We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend this hotel.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langton House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Langton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend this hotel.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel, from start to end of our trip, the place was fanastic. We were a large hen party group and the hotel staff were great. We landed in reception with 30+ people and bags and they asked us to label the bags and they held them, later that day when we returned our bags had been delivered to our rooms - highly impressive!!!

the rooms were amazing, rooms 1 & are towards front of hotel and this was a bit noisy when the niteclub was over but noise didn't last too long and it wasn't an issue for us but if you're not the type to be out late - might be an issue for you.

We just had breakfast and it was a very impressive breakfast menu, no buffet hot breakfast to my delight, hot food cooked to order!

Overall hotel atmosphere and staff were fantastic. They could have done with maybe more waiting staff at breakfast as girls were run off their feet and breakfast room was not too packed. I would highly recommend for group bookings and hens - fantastic. location is also great! if you have a bus for a group though - be warned - bus can not drop you at door of hotel, this was a small issue for us as we had a lof of additional baggage and had to walk with them etc.
thank you to the fantastic staff again, we had a great stay.

Room Tip: as per my review, rooms 1, 2, 3, 4 and 9 are to the front of hotel so might not be best if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishWedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    160
    60
    18
    13
See reviews for
135
350
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had two rooms, both the Penthouse Suite and Deluxe Room were bespoke, spacious, and charming. The full Irish breakfast was above average and the hotel is huge and beautiful. We located a minimum of six different bars tucked throughout including a quite garden. The beds were comfortable and the Wifi worked well. The general location is great. I would recommend this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveling_TimS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at Langton House for one night in June as part of a trip around Ireland. Due to our itinerary, it happened to be a Saturday night. That proved a major mistake, which was a pity because, in general, Langton House has a lot going for it. Many of the positive reviews for Langton House are by people who have attended a function there and then it would be a great option because you will only be wanting to sleep after the function. However if you are not attending a function I would seriously recommend you look elsewhere, at least on Saturday nights (and, I suspect Friday nights). Even on the top floor and with earplugs, it was not possible to get to sleep until the function stopped after 3.30am and we had an early start that morning.
Putting that to one side (if its possible) the hotel is in an excellent location. Traffic can be really bad in John Street but there is excellent guest parking behind the hotel. The staff were friendly. The main bar was very popular. We were allocated the two top floor rooms. They were enormous - the walk in wardrobe come dressing room was bigger than many London hotel rooms - and very comfortable. Breakfast was also very good. Unfortunately, my rating is based on not being able to sleep, which after all is what hotels are primarily for.
Kilkenny itself is well worth a visit. It is touristy but that means it has excellent facilitates and the locals are very friendly.

Room Tip: If you can get one of the top floor rooms, they are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newkstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here for an overnight recently and have to say the service, rooms and location are just great. We had prosecco & chocolates on arrival which was a lovely touch. Our meal for dinner was only ok as I had a noodle dish which I found watery and lacking any flavour. My husband enjoyed his meal though! Breakfast was lovely and I will return again very soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

My friend and I attended a wedding showcase recently at this hotel. I have to say I am very impressed with the atmosphere, staff professional and friendly-couldnt do enough for you and we were well looked after throughout the evening. The food, well....amazing!
Had such fun and entertainment. To get a chance to check out the venue, food and overall persona of the place for the day of your dreams is something that all hotels that a couple hoping to get married should get the chance to experience before the wedding.
Now if you just wanted to check out the hotel for a nice break in kilkenny then this hotel should not be overlooked. well done Langton House Hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellesmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed with a friend in one of the Garden Suites. Loved the room and the bathroom in particular - spacious and spotless.
We had brought DVDs for a night in but the TV in the room did not have a built in DVD player. We enquired at the desk about borrowing one and when we got back to our room, it had been set up.
We enjoyed a delicious and generous evening meal in the hotel. It was very, very busy at the time and so service was a little slow but the service itself could not be faulted - friendly and diligent. It was clear to see that the staff were run off their feet but persevered with absolute professionalism.
Breakfast was served in the bright and airy restaurant and was delicious, with an excellent selection.
Only negative - there were lots of cigarette butts littered around the entrance to the Garden Suite building and I did not notice any ashtrays. Perhaps the installation of ashtrays (a little away from the building!) would solve this little issue.

Room Tip: The garden suites are laid out in blocks of four as far as I could make out. I thought this might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

The property is amazing - it's staff outstanding. Langton's hotel is a collection of buildings connected by hallways and passages. For such a conglomeration of rooms you would think you might find clutter and mess. During my stay there was construction occurring and a constant stream of visitors throughout the day. Not once would you find the hotel less than sparkling. They work very hard at keeping Mr. Langton's hotel spotless and inviting.
I stayed in the Garden Suite and it was charming and most adequate. Not a lot of storage or closet space but that's not unusual for Europe. A working hair dryer and iron were provided. Not sure about a/c but during my visit it was not necessary. Maid service was spot on. Rooms had a double bed and TV with wireless access. At the main hotel the bar area was humming with activity day and night. Very professionally staffed. The restaurant served full style breakfast service - then offered lunch and dinner specials. I enjoyed everything I was served. Prices were moderately expensive as expected in any fine hotel. The grounds were very busy with weddings and parties throughout our stay. But aside from a few car park difficulties I never felt put out by the activity.
The hotel is situated within easy walking distance of Kilkenny Castle and the downtown shopping areas. There are many good local restaurants situated nearby. No need for a cab unless traveling out of the city.
The reception staff are the very best I have ever encountered. Always pleasant and willing to help in any way possible. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kilkenny.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the rocklander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langton House Hotel

Property: Langton House Hotel
Address: 69 John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Langton House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel located in the heart of Kilkenny.Langton House Hotel Kilkenny boasts 30 premium standard suites. Incorporating our Penthouse suites, Superior Garden Suites, Executive Rooms and Triple Suites. Langtons Hotel Kilkenny, Langtons Restaurant Kilkenny and Langtons Pubs Kilkenny have won numerous awards including the Black & White Pub of the Year (Four Times), the Black & White Super Pub of the Year and the National Bar Food awards to mention but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Langton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langton Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing