We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Langtons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved Langtons”
Reviewed March 20, 2008

just back from a wonderful mid-week break at Langtons. We got a great deal on two nights B&B plus one evening meal. I booked by phone and when the receptionist heard it was my first visit she gave me a free upgrade to the penthouse suite! The staff were uniformly helpful and friendly and the modern take on art deco style in the design and furnishings were very much to my liking.

  • Liked — Fantastic room
  • Disliked — no problems really
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vincon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    164
    63
    19
    13
See reviews for
146
363
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2008

I had my hens weekend in Langtons and from start to finish l could not fault this hotel in any way. Hotel, decor, staff and service was the best l have experienced in a very very long time. We paid 210euro for friday and saturday night, that included breakfast both mornings 3 course dinner on the Saturday and free pass into the nightclub on the saturday night, fantastic value for money. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to Kilkenny for a stay, especially if your going for a lively stay as Langtons is one, if not the main attraction at night.

  • Liked — Staff, Service Cleanliness & Location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMcDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

We stayed at Langtons having read some good reviews on Trip Advisor, and granted, the rooms are pretty nice and I imagine it is one of the best hotels in Kilkenny. The restaurant seems to be pretty terrible, we had a light meal there and the sauce of mine was tinned mushroom soup! The breakfast, which we had in our room, was lovely and far better than the food we had the day before. Anyway, basically you can see what they were trying to do with the decor, sort of a chic modern minimalist look, but they missed the mark by doing a cheap job, and the chipped veneer gives it away all over the bedroom and bathroom. It is definitely not what I would expect from a four star, the bed seemd nice but wasn't very comfortable, and the pillows were awful. All in all ok, but definitely not great.

  • Liked — Room was quite nice
  • Disliked — The food in the restaurant
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublinyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

Stayed here as part of a group of 6 for just one night (Saturday). Booked at the very last minute as another hotel in the city had messed up our booking. The receptionist was very friendly and efficient. The rooms were surprisingly nice, with great big bathrooms and a super power shower! Food was superb in the hotel and most of the waiting & bar staff were quite friendly too. The nite club that evening was heaving with people but the bar & door staff seemed well able to cope. The following day after we checked out, we stayed around in the bar & had some food. There was a great atmosphere around the place. The only problem was that there did not appear to be enough staff working that day and I was left waiting 10 minutes at the bar just to get a drink and another 40 minutes to get a table for dinner. The staff that were there were apologetic for this delay.. I would definitley stay here again and would recommend it large broups going to Kilkenny.

  • Liked — Cental location
  • Disliked — Waiting for a drink at the bar!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DubGirl3014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankill, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

I booked my stag party in Langtons months ago. I have stayed at Langtons before but never with so many other people (29 on the stag in total). I was apprehensive about it this time as I had heard that Kilkenny was clamping down on stag and hen weekends. I have to say though that my fears were for nothing. As usual Langtons handled everything with the usual cheerful, breezy efficiency. We were given one family room (for three people) and thirteen twin rooms (for the other 26). I sent a list and the deposit to the hotel months ago. The reception took the booking in their stride and nobody had any complaints. Some of the lads ate in the hotel and they said that it was superb. Some others only had breakfast the following morning. In all cases, no complaints and very complimentary to me about the quality of the food. I didn't get up for the breakfast as my head was pounding ! The only prohibitive part of the experience was the cost. It was 200 euros per twin room and 300 euros for the family room. This was fairly steep but not unusual for Kilkenny in peak season. I must compliment the bar staff in Langtons as well. The service was top class and they reassured us that stags in Kilkenny were always welcome despite the poor press. So much for bars closing at 1.30am all over Kilkenny. I fell out of the residents bar at 4.30am !!!!!

Overall, I would never stay anywhere else in Kilkenny than Langtons. It is very central and the staff are always very friendly.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and location. Quality of rooms and restaurant
  • Disliked — Very expensive for one night in a twin room !
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurstYourBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2007

I was part of a group of (quiet!) girls that went to Kilkenny for a weekend. We arrived in groups of two-three. From the second we walked in we were treated quite rudely. The receptionist ignored us, then told us to sit down and wait, then served a couple that came in after us, after we asked another girl could she check us in the original receptionist was told to serve us. She then demanded we pay upfront, and although the money had already been paid by another person who had arrived earlier she wouldn't let us check in unless a credit card was swiped. The hotel had no record of my name being booked in - it was mixed up with another girls surname.

We only booked this place because we would have free access to the nightclub - they were aware of this when we booked, but then once she gave us our free passes she took them back saying it wasn't open that night due to a wedding. A wedding they would have known about months in advance! When my friend said "oh that's a pity you didn't tell us earlier as we were to meet people here, is there anywhere else you'd recommend in town?" the receptionist snorted. We were given wrong directions to our room, a guy hauling kegs came to our rescue and showed us the secret panel we had to press, in a different corridor to the one we'd been told to go to.

Once up the stairs with no lift, we discovered we had been given more than one wrong key. We'd gone into someone elses room.

When we met up with some of the others they too had similar difficulties with the receptionist, one girl was quite upset.

The rooms were overpriced for what we got. 5 to a room in one case. Shower not working in another. The furniture was cheap, and worn.

Food would have been nice, if we hadn't been rushed through it to make way for diners coming in after us.

Trying to get back in to the hotel that night took quite a while, as the night porter had gone off his post. Two of us complained to an unfortunate waiter, who at least had the manners to listen to us. One very nice man brought tea for our group and let us into the residents bar, even though we had been told we couldn't go there as we weren't part of the wedding group.

I have family in the area and so know Kilkenny quite well. This is an establishment that knows it has a well known name and therefore feels as if it can treat customers like pieces of meat, as there'll always be the next group queuing up at the door. There are plenty of nice, classy places in the area that don't charge an arm and a leg for substandard service.

A letter of complaint, with more complaints then those written above, was ignored by the manager.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank pinkflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2007

Spent a perfect NYE weekend at the Langtons. We found it to be an excellent hotel in terms of comfort, decor and location. The staff were incredibly friendly and always smiling. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Service & Decor
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank janetmiyasaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,861 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langton House Hotel

Property: Langton House Hotel
Address: 69 John Street Lower, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Langton House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel located in the heart of Kilkenny.Langton House Hotel Kilkenny boasts 30 premium standard suites. Incorporating our Penthouse suites, Superior Garden Suites, Executive Rooms and Triple Suites. Langtons Hotel Kilkenny, Langtons Restaurant Kilkenny and Langtons Pubs Kilkenny have won numerous awards including the Black & White Pub of the Year (Four Times), the Black & White Super Pub of the Year and the National Bar Food awards to mention but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Langton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langton Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing