We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in centre of city” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kilford Arms Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value in centre of city”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Got an online deal for 1 night, dinner and breakfast so was good value for what I paid. Room was average but would have preferred a duvet instead of the old style blankets. Bathroom ok and tea and coffee making facilities were handy. We stayed on a Friday night and although we could hear the hum of the music from the bar/nightclub, it didn't go on too late. Dinner was average as was the breakfast buffet. Good location for Kilkenny as you can walk to the castle and surrounding streets/shops/bars etc from it. Car parking facilities were good also.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lill-miss-sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    195
    123
    41
    58
See reviews for
73
292
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Good location and nice staff but lets itself down on all other counts. My wife and I got a Groupon deal for two nights and on arrival were offered as a room what appeared to be a dorm that slept 8 at the extreme end of the hotel, sat nav required to find room. Room had a miniscule window overlooking main street. Bed:- thin and worn quilt with sheets, covers complete with holes, over blankets of dubious freshness. Asked for another room and were given a room with a double and a single bed. Bed same as previous room and on retrieving a dropped tablet from under the bed discovered the Irish equivalent of the Dead Sea scrolls among lots of dust and debris. Pillows approx 2" thick (still got a crick in the neck) and as there were only three we shared the extra one between us. Radiator in room was on when we arrived so room was extremely hot. I turned off at thermo valve and opened window. On returning to room 5 hours later rad still on, room steaming, just needed a couple of Turkish guys and a bowl of soap. Tried phoning Reception but constantly engaged so went down to explain situation with rad only to be informed that maintenance guy was away home. I asked for a pair of pliers or similar as I said I could possibly fix by turning off other valve, request granted, back to the sauna, sorry room and duly got on hands and knees and did the business though it still took all night for room to nearly cool down.
Walls to the room are very thin and from 6am on our last day we were regaled by a group of Americans, sounded like New Yorkers and we know how loud they can be sometimes bless their souls, in an adjoining room “twalking and laughing” loud enough to waken the dead. Had to resort to ringing the room and speaking like Father Dougal pretending to be the night porter and asking them to be quiet.
Shower room, no bath, toilet bowl 3mm from wall so had to do the business at an angle so as not to roast and sensitive bits on the rad 2" from front of bowl. On flushing loo the sound of an express train in a tunnel emanated from cistern. Shower:- cracked tiles with accompanying mould in corners and water squirting out of a few places when shower in use. Shower door leaked with resultant flooded floor. Had to shoulder the door to the shower room to get it closed, no lock.
Now for the bad bits.
Breakfast. Never in all my years of staying in hotels have I seen a notice beside the hot food buffet advising that if the food is not warm enough we can put it in a microwave oven located on a shelf above buffet bar. Guess what, the fried eggs were cold, both mornings. How this was achieved is a mystery as all the other food in the hot food bar was reasonably warm. Dining room looked like a movie set for a B horror film, you got to see it to believe it, rough plaster with tree branches stuck to the walls and ceiling. What was the designer smoking? Whole place need freshened up and dare I say it given a good clean. Actually it needs a lot more than that.
Oh and by the way they have a real stuffed tiger, with a surprised look on its face, in a glass case beside the reception counter. Maybe they found it under one of the beds and thought “I know the perfect place for that”.
Not a good experience for a couple of advanced years.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardtoplease49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Was there on Good Friday, room was so cold, that it did not make difference where are you-outside or inside, bathroom was so dirty that we did not want to go in it, hair in the bath and dirty spots on the tiles, heating during the night was turned off and did not came back ever, it was the worst experience in 3 star hotel ever. But I have to mention that food in restaurant was pretty good and we really liked it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArnoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Food in the restaurant was TERRIBLE. Worst food we had in a long time, unable to eat the curry it was that bad. Breakfast was freezing cold, signs in the breakfast room 'if your food isn't hot enough, put it in the microwave' and 'please only toast bread one slice at a time'. Who wants to put a fry in a microwave, yuck! Rooms were way too hot and we couldn't sleep. Room was also very noisy. Parking was good however there are much better hotels out there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 365Traveller19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

A popular mid range Hotel in the centre of Kilkenny Town. Very busy at the time of our visit as it was the St Patricks Weekend. We're prepared to forgive late night noise for this very reason.
Rooms clean, but a little dated. Surprised to find opaque glass on the bedroom window, as to why I can't guess, as the view over the Old Chuch of Ireland is pleasant enough. Food was fine, and an evening special with a bottle of wine thrown in for E25 was good value, although I was rather surprised when our waiter insisted on us ordering our dessert with the starter and main course.
Our first breakfast was a little disorganised as the heated trays were not yet fully stocked at 9am, still it was the morning after the good Saints Day and everyone had had a late night.
I also found it a little irritating that the hot food dish proferred was the size of a side plate, which made one think that the hotel management were not keen on one having a hearty breakfast. That said I enjoyed my stay, the staff were friendly and helpful, and as we were on a deal it did not "Break the Bank"

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doaghtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

With Kilkenny being a very busy city this hotel is very geared up towards stags and hens and that type of group. I went for a midweek break with my husband and it was not the romantic break we were looking for. While the rooms were clean they could really do with being upgraded. The floors were cheap laminate floorboards which is a first for any hotel I've stayed in. There were bedspreads & blankets on the beds which for me is a big no no as goodness knows when they were washed last.

Breakfast was a strange affaire. While we got everything we needed it was very messy. Nothing like other hotels I stayed in. By this is mean, you made your own toast which is fine but instead of the bread being in a nice basket there were a couple of sliced pans thrown beside the toaster. There was pleanty of choices of cereals but they were all big packets from Lidl no thought put into a nice breakfast display.

I would recommend this hotel for a group of men going on the rip for the weekend but thats about as far as it goes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Very central to Kilkenny city , lively town , a lot of pubs and restaurants , a lively medieval town , full of culture.
If you want to party this hotel is a great location at the weekends and if you prefer a little more relaxed getaway midweek is preferable.

Rooms are adequate and comfortable , bars are spacious and well kitted out ,
The staff are polite and helpful , daily news paper free if charge , car park free if charge , a good hearty breakfast available. Rooms are cleaned promptly , no delay there , satisfactory all round !!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YOLANNA-TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilford Arms Hotel

Property: Kilford Arms Hotel
Address: John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilford Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This City Centre hotel is just a few minutes walk from the rail and bus station and within walking distance to all the major sights and attractions Kilkenny has to offer. With 60 bedrooms it is small enough to offer a truly personal service, while offering an excellent range of facilities for our guests. Whether dining in the White Oak restaurant or enjoying a drink in one of the 2 bars, make the Kilford Arms your home away from home.EntertainmentThe Kilford Arms is a great entertainment complex, with something for everybody! O’Faolain’s fabulous "super-pub" is built over 3 levels, with stunning architecture incorporating the ruins of a 16th century church! This new pub is a "must-see" on your trip to Kilkenny, and it features late bar and DJs nightly and a New Heated Smoking Area to Rear. PVS Bar hosts live bands regularly, and is home to the famous Kilford Karaoke on Saturday nights! During the day this is a great place for a quiet drink or to enjoy freshly prepared bar food. Dining The traditional White Oak Restaurant offers the best of local produce served in relaxed in formal surroundings. Open from 7am – 9pm Daily.PV’s Bar provides lunch and bar snacks menu daily, for lighter meals or a quick bite to accompany a relaxing drink! O'Faolains Bar serves food from 12:00 up to 21:00 daily, offering a great range, from light snacks to more substantial fare! Parking: Ample Coach Parking and Free Complimentary Parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kilford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilford Arms Kilkenny
Hotel Kilford Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing