We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel great location great value !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langton House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a midweek break at Langtons . The room , service , staff and food cannot be surpassed . From reception to check out we felt warmly welcomed and very much at home . The city is the most interesting in Ireland and Langtons is well located . Special thanks to Rochelle , you are a great rep for the hotel .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenno39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 827 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

Had a very pleasant stay here. We got the garden suites – which are lovely rooms. They are kitted out to the highest standard. Super comfy beds, fabulous bathroom with bath & shower. The hotel is located in a great location, it’s only a short walk to the Castle & there are plenty of bars and restaurants around. For a city break, you really couldn’t find a better location. The staff are lovely & very friendly. I had forgotten my slippers & asked at reception for a pair & they had sent someone within 20 minutes to our room with 2 pairs – which was really nice of them. The breakfast was good – we were laughing however, instead of getting up and choosing a juice for yourself, they brought you a glass of orange juice to your table. I wonder has anyone ever asked for a refill, ha! Would highly recommend, it’s a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank verdell2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hi, overall I would highly rate Langtons and will not only stay there again, but will be buying vouchers for loved ones to stay here.

We had a great stay and the shortcomings were some dishes in the restaurant, but the hotel staff did everything possible to keep us happy.

We were recommended the top three hotels listed on tripadvisor by a friend who visits Kilkenny and was there for last month's Kilkenny Arts Festival.

I liked the look of the pub when we walked through town, before getting lunch, then looked up reviews and availability online during lunch at a nearby pub (a great place with a review to come soon).

Langton's has had some deals recently on their website, so when we visited the hotel I asked about the deals and they were sold out of all rooms bar one. This was for a Monday and Tuesday night, on 'back to school week', so may have been full due to families going on long weekend breaks. We took the last available room, a first-floor superior garden suite, for $85/night including breakfast.

Great room! Huge and supremely comfortable King bed, very nicely done. The helpful woman at the front desk noted it was a twin room but during our booking she had Housekeeping re-furnish the bed as a King/double.

The bathroom is quite large and includes a bath/shower and usual facilities - plus a bidet, for some reason.

Aussies and other non-Irish might like the rainshower head on the shower. Note that with the rainshower head, there is very little water pressure. Simply use the other shower head, on the bath since it is much smaller and has much stronger pressure.

Room was in a nice quiet spot, behind the hotel. Close to carpark, which was handy for checkin/checkout (which is a nice, late 12PM). Beware the nightclub/disco (you will likely be warned by the checkin staff) - zero noise heard from the rooms, but you will get drunk, loud talking patrons returning to the rooms after 2AM. Now I feel OLD!

Speaking of age, the majority of patrons seemed to be the older crowd 50+, but there will be families and younger couples too, as well as some here for hen's nights or the nightclub.

The rooms, staff, facilities, convenience, parking and ambience at Langtons are top-class for a four-star hotel.

The only disappointment for us (a couple, early 40s, feeling old about the nightclub crowd at 2.15AM!) was the quality of some dishes at dinner and at breakfast.
The Irish Stew at dinner had no substance, missing vegetable ingredients, mutton was fatty but also overcooked/not tender, the worst my wife has ever had.
The omelette which she ordered for breakfast was also the worst she has ever had, with very poor quality Irish bacon (ham).
We were disappointed at this since every other aspect of the hotel was terrific. I wonder if the chef was not properly trained with western / Irish dishes, since they seemed to botch the Irish stew so much and it seemed to be ordered by a number of people around us at the time.

To his credit, the restaurant manager asked us how we liked the meal, my wife explained the detail of what was missing or botched on the Irish stew and he was very sorry and immediately removed it from our tab and apologised for it.

I hope that the hotel management act on our advice, since we noted the issues with the food both to the restaurant manager and upon checkout.

If Langtons had cooks able to cook quality ingredients to the required standard of a 4-star hotel, they would lilkely get a perfect score from us. Since we had two meals with disappointing food, I can only give this place 80% but would score it 100% if the food was recitified to the same standard as the staff and the hotel facilities.

We will return and try again some time.

Room Tip: Upstairs garden suites are more private and quiet than downstairs, if you can manage one small fligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

As first impressions go it could not be any better. the welcome from the staff on reception was almost overwhelming. I arrived alone and was made to feel like i was returning home after years away. the girls even showed me where some of the group i was meeting had gone in to the bar for a drink. the food in the restaurant was top notch as was the service there. must say a special thank you to our lovely matre d' for getting us a table in the packed out restaurant at such short notice. We had a wedding there the next day and the ball room was like a fairy tale. glitz and glamour every where and as for the beer garden/smoking room it was like being in a different country except for all the home comforts. Bed rooms could do with a little up dating and the bar staff were not of the same standard as reception and waiting staff but these are the only let downs on an other wise perfect place to stay. I will be back again and soon i hope.

Room Tip: Rooms are very noisy in the main building at the weekend so maybe try the garden suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank recio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Recently dined, stayed, had drinks & entertained at Langtons! The staff, food & locations are excellent with a hands on approach visible from owner & managers. Bar/reception/restaurant staff are so helpful patient & understanding its a superb place to celebrate, spend time, eat & socialise!!! Cannot recommend them enough!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3ce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

What a Fabulous Hotel!!! from the minute we stepped through the door we were warmly greeted with big smiles and made to feel really special. That continued throughout our stay with them. The staff are genuinely very friendly, pleasant, courteous and professional. We had a nice quiet room in the garden area which was spotlessly clean and lovely. The food in the Hotel was great and we will definitely return. I would recommend this Hotel to friends, family or anyone. We got a great deal with a voucher from an on-line booking company and it was terrific value for money. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are in the garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geordieboy58_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here for two nights for a wedding the August Bank Holiday Weekend and i can't honestly wait to go back there, we were treated so well by every single member of staff through out our stay and i must say they are a credit to the Hotel. Breakfast was beautiful and the Wedding meal was just fantastic. we stayed in room 74 and it was just amazing, the only down side was we didn't get to stay long enough.

For such a large, busy hotel, the staff never looked panicked or phased by it and always spared the time to say hello and make us feel welcome. I Will definitely be back here.

Room Tip: Room 74 was just beautiful but might not suit if your a light sleeper as you have street noise, than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heights H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,831 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,032 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,042 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langton House Hotel

Address: 69 John Street Lower, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: $92 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langton House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel located in the heart of Kilkenny.Langton House Hotel Kilkenny boasts 30 premium standard suites. Incorporating our Penthouse suites, Superior Garden Suites, Executive Rooms and Triple Suites. Langtons Hotel Kilkenny, Langtons Restaurant Kilkenny and Langtons Pubs Kilkenny have won numerous awards including the Black & White Pub of the Year (Four Times), the Black & White Super Pub of the Year and the National Bar Food awards to mention but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Langton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langton Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing