We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and lovely - highly recommended”
Review of Glendine House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glendine House
Ranked #19 of 74 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night after the Bruce Springsteen gig (epic!) The host Alan could not have been more accommodating. Beautiful old country house set in lovely grounds; clean, comfortable and nicely-furnished rooms (with electric blankets on beds! I have NEVER seen that - even in a 5 star hotel); modern bathroom with fantastic shower. AND - because we were out all day and night at the gig and we'd had a few scoops (alcoholic beverages to any non-Irish reading this!), Alan let us sleep on and we didn't have to check out until 4 in the PM!! He had another full house that night, but some people were going to be checking-in late...so he let US check-OUT late!! What a gent. Highly highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the house and as well as looking out onto lovely grounds, we could hear the S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinGirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 56 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Without doubt one of the best B&B's I have ever stayed in - Glendine House is a beautiful country house just outside Kilkenny town centre. The rooms are clean and perfectly furnished with modern bathrooms, hot water and gorgeous bay windows overlooking the gardens and fields. Turning into the drive way you are greeted by the sight of galloping horses and grazing sheep (no joke this place is fantastic!!). Our host Alan was very generous with his vast knowledge of the local area and provided us with a delicious cooked breakfast. This is the perfect place to stay to unwind and relax - we were even able to picnic in the back garden with some borrowed cutlery from the kitchen. Sad to leave after only one night.

Thank you Alan!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just stayed at the Glendine house and both of us absolutely loved it. The owner is very friendly and fun to chat with. The rooms were clean and spacious. Our bed had a heating blanket, which was nice because we aren't used to the cool Ireland weather. The breakfast was delicious. The grounds are beautiful and serene. There are sheep and horses on the property, which gave it a more country and serene feel. The location is on the edge of town but only a short 15-20 minute walk away from downtown. We left our rental car at Glendine house and walked around for the days we were there. There are other B&Bs in the downtown area that some may prefer. We enjoyed the quiet and relaxed atmosphere at Glendine and then walking to town along the river when we wanted to shop and see the sights. I recommend this B&B to anyone. We would definitely choose this again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The B&B is housed in a spectacular mansion surrounded by lovely grasslands hosting horses and sheep. It's located a little off the main streets of Kilkenny but you can reach the center in a relaxing 20 minute walk along the river. The large rooms have high ceilings and classic furniture. They are clean and equipped with everything you'll need (we even had a heating blanket). The host is very friendly and he will cook you a delicious Irish breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadrash4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank safi109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank cinzia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Gwenael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.4 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
12 mi away
Moonarch Bed & Breakfast
5.3 mi away
Newlands Lodge
Newlands Lodge
#2 of 74 in Kilkenny
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Butler House
Butler House
#7 of 74 in Kilkenny
457 reviews
9.9 mi away
Brandon View House B&B
Brandon View House B&B
#3 of 3 in Graiguenamanagh
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosquil House
Rosquil House
#5 of 74 in Kilkenny
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendine House

Address: Glendine Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: $90 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glendine House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing