We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Stephens Night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Langton House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Spent a very enjoyable Stephen's night at the Langton house hotel. The suite was fabulous, spacious and clean. The bathroom was immaculate and absolutely huge, with a jaquzzi bath and separate shower. The staff were friendly throughout our stay. There was a fantastic selection at breakfast. Many thanks for a wonderful night. We will definately be back again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 837 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed for one night on a deal prior to Xmas, and could not fault the place ! Great accommodation, location, food and staff, all set in an interesting and quirky building within short walking distance of Kilkenny centre. Nothing else to add other than we will definitely be back !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bailieborough_Blowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Spent a really enjoyable mid-week break at Langton House Hotel last month. From the moment we arrived, the friendliness of the staff and the facilities of the hotel could not have been better. Definitely planning a return visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennybDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This was my second time to stay at this fabulous hotel. First time was with my family and second with my partner, and all I can stay is wow!! We stayed in one of the penthouse suites, no 74 I think. It was absolutely gorgeous! The room is so elegantly decorated, the bathroom is huge, there is masses amounts of wardrobe space and the bed is beautiful. I loved this room so much because there was a vanity desk in the room! The staff at Langtons are sooooo attentive, caring and could literally not do any more for you. Every staff member at dinner knew the menu off by heart and made precise recommendations. The food was amazing! I really loved the outdoor area of the nightclub. The breakfast was also amazing! Every single request was fulfilled instantly. Could not recommend this hotel to anyone else in a million years! It is truly beautiful and the staff are all kind and sweet people! I feel that if there was a spa or leisure centre this gorgeous place would easily be a 5 star :)

Room Tip: Suites are truly beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShannonMcGrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband myself and our 4 children stayed for 2 nights for my sister's wedding,my daughter is in a wheelchair and from opening doors help with dinner ramps on the ready to our familyrroom. Somebody just seemed to be ready and waiting to help , nothing was to much trouble. I can be fuzzy by times but if I tried I couldn't find a fault with Langton's. Absolutely fabulous from the moment we entered until we left. Eamon Langton did himself proud. Staff were excellent, manager Sean Reid was outstanding thank you so much from the Murphy's

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Myself and three girlfriends stayed in Langtons on Thursday last and you could not fault it. The hotel itself is very central to the town with all its lovely shops. We arrived at lunchtime and the receptionist Karen looked after us very well. We had vouchers from an internet site deal which included dinner bed and breakfast, it was excellent value for money. We were upgraded to suites without any extra cost. The rooms were very spacious with four poster beds and very large bathroom with Jacuzzi. The only complaint we had was the room was very cold when we first arrived but when we rang reception they had a plumber up within 30 mins who sorted out the boiler it was really cosy after that, one of the staff brought us up another heater while the boiler was being sorted. We had dinner in the main restaurant and you could not fault it, the staff were so attentive especially Mary who looked after us really well. The food was piping hot and plentiful and they had a sufficient wine list. All in all our stay was great and we will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Great value when you get the voucher deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My hubby and I got a chance to stay at this hotel last week. The room was clean, there was wine and chocolates on arrival and it even had a Jacuzzi. What I liked best was the luxurious shower, felt like I was standing under a waterfall! The receptionists, Rochelle and Clear (hope I got the names right), were wonderful and very cooperative. Service-wise, this hotel was very good.

What I did not like about this hotel was the rooms are way to close to each other. They are adjacent to each other. It was very noisy and we could get a good night's sleep. Also we our room had no view at all! There was a hedge right outside of our window. It felt quite claustrophobic!

Another thing I absolutely did not like was the extremely small portions of food served in their bar. What is worse is the prices are exorbitant, especially if you bring the quantity served into the picture. The size of the fillet of fish was half compared to almost all the restaurants I have visited in different parts of Ireland. The quantity of rice served with the chicken curry seemed like a callous joke for around €15. Felt cheated and completely ripped off! It's really sad because the food was very tasty! The staff in the bar were neither friendly nor even aware of their own menu. When we had breakfast there, one of the waitress looked like she would rather be anywhere than there and the senior one was quite abrasive in her demeanour!

Bottom line, there is nothing special about this place except it location and very helpful receptionists. But if you do decide to stay here, get your earplugs and stay away from the bar for food!

Also, it would be nice if there were a swimming pool and a spa.

Room Tip: Avoid the bar. No value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ufms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,858 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,576 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langton House Hotel

Address: 69 John Street Lower, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: $85 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langton House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel located in the heart of Kilkenny.Langton House Hotel Kilkenny boasts 30 premium standard suites. Incorporating our Penthouse suites, Superior Garden Suites, Executive Rooms and Triple Suites. Langtons Hotel Kilkenny, Langtons Restaurant Kilkenny and Langtons Pubs Kilkenny have won numerous awards including the Black & White Pub of the Year (Four Times), the Black & White Super Pub of the Year and the National Bar Food awards to mention but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Langton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langton Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing