We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique tour”
Review of The Kilkenny Way

The Kilkenny Way
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.28*
and up
The Kilkenny Way: Ultimate Hurling Experience
Ranked #15 of 72 things to do in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We Provide a unique sporting experience giving you an insight into the worlds Oldest (3000 yrs) and fastest field game in the true Home Of Hurling Champions - Kilkenny. Join us for 2 hours of Hurling fun in the Home of the Famous Kilkenny Cats.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique tour”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Loved Mingo. Loved to hear the inside view on the quickest game in the world. The steak lunch was really good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dangnang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    10
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good times in Kilkenny and not just drinking in the pubs!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

All Americans who think Kilkenny is just known for their beers, need to pay 20 euro for this experience of a lifetime! Learn all about Hurling, an old Irish sport like no other! Take hockey, lacrosse, mixed with soccer and the violence of rugby and you have hurling! For a 2 hour tour PLUS lunch, you learn the basics! Bring water and wear work-out clothing and sneakers! You will work up a sweat! We loved it! It was so much fun and the guide was excellent! I believe Kilkenny offers this to make tourist Kilkenny Cats fans! It worked! Go Cats!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginalyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had a great time being introduced to the game, the techniques were explained the we were put through our paces, (may need a few more lessons before I'm picked on the team) our guides was brilliant and the starting and finishing venue was great, highly recommend

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“We got Cat Scratch Fever in Kilkenny!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Recently chaperoned American high schoolers through Ireland and their experience of The Kilkenny Way made the short list of favorites. Our host's delightful stories of the wonderful madness of Cat Fans in Kilkenny and his engaging tours of the training facility and playing fields won some new devotees to the sport of hurling. From learning the basic skills under Aisling's capable tutelage to scarfing down the scrumptious lamb stew back at the pub, the kids had a blast to last a lifetime. Every one of my future tours of Ireland will include a visit to this charming town to be capped with The Kilkenny Way. Slainte!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank irishkuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

You start off by some history of the game of hurling followed by a short walk through the town heading towards the hurling field. You are treated to some information of the town and county during the walk. Then you hit the field where you are taught the rules of the game and some basic skills where you get to practise yourself. Jim the pub owner/former player is extremely nice and knowledgeable and helps everyone improve there skills. After around 1 1/2 hours on the field you return to the pub and get treated some excellent Irish food. The shepherds pie and lamb stew is amazing! Thanks again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gbpackers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kilkenny Way also viewed

 

Been to The Kilkenny Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing