We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to spend the day!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kilkenny Way

The Kilkenny Way
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.31*
and up
The Kilkenny Way: Ultimate Hurling Experience
Ranked #13 of 71 things to do in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We Provide a unique sporting experience giving you an insight into the worlds Oldest (3000 yrs) and fastest field game in the true Home Of Hurling Champions - Kilkenny. Join us for 2 hours of Hurling fun in the Home of the Famous Kilkenny Cats.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best way to spend the day!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Wow, who would have thought that our family would have enjoyed this so much!! We were a tad iffy going into this, but have NO regrets coming out!It is a really fun and interactive way to learn about Irelands favorite sport! I guide was super friendly and the food was super good! I would recommend this place to everyone!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fashionista101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    10
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best way to spend an afternoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had such a great time learning and trying our luck at hurling. The tour of the local team's home pitch was interesting, and our practice session was so much fun and
Richie is a lovely and lively instructor!

The food at Lanigan's is excellent, as is the service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Different History not seen anywhere in the world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This is new to Kilkenny.
The Experience my group will never forget.
Sport of Kilkenny is Hurling and this is the only tour of its kind in the world. We started in a pub but were not left there for long.we were taken out on whats called a hurling field.named Nowlan Park.here we had great fun learning how to use a Hurl. Kilkenny we were told are Champions.
Various ways of ball control we tryed
but by golly we had great fun.now we went back to langians pub and museum where we ate Stew.try it with a pint if black stuff. Dont miss this tour. Jim was outstanding. Our tour guide for the event .
Even the ladies had a ball.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tourguideireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robesonia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fun and more fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Truly one of the best parts of 10 day trip to Ireland. Learned how to hurl, ate lamb stew and met nice people. I encourage all to do this

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“kilkenny kats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great city (small compared to London!) you can walk around it easily. Lots to do.Hurling is the life blood of Kats of all ages get involved whenever you can, you,ll never watch boring soccer again.

Castle, Rothe House, St Canices, Kytlers the list goes on for history buffs.Plenty of good pubs and restaurants, most pubs do music of one sort or another.Try The Hole in the Wall High Street behind Enable Ireland shop for a coffee/drink/music theater experience. Try the Kilkenny craft trail for gifts there are workshops all around the city and county.

Out of town try Castlecomer Discovery Park for the mining history,country walks fishing and the arial assault course if you,re energetic enough.

Downside are the hen nights at the weekend not a pretty sight!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carole h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kilkenny Way also viewed

 

Been to The Kilkenny Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing