We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Molassy can be heaven in the summer time”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Molassy Cottage

Molassy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom
The Garden
Molassy Cottage
Rear Garden
Garden
Kilkenny Castle
St. Canices Church & Round Tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Brian G
Muroran, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Molassy can be heaven in the summer time”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I am somewhat hesitant to write this review as the selfish part of me would like to keep this gem hidden for return visits. Molassy Cottage is tranquility embodied in a lovely part of county Kilkenny. Myself my wife and young son had travelled to Ireland from Japan and couldn't ask for a more beautiful and relaxed spot to unravel the miles from our jet lagged bodies. The old barns with the swallows flitting in and out; the owl that screeched a greeting to us each evening at dusk; the curious cows in the lower field; and the quicksilver fish in the small river beyond. All of this and the warm friendliness of Breda who made sure everything was alright, including the biscuits. The ultimate accolade though, came from my 6 year old son who simply said, "I want to live here". If only we could.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
192Chrisa...
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely spotless clean cottage. Everything you would want for a comfortable stay.If you like the idea of a country getaway this is the place for you. Still close enough to visit the local sights. Breda is a fantastic host, arranged for a Doctor's visit. Checked each night to see if things had improved. Even followed up with a call after we left. Her kindness was very much appreciated.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was good
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce062
Durban - South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay in the Country”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful quaint cottage in the country to stay in. Close enough to Kilkenny to explore the town. It was a pity we could'nt spend more time at the cottage & its surrounds, it is such a perfect setting & Callan is definitely worth a visit on your doorstep. Very friendly owner who provided some great treats when we arrived, such a pleasure after a long flight to just be able to relax for a bit & not have to go straight into town to buy supplies. People like this do their country proud. Will definitey be back if I'm in Ireland again. Thank you so much for everything.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of the Cottage, Perfectly Ireland
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo B
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful, enchanting cottage in the middle of peace and tranquility!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first visit to Molassey Cottage and it certainly won't be our last!

A stunning and quaint cottage with a lot of family history in the most tranquil of settings, yet not too far away from all of the local amenities. It was the perfect base for our 10 day stay and allowed access to travel a lot of the Southern counties.

The cottage had everything you could need for a self catering holiday and more! The outside area was ideal, with a large lawned garden for the children to play safely and the secure court yard area, which allowed us to relax while the children played.

From point of booking, Breda couldn't do enough for us. As we were staying with our 2 young children Breda ensured we had all that we would need for our stay and more!

Upon arrival we were greeted by Breda and her children, the cottage was immaculately cleaned and was even more charming than we had imagined it would be! Breda had provided milk, tea, butter, bread, sugar, apple pie, and sweets for the children. Throughout our stay Breda ensured that we were all okay and checked that we didn't want for anything else. Breda's hospitality made the holiday!

All in, an exceptional stay at Molassey cottage and we will definitely be back for a winter stay to enjoy the wood burners!

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality
Liked least: That we had to return home to normality
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bugsy0984...
North Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The perfect place”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Everything we could have asked for and more. My wife, myself, son, daughter in law and two young grandchildren, sounds a lot for the size of the cottage but Breda made it work.
As everyone mentions in their reports, Breda was there to welcome us, lots of things already in place to get us started, the cottage quaint but modern, there was plenty of space for the children to play safely, the fields near at hand, seclusion and yet near enough to get to wherever you wish to go.
We travelled a lot, it was so easy with the road network to get around, we visited Waterford, Cork, Kerry, Carlow, Wexford, North and South Tipperary and of course lots of Kilkenny itself though always still happy to get back to the cottage.
A surprise visit by another son and his partner and Breda looked after them for us; I hope she did not have too much trouble getting rid of all of those extra cans!
This is a perfect place for a getaway, either for peace and quiet or as a base to travel around Ireland. I have no complaints at all, it was the best holiday I have had in years.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToolesNZ
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay in the country”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Molassy Cottage has it all. It's quaint, quiet, up a lane, in the country, comfortable, has everything you could possible need and is close to Callan and not too far from Kilkenny. Breda was a wonderful and entertaining host. Her son, Shayne was also a most delightful boy. The experience was good enough to entice us back to Ireland one day!

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautifully restored cottage and quiet surroundings in the country
Liked least: There was nothing not to like.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin7284
Massapequa Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Thatched Cottage”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed with my wife and 3 HS/College age children for 2 nights. The cottage had the appearance we were looking for and a great mix of modern ammenities and old world charm. The cottage is located in a quiet area with a large yard and near enough to the beautiful sights/sites of the surrounding areas including Kilkenny Castle, Rock of Cashel, Cahir Castle and Waterford for day trips. The owner, Breda, couldn't have been more helpful. From our first communications during booking to our arrival, it was like we were old friends. We were all very happy with our stay.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to stay in a thatched cottage.
Liked least: Unfortunately, there was no clothes dryer and our stay wasn't long enough to air dry.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing