We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Secluded thatched cottage is a step back in time”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Molassy Cottage

Molassy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom
The Garden
Molassy Cottage
Rear Garden
Garden
Kilkenny Castle
St. Canices Church & Round Tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Margaret...
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Secluded thatched cottage is a step back in time”
Reviewed July 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Only 5 kms off the major highway is this perfect thatched cottage. The interior has been modernized, but the flavour of the last century remains in the room-filling fireplace, the very cozy spaces in the bedrooms and the farm outbuildings that surround it (no longer in use). Approach this cottage by a small lane, and step back in time. Kilkenny Crystal is a near neighbor, and you can talk to the glass workers without a tour guide. Callan is 10 short minutes away and Kilkenny, with its fabulous castle and the Irish artisan centre is 20 minutes away. Breda was a very pleasant host with good recommendations for dining in Kilkenny. An unforgettable few days of relaxation in the center of Ireland

Date of stay: June 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
droy_droy
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing, Must Stay Property”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in September 2015

If you are looking for a beautiful, self catering cottage in Kilkenny then Molassy Cottage is the place for you. Breda is the lovliest most helpful host and nothing is too much for her. The cottage is clean and cosy with a lovely kitchen. Games and books are available and other such small details that make a stay special are throughout the property. Kilkenny is a 10min drive away so easy to get to by car. Ample parking and a nice outside patio area for an evening tipple. Wifi is available too as an added extra. Am hoping to return to this property soon and could not recommend enough.

Date of stay: September 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petange
Warrnambool, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Charming cottage in a beautiful rural setting”
Reviewed May 20, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The cottage came up to all our expectations. The sitting room was very comfortable and the dining and kitchen area spacious. There was ample heating, with central heating and wood fires. The decor was fresh and modern and meticulously clean. Breda was friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Thank you again for a most enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious lounge and dining area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff B
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage in tranquil surroundings”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is a lovely thatched cottage which feels as if it's in the middle of nowhere - when you're there you feel as if you're alone on the planet. Yet there's a good sized town with supermarkets and restaurants only a couple of kilometres away.
I spent ten days here and loved every minute. It's beautifully tranquil, with just you and the birds to listen to. The cottage itself is very well equipped, and the two wood stoves warm the place up nicely, even in a chilly April. There's also central heating if you prefer.
Kilkenny with all its history is half an hour up the road, and within an easy hour's drive you've got Cashel, Waterford and Clonmel, making this a great base for exploring from.
Breda is a helpful and attentive hostess, without being intrusive.
All in all, very good and highly recommended

Date of stay: April 2016
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guillermo...
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“authentic Ireland”
Reviewed February 18, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I spent a week-end with my holders at Molassy Cottage. The cottage is a short ride from Kilkenny. This place offers many opportunities to experience the Irish nature. My holders could walk me trough the neighbourhood or let me walk loose trough the fresh grass. The cottage offered all comfort for me and my holders. I could observe my holders beeing relaxed and very satisfied with the interior and they seemed to have slept very well, given their satistaction. We left the cottage with a big smile and I hope they will take me back to this lovely location.

Zico, one of Ireland's finest dogs..

Date of stay: January 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikkos75
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A typical cottage in the irish campaign”
Reviewed January 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a relaxing and calm place for you and your family, stop ! Molassy Cottage is for you !
The cottage is well equipped and has everything for a perfect stay.
My young children enjoyed a lot the garden and the different games available in the cottage. I and my wife liked the comfortable living room after the day visiting the surroundings.
The cottage is very well located near a little village (oil station, supermarket) and not too far from Kilkenny.
In addition the owner (Breda M.) is charming and very attentioned !
Try it ! You do not regret!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: le calme, le confort
Liked least: la recharge internet
Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssieMcG
Sheffield, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect country escape close to gorgeous town”
Reviewed October 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My partner and I stayed along with our 3.5 year old son. It was such a great place to stay with everything we needed. Breda has done a wonderful job with the place. Very well equipped, even down to toys and DVDs for children. We loved the privacy of our own gorgeous traditional cottage and garden but at a mere 15 minute drive to Kilkenny town. We had planned to do several days trips but loved the area so much we stayed locally and enjoyed the sites to see around the county.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved everything, very homely
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing