We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Peaceful Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Molassy Cottage

Molassy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom
The Garden
Molassy Cottage
Rear Garden
Garden
Kilkenny Castle
St. Canices Church & Round Tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Joseph K
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Peaceful Cottage”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Cottage was just as advertised. The owner quickly responded to my potentail rental and within a few hours it was confirmed. She emailed me the directions, which were easy to follow and I traded text messages with her when I arrived in Country to confirm the reservation and directions.

This is a Cottage not a house. This is a cozy but very modern Cottage. This Cottage is out in the country and back in a secluded area. We had a lot of privacy even though it is only a mile or so from Callan, which had a SuperValue and an Aldi grocery store along with a pub, a couple of restaurants, and a pharmacy. So we had a lot of privacy, but we were close to town for all of our needs.

The Cottage is located just off of N76. Which allowed us to easily travel to Kilkenny, Dublin, Cork, Waterford, Wexford, and even Limerick. Some of the trips took 1 to 2 hours by car to reach the destination but still this Cottage was about as centrally located as you could wish. Trips to Galway and Killarny will take much longer, but are still possible.

Everything in the Cottage worked well and it was super spotlessly clean. The beds were comfortable and worked well for my wife and I. Additionally, my college age daughter stayed in the unstairs bedroom for 2 nights and she found it very satisfactory. The kitchen stove and cooktop were excellent. The refigerator was only a half size but it met our needs. There was also a washing machine, but of course no dryer. Additionally, there was a TV with Soar that worked very well for us, a CD player, and wifi. The most convenient part was that the wifi was tranportable and we took it with us in the car. It served us very well as we traveled about Ireland. This was a huge plus for us.

Lastly, the Cottage, the barns, and the surronding land is amazingly picturesque. It is a beautiful place and so very peaceful. The owners were wonderful people. They were friendly and checked on us to make sure that everything was going well. We had some nice conversations and enjoyed their company. They were very friendly without being overly intrusive.

This is a sure bet and I would recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very clean and owners were very friendly
Liked least: It was all good.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilda D
Grimsby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful cozy and private thatched roof cottage!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived, we fell in love with this place. It is such a peaceful and serene location. We are from Canada and came with friends to explore Ireland. We were so impressed with everything here. Breda provided tea, bread, butter, milk, coffee, and even a delicious pie and came to welcome us and to tell us all about things. The cottage is quaint, inviting and modern inside and it is really well equipped. We enjoyed cozying up with the wood burning stove in the evening and waking up to the sound of birds in the morning. The beds and furniture were very comfortable and everything was very clean! Breda has lots of info available for exploring the area. We traveled all around and always looked forward to coming back to the cottage - it felt like our home away from home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved staying in this cozy cottage with it's historic feel and modern amenities.
Liked least: We loved everything.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela v
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Family Reunion”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Beautiful cottage in lovely setting. Just perfect for my family visiting relatives in the area. Many thanks to Breda and Joe for their great hospitality. Children can't wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorker...
Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Real Ireland”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Our family, including two adults and three children, stayed at Molassy Cottage for Christmas week 2013. The cottage was absolutely perfect, all infrastructure in working order, plenty of space inside to relax, sleep, cook and even entertain - one evening we had all of our Kilkenny family to the cottage for dinner and drinks. The frost covered fields were perfect for the boys to play and explore in a proper Irish way. The owner of the cottage was extremely hospitable, graciously decorating the cottage for Christmas to make us feel at home, as well as providing plenty of wood, tea, bread. It truly was perfect. This is an excellent choice for an American family looking for a taste of "real Ireland." As a New Yorker who spent summers in Ireland living with aunts, uncles and cousins, I can say that the stay in Molassy Cottage was exactly like my own aunt's home - except with modern IKEA furniture! The drive into Kilkenny city took us 20-25 minutes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie S
Cupar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect cottage”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

i stayed here for 5 days with my sister and her husband fantastic cottage highly recomended lots of space very clean

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: log fire and how clean the house was also very quiet
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murph6497
Monroe, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Molassy Cottage was a home away from home.”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I can not say enough great things, not only about Molassy Cottage but about Breda Morris. The cottage was exceptionally clean, and she went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable, going so far as to give us directions, maps, and information on great places to visit. Breda even went so far as to give me a lift from Kilkenny to the cottage, and taking me to some great churches while in Kilkenny. We were treated as VIP guest not just renters. If you are ever thinking of going to Ireland this is a great place to stay, it is well located and the people are fabulous. I didn't just get to see Ireland I made some new friends and can't wait to see them again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatalieDa...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Secret Weekend Away”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Molassy Cottage for a long girls weekend as a gift to our friend. It was absoloutely perfect. There were only 3 of us but it would have been comfortable for double the amount of people. It was just what we wanted- a quaint cottage but with all the mod cons we need these days.
Breda the owner couldn't be more helpful, she gave us all of the advice we could need, perfect directions to find the hideaway and provided us with complimentary tea, coffee, bread etc to make our stay lovely. Couldn't recommend enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing