We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet and Cozy”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Molassy Cottage

Molassy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom
The Garden
Molassy Cottage
Rear Garden
Garden
Kilkenny Castle
St. Canices Church & Round Tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ryan S
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quiet and Cozy”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I recently stayed at Molassy Cottage for a weekend and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. When my friend and I arrived at the cottage, Breda, the owner, came to welcome us and show us how everything in the house worked. She had already stocked the kitchen with bread, butter, eggs, tea, and cookies. She also brought us fire starters, firewood, and coals. The cottage has central heating, but we enjoyed using the stoves to heat the house instead.

The cottage dates back to the 19th century, yet is clean and comfortable. Inside, you'll find the modern amenities that we've come to expect. If you're traveling with children, the living room is stocked with videos to watch on the DVD player and the upstairs bedroom has several board games for a rainy day.

The location is perfect. It's very quiet; you don't have to worry about street noise or loud neighbors. But, the town of Callan is probably a 5 minute drive from the house and the cities of Kilkenny and Clonmel are both around 15-20 minutes away, so you have plenty of stores and restaurants within easy driving distance. The Rock of Cashel and the surrounding town are a little bit farther away, but definitely worth making the short drive to visit.

I enjoyed my stay at Molassy Cottage and would happily stay there again.

Date of stay: January 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable and quiet
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
px1000
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Molassy Cottage for only a weekend, but when we left we wished it had been a week. I think that best sums up how we found the cottage - from the moment we arrived until the moment we left, it was a wonderful place to stay. The entire house was immaculate (at one point, I dropped a contact lens case and it rolled under the shelving in the bathroom - I pulled it out, and the case was still absolutely clean. Impressive!). The bathroom itself was quite large and well-appointed. The living room had a nice couch and some chairs which were very comfortable, and the TV and DVD player were great. The kitchen is well-equipped for cooking and eating at the cottage, or if you'd rather eat out it's possible to reach Callan in just a few minutes for something quick and easy, or Kilkenny in 20 minutes for a wide variety of restaurants. The "loft" bedroom is a bit small (the chimney goes up through the middle of it, which keeps the room quite warm, but it is a bit inconvenient to walk around), but at the end of the day that's a pretty insignificant issue. The main bedroom was quite spacious. Breda was most welcoming and very kind when we arrived, giving us the full tour and explaining the appliances and how to control the heating - finally, her directions to the cottage were perfect: make sure you follow them, as our GPS hadn't a clue where we were. We wouldn't hesitate to return to Molassy Cottage and enthusiastically recommend it - just stay longer than a weekend, because you won't want to leave!

Date of stay: January 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood stoves!
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sin123_12
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little hide away”
Reviewed December 10, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say our stay in Molassy Cottage was absolutly fantastic. It was like being in our own little world it was so peacefull and quiet there wasnt a sound around only the birds singing in the trees. The cottage was gourgous so charming and it had everything you needed. Yet its only a drive away from the hussle and bussle of the city if you want a night out and shopping. Breda was lovely very helpful and anything you needed she was only a phone call away. So if your looking for some peace and quiet i would defo recommend Molassy Cottage.

Date of stay: December 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole style of the cottage was gourgous
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogormanat...
Ratoath
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful Tranquilty”
Reviewed September 25, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in many holiday rental homes throughout Ireland and I have to say the majority have been great. Molassy Cottage stood out from the rest. It is located at the end of a country lane with with no adjoining properties other than some old out buildings and a barn.It was very private and quite (listen really hard and you might hear some traffic noise from the distance).
The house is very modern inside with everything you would need although it could do with a dishwasher (me being lazy again), which I believe is in the pipeline.
Our welcome was wonderful, we had let ourselves in and got settled when Breda and her wonderful son Shane arrived to welcome us.Shane had brought us some free range eggs from his own hens and they were delicious.
We stayed for just two nights and were uninterrupted throughout.
We walked two of the local trails which were excellent and visited Kilkenny castle, we also walked the dogs along the Kings river which flows behind the cottage, and saw shoals of young trout. Keep an eye out for the little barn owl at dusk, he flies around the barn searching for food.
Overall a fantastic break ....we will be back!

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefullness
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth_McG1...
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great retreat”
Reviewed August 30, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

A group of girlfriends and I enjoyed a lovely long weekend in Molassey cottage. The house was welcoming and inviting- we didn't want to leave! A great place to chill out with board games, DVDs and wine but only a 20 minute taxi to Kilkenny city for a night out, a bit of shopping or a great meal. Breda couldn't have been more helpful. I would certainly be encouraged to visit Molassey cottage again and again.

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonvdK
Mantgum, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The place for the south east of Ireland”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Just want to say that we had a perfect stay in the Molassy Cottage. The location is very nice and quiet. The furnishing is new en modern and cosy. And the location is perfect to see the south east of Ireland. We got good tips from the owner of the attractions in the area in the vicinity.

Date of stay: July 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyshon G
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A charming and beautifully refurbished thatched cottage”
Reviewed August 13, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Set in the tranquility of the Irish countryside, Molassy cottage lies at the end of a charming lane shared by only one other house along the way. This delightful accommodation is ideal for couples or those with small families; there is a large lawn at the back and an enclosed yard at the front. The interior retains many of its historic features yet provides contemporary furnishings, amenities and wood burners. There is a HD television and DVD player. We had 3G internet access on our iphones. The cottage is personally maintained by our host, Breda, who also met us on arrival and was always available if we had any queries. A key attribute in this accommodation is attention to detail. It is an excellent vantage point for exploring Kilkenny city and the county.

We spent a splendid 10 days here with our 2 sons aged 6 and 8 years. They stayed in a spaciously created bedroom in the loft where there are 2 single beds. There is a very comfortable double sofa bed in the lounge. In keeping with a traditional cottage, the downstairs bedroom is small and so the only caveat is that the double bed would be considered small by some couples. We are keen to stay in Molassy cottage again.

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A quiet retreat with good facilities and easy access to Kilkenny.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing