We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Butler House
Nearby Hotels
Pembroke Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
$140
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newpark Hotel(Kilkenny)
$122
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zuni Hotel(Kilkenny)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyrath Estate(Kilkenny)
$138
$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
$96
$93
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$264
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilford Arms Hotel(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
$79
$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveler rating
291
128
43
15
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
128
43
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdesign centerkilkenny castleno elevatorbreakfast is servedold stablesdower housetop floorpresidential suitekilkenny designheavy bagsb bhistoric houserooms overlookingseparate buildingoverlooking the gardenlarge roomfacing the street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 483 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed on the top floor in a very spacious room that overlooked Kilkenny Castle and the gardens. The bathroom was amazing! Very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was good, but not the best we had in Ireland. I do recommend the scones (especially the savory ones). The location was convenient, but we did struggle to figure out the parking and how to get into the hotel. Other than that, we had a wonderful night. We wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We were placed in the top floor. If you can have a room up there, do it! The ambiance is amazing.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night while exploring the Kilkenny area. I booked the room last minute and based on reviews I requested a room with a view of the castle, but all those rooms were booked. Although we didn't have a good view, our room was very big, with a huge soaking tub in the bathroom. Our room was on the street but the noise wasn't too bad. I only woke up a few times during the night because of noise from people/cars on the street.

The hotel staff were all very nice and the breakfast staff were great at accommodating special diets. The location of the hotel is excellent as it is right at the edge of town within walking distance to all the main sights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank megs828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here two nights. The room was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was fantastic! The Butler House is in a great location with easy access to Kilkenny Castle, restaurants and pubs. Played cards downstairs with my family. Made some wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My family stayed at Butler House in mid-February 2014 and we had an wonderful visit. Richard was exceptionally helpful, the room was lovely and breakfast was delicious. I would suggest Butler House to anyone visiting Kilkenny.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This feels very like a guest house when you go in. The building looks lived in but in a good way! This is not a corporate experience. The room we stayed in was lovely and overlooked the beautiful gardens. Every room has it's own bathroom but ours was out of the sleeping area and up a little flight of stairs, it was really lovely.
Breakfast is served in the nearby Kilkenny Design Centre and I mean nearby, a very short stroll through the gardens and you're there. The breakfast is the same choice you'd enjoy if you walked into the Kilkenny Design Centre so it's really great. The restaurant is open to Butler House guests from 8 and then open to the public from 10 so we really got the best of both worlds. The quality of Kilkenny Design Centre and the privacy and attention of a small number or guests. We were served at our table and the excellent breakfast was cooked to order.
From our breakfast table we were looking at Kilkenny Castle so that's how central the hotel is.
In short as we were packing our bags after our 3 nights we said we'd never stay anywhere else in Kilkenny. The staff we met were friendly and chatty and all in all it was a great stay.

Room Tip: try to overlook the gardens. I would imagine there would be traffic noise on the road side of the house.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grundy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews