We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Butler House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Butler House
Ranked #6 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night in March 2013 and it was a wonderful night. We loved everything about the place, the warm welcoming and the conversation we had with a gentleman there made us feel right at home. Our room was huge ! so much space, and very clean and much to offer. Bathroom was amazing, so nice. We loved staying here, and the view of the castle through the window made it perfect. I have no complaints, the breakfast was great as well!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a castle view room, they are wonderful!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shayla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for Butler House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 444 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Butler House during a wonderfully warm stretch of weather in early June 2013. Unfortunately, this meant that our room was uncomfortably hot during the stay and there was no air conditioning (not unusual here in Ireland). By the time we discovered this it was late and we did not call the front office to request fans. The room itself was quite nice and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean, large, and the shower was roomy. Be aware that there are no lifts/elevators. We were on the third floor and had to haul our luggage up several flights of stairs. The staff does not offer to help with your luggage, so you're on your own. The location was perfect, though. The grounds in back are gorgeous and the breakfast was wonderful. So while overall a mixed experience, there were certainly some high points. I would say that for the price (150 Euros for our room) this location does not represent a good value for the money. We stayed in nicer B&Bs while in ireland for substantially less.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Neurorad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed in one of their superior double rooms overlooking the gardens and castle! Totally worth the extra cost! Imagine opening your bedroom curtains in the morning to look upon a beautiful garden and castle. Room and bathroom nicely decorated. Building itself is absolutely beautiful! You really feel like royalty staying there. We did not want to leave! Breakfast in design center - this building was neat as well and scones were delicious. Overall a fantastic experience! Make sure to ask hotel reception about the history of the castle and the Butler House and take the castle tour!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a view of the castle and gardens!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This place is totall gorgeous, particularly the rooms overlooking the garden and castle. Huge, luxurious and warmly decorated. In a beautiful old building Ina fabulous building you cannot go wrong. Helen and Richard are absolutely gorgeous. So friendly and helpful with suggestions of where to go (thanks for the suggestions Helen) and what routes to take the following day. Breakfast was also brilliant in a lovely setting. Don't look past this place as you won't regret it and the location could not be better

Room Tip: Rear rooms facing garden and castle
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Since last winter I've stayed at Butler House one Saturday night every month while attending a course in Kilkenny. Each time I stayed in room 77, overlooking the stunning gardens. The hospitiality from the staff and the tranquility of both the house and gardens has me missing my visits as my course is now over. Walking across to the Design Centre on Sunday mornings for scrummy breakfast is a great start to the day. Do stay here if you get the chance.

Room Tip: a garden view unquestionably
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Butler house, room 83, overlooked the street. That room is not a good idea on a weekend. There is a bar directly across the street and both Friday and Saturday evening, it was very noisy till very late. Garden view rooms do cost extra. Otherwise the staff and the accommodations were excellent. There is a garden in the back which opens into what was the castle stable. And then you cross the street and you are at the castle. Very convenient. You have to go into the former stable area to get the excellent breakfast. Full Irish breakfast available. Gluten free is available.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Larry68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

On a two-week journey through Ireland, Butler House was a small splurge for my group, but well worth it. The property is gorgeous, and very thoughtfully maintained. Its affiliation with the Kilkenny Castle and the Arts & Design Center really helps guests feel connected to the town. My husband and I reserved a superior double and were thrilled that we did. The room was HUGE, with an incredible view of the garden and castle beyond. Richard at the front desk gave us the warmest welcome, and shared great tips on nearby pubs and restaurants. Rinuccini's Italian restaurant around the corner was one of our best meals in Ireland. The Butler House breakfast was incredible, and very easily accessed in the adjacent Design Center. I'd definitely return to Butler House. Overall a superlative experience.

Room Tip: I didn't view the street-side rooms, but can attest that the garden-side rooms were gorgeous and...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetgirl1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zuni Hotel
Zuni Hotel
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
424 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butler House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butler House

Address: 16 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: $156 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Butler House, Luxury Guesthouse - formally the Dower House of Kilkenny Castle built in 1770. This historical house is situated in the centre of Kilkenny City, adjacent to Kilkenny Castle. An integral part of the Kilkenny Castle Estate, Butler house was home to the Earls of Ormonde, who also built the castle, stables and coach houses at the rear. Sweeping staircases, magnificent plastered ceilings and marble fireplaces are all features of this 18th century house. The house is a combination of contemporary furnishings and period elegance. Butler House boasts thirteen special rooms and suites, all with their own individual character. Designed to provide maximum comfort, each has a modern bathroom, and is decorated with soft coordinated fabrics and furnishings. The balance of old and new is prevalent throughout the rooms – contemporary furnishings are combined with the magnificent original features, which afford guests an impressive sense of comfort and space. The spacious superior rooms and suites have bow windows, which overlook the secluded gardens and Kilkenny Castle.In Room Facilities include: Queen Sized BedsMulti Channel HD TVHair DryerTea/Coffee FacilitiesTelephoneSafeComplimentary WIFI accessComplimentary Mineral WaterOn Site Facilities include:Free Private Car ParkComplimentary Full Irish breakfast (served in the Kilkenny Design Centre)Access to the walled gardenDVD PlayerCots for babiesBabysitting Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Butler House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butler House Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing