in Langtons down the road!!!

  • Liked — Toasted Sambo's!
  • Disliked — Rude & Violent staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank wigwam16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2007

Stayed for our 9th year again. Why we go back every year is the location and you don't have to leave the hotel, as you have the bar downstairs and the disco bar upstairs. The bar staff are the rudest staff I have ever come across and the receptionists not much better. The nicest bar man there was foreign. The staff in the dining room are lovely and could teach the other staff how to smile and be polite. We arrived in the bar at 5 on the Friday and it was quite. When my friend asked for a menu she was told to go into the restaurant and get one by Mr Personality the bar man. She done this and yet the same barman came to our table to take our order. We spoke to lots of people that were staying there and they said the same thing about the staff and when we asked one of the bouncers why the staff were so miserable he said have you met the owner? We did see him walking around a few times and you would think it was a funeral home he was running not a hotel. He must send the staff to the same charm school he went to. Each time we went to the bar to get a drink there was a price difference. It started off at ten euro for two bottle of bud and went down to 9.40e and then back up and then down again. I would not call this place a hotel, it is a pub with nice rooms over it and it is expensive too. What is the point in complaining as this place is booked out all year round. Next year we will be looking around for smewhere nicer. Also one of the girls we met came back early in the morning and was banging down the door for nearly an hour trying to get back in. You don't get a key which is understandable but they should have a night porter to let people back in.

  • Liked — Rooms are lovely and central location
  • Disliked — staff rudest in the world
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marley98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2007

the staff at the kilford arms were extremely uncouth, rude, without manners and without doubt the most unpleasant i have ever encountered in an irish hotel incidently they were made up entirely of irish staff.
the rooms were untidy dusty and seemed to have stale odours eminating from them which can only be attributed to poor standards of hygiene-all in all trip ruined by this experience an abhorrent place to stay-avoid at all costs

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank doyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2007

We have just come back from a weekend stay in Kilkenny and while there we stayed in the Kilford Arms. I can´t recommend this hotel enough from the staff to the food to the cleanliness of the rooms. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by 2 friendly receptionists who checked us in and fully explained the facilities available at the hotel, which included 3 bars, Lounge bar (PV,s) which had live bands and Karaoke (great craic), a 3 Level bar O´Faolains which really has to be seen in person to be truly appreciated, this bar is built around an old church and has a remarkable beer garden at the rear which would be hard to beat.
We were then shown to our rooms which were spacious with all the facilites you would expect to see in a quality hotel.
When booking our accomodation we included one evening meal in our package, the restaurant has a theme as well with trees coming from the side of ceilings and unusual tall backed white oak chairs. My wife is a fussy eater but there was no problem with the vast menu in the restaurant with all tastes being catered for.
I have read some of the reviews from other occupants at this hotel and all I can say is that they are either away to complain for he weekend or are unaware of quality service when they are recieving it. I can not recommend this hotel enough and will certainly be returning for a 2nd visit.

  • Liked — Location and Value
  • Disliked — Having to return home
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2007

Completely rowdy, at the weekends there's noise till dawn. But don't try to come in late yourself at weeknights - you don't get a key, and there's no night porter bell. Took me 20 minutes of hammering away at several possible entrances to get back in. Expensive for what it is, too.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chucklebr0ther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,951 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,756 reviews
0.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilford Arms Hotel

Property: Kilford Arms Hotel
Address: John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilford Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This City Centre hotel is just a few minutes walk from the rail and bus station and within walking distance to all the major sights and attractions Kilkenny has to offer. With 60 bedrooms it is small enough to offer a truly personal service, while offering an excellent range of facilities for our guests. Whether dining in the White Oak restaurant or enjoying a drink in one of the 2 bars, make the Kilford Arms your home away from home.EntertainmentThe Kilford Arms is a great entertainment complex, with something for everybody! O’Faolain’s fabulous "super-pub" is built over 3 levels, with stunning architecture incorporating the ruins of a 16th century church! This new pub is a "must-see" on your trip to Kilkenny, and it features late bar and DJs nightly and a New Heated Smoking Area to Rear. PVS Bar hosts live bands regularly, and is home to the famous Kilford Karaoke on Saturday nights! During the day this is a great place for a quiet drink or to enjoy freshly prepared bar food. Dining The traditional White Oak Restaurant offers the best of local produce served in relaxed in formal surroundings. Open from 7am – 9pm Daily.PV’s Bar provides lunch and bar snacks menu daily, for lighter meals or a quick bite to accompany a relaxing drink! O'Faolains Bar serves food from 12:00 up to 21:00 daily, offering a great range, from light snacks to more substantial fare! Parking: Ample Coach Parking and Free Complimentary Parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilford Arms Kilkenny
Hotel Kilford Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing