We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lamb Burger”

The Fig Tree Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 217 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Fig Tree Restaurant is built around an ethos of freshly prepared food sourced from local, Irish ingredients, in a relaxed casual dining setting. All of our food is prepared in our kitchen from scratch from our local minced beef for our burgers to our hand crafted cakes and pastries using the finest grains from the local granary. Our coffee is ethically sourced and selected and roasted to our own requirements, offering you the perfect cup every time. To compliment our dishes we also serve O' Hara's Irish Craft Beers and house red and white wine. We place particular emphasis on our service and friendly customer relations, ensuring every guest enjoys their visit. For those with celiac dietary requirements, we provide a range of gluten free options, both savoury and sweet. Our promise is fresh, hand prepared food in a comfortable setting. Looking forward to your visit. Yours, Chef Prop. Thomas Clarke.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Lamb Burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

My wife and I were part of a tour and during our lunch break we were looking around for a nice place to have fish and chips. Then we saw this restaurant with the Trip Advisor sticker on the front door so we decided to try it. The first floor was full so we had a table by the window on the second floor. Before we ordered, we told the waiter that we had limited time and asked if he can make sure that we had our food as soon as possible. We had a nice view of the street and we watched people go by while waiting for our food. It actually didn't take long for the food to arrive. My wife's fish and chips wasn't the best she'd ever tried but good enough to finish it. However, my lamb burger (called Dapper Don) was excellent. It had grilled-to-order lamb burger, melted goat cheese, bacon and parsnip crisps. It was a good place to have a quick lunch. The waiter was kind enough to accommodate our request to bring our food quickly. We had more than enough time to meet up with our tour group.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    71
    19
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place to take a load off and refuel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Really pleasant welcome and lovely food. A nice place to rest up after a good walk. The leek and potato soup was especially yummy!!

Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife went on a Sunday at 4:30 pm and the staff couldn't take our order because they were closing in half an hour!! They actually told us they couldn't cook what we wanted because it would take 15 minutes!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank Alexander_ccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Owner at The Fig Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am writing to you in response to your review in April of this year-2014.

Having been present on the evening of your visit, I am aware of the particular details of the incidence. On sunday we shut the door at 5pm, you walked in at 4.35. The waitress who greeted you on entry clarified that the the average wait for hot food is 10- 15 minutes depending on what you order i.e. a well done 6oz beef burger with all the toppings, she politely stated that as we closed at 5pm and she was concious there would be no comfort to eat and relax in that short time frame, although you could if you wished. Coffee and cake was offered in place, however you stated that you wanted dinner and were satisfied to find another restaurant to dine.

We never told you we could not cook your food you could have eaten, but in a very very limited time frame, our food is made to order fresh, it is not sitting in a hot plate waiting to be ordered. We never told you we could not take your order.

Had we allowed you order and then asked you to leave ten minutes after your food had arrived you would have written a review in complaint. Therefore it is only fair that we politely inform people, as we did in your case.

I feel that your review is a bit misleading to others and unfair to us when infact you decided not to stay and so cannot comment on the service.

Maybe you will come back at another time not so close to our closing time and hopefull enjoy our service.

Regards,

Thomas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Waited almost an hour for a fry”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Waited almost an hour for a fry. Half of us left and just went to subway across the road. Got served in 5 minutes.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LocW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best burger we had in Ireland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Great place with friendly staff and awesome veiws of the street from the upper floors. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. It was very cute how their burgers behind bars followed a famous criminal theme. The staff were also very courteous and friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fig Tree Restaurant also viewed

 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to The Fig Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing