We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langton House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Langton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed there last night for a wedding. Absolutely amazing from start to finish. Hotel spotless even though its vast! Parking plentiful and free. loads of places to eat. The wedding meal was delicious and the wedding room gorgeous. Even though there's conservatory and lots of glass windows place was lovely and warm. Service was brilliant throughout the meal, very friendly staff. My only complaint was we were staying in the "garden suites" which involve a walk outdoors from main hotel to the room. Although well lit I wouldn't fancy doing it on my own at night. If there is one thing that would make hotel perfect it would be to have an indoor walkway to this part of the hotel. Apart from this I couldn't fault a single thing about the hotel or wedding. Brilliant idea where the serve the "afters" food and have never seen pork served like that (pig on display!) but it was the most delicious pork have ever tasted! Breakfast had wide variety of choice. Bed was soooooo comfortable, room spacious. All in all was the best wedding I was ever at, thanks in huge part to the hotel. Just build that walkway!!

Room Tip: ask to stay in main complex not garden suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWEI12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    161
    60
    18
    13
See reviews for
135
351
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Pole
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for just one night and it was wonderful. We paid 110 euros for a double room, 3-course dinner and full breakfast, which was just an unbelievable rate for such a good place. The lobby and restaurant area are lovely, and while the place feels a little old-fashioned in spots, it is clean and pleasant.

Our room was nice, but a little dusty. It was very clean, however, and the beds were comfortable.

We will absolutely return to Kilkenny one day (gorgeous town!) and will definitely stay and dine at the Langtons.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank voyageuse_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, dc
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Recently stayed here after reading review on Trip Advisor. Was not disappointed. Lots of character at the hotel with a great locations. Was given a suite without request and was delighted to find a large, spacious rooms with a jacuzzi tub. Restaurant was equally impressive, one of the finest in the lovely city of Kilkenny. And the pub within the hotel was a great traditional Irish pub.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 10 to see if its available - you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rone75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
276 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for two nights in late September 2012, and found the hotel fantastic - staff extremely efficient and friendly, room fabulous (especially the Jacuzzi Bath) food outstanding. The afternoon tea has to be experienced to be believed

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Jacuzzi Bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with two old friends for the week. It was wonderful! We arrived much too early for room occupancy..but no trouble..our luggage was taken and we were provided with complimentary tea and biscuits in the Tea Rooms. From start to finish the staff were outstanding - welcoming, friendly, helpful and efficient. In fact, I think they were the best staff I met anywhere, ever. When the accommodation was ready, our luggage was place there for us while we were still 'scoffing' the tea. The Owner, Eamonn, a very pleasant gentleman, also saw to it that we were comfortable and well looked-after and had cab(s) called for us as necessary. Personal care and attention was important at Langton's.

Langton House is an old building and the bedroom windows (front of house) are rather small, and even though the bedroom had three windows, it was a little dark and the decor was on the dark side also. There were plenty of lights and lamps provided if one preferred it brighter. We were top-of-house and no lift, but no noise either!

The food was superb - nicely presented and plentiful. The Breakfast Menu alone fills the whole of an A4 page...Steak, Salmon etc. etc. and beautifully cooked, and even included a vegetarian option. Dinner was also delicious. The hotel was quite busy and, apart from the residents, seems to be frequented by locals for meals (always a good sign) and I can indeed heartily recommend the Langton food. It is no wonder that there were Group Dinner Bookings by Golf and GAA Associations in evidence during our stay. There were Black & Amber flags festooning the hotel facade and it looks like that there is a bit of HURLING fever in the air now that September is under way!!

I can concur with a previous Reviewer who praised the Scones...Yes, Yes, Yes...and they are available even for Breakfast, together with the delicious Brown Bread. I even bought some of the brown bread to bring home, Euro2.50 per loaf, just ask at Reception shortly before you are due to check out.

Yes, I shall go back to Langton's when I can; one of the staff even said "Please come back to us again!"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judyjoycethejoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Have to say gone to Kilkenny many many times over the years and this time decided to try Langtons, what a disappointment. Place grat location, but a feel of always dirty yet great decor, and as for the food all I can say is never again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Holiday28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Even though we live in England we arranged to celebrate my husbands 60th Birthday with 17 family and friends at Langtons. We have visited Kilkenny many times over the years and always made a point of having at least one meal here. From start to finish the whole event was fantastic. We had a private party in the conservatory which looked wonderful then a bar to ourselves afterwards. The rest of the place was very busy with many other celebrations taking place but the prompt service we received throughout the evening was nothing short of amazing.
A very special thanks must go to Collette and Adele who made sure our special night was one we will remember for a very long time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langton House Hotel

Property: Langton House Hotel
Address: 69 John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Langton House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel located in the heart of Kilkenny.Langton House Hotel Kilkenny boasts 30 premium standard suites. Incorporating our Penthouse suites, Superior Garden Suites, Executive Rooms and Triple Suites. Langtons Hotel Kilkenny, Langtons Restaurant Kilkenny and Langtons Pubs Kilkenny have won numerous awards including the Black & White Pub of the Year (Four Times), the Black & White Super Pub of the Year and the National Bar Food awards to mention but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Langton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langton Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing