We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Langton House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Pembroke Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
$216
$210
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newpark Hotel(Kilkenny)
$258
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilkenny Inn Hotel(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
$183
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$296
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyrath Estate(Kilkenny)
$260
$240
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Butler House(Kilkenny)
$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilford Arms Hotel(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
$154
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (862)
Filter reviews
862 results
Traveler rating
554
191
75
26
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
554
191
75
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suiteset theatrebrown bread ice creamjohn streettea roomno liftthe penthousemain buildingwedding mealmain barfrom start to finishtop classhuge bedfabulous hotelwedding receptioncar parknext morning
Filter
Updating list...
666 - 671 of 862 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Recently stayed here after reading review on Trip Advisor. Was not disappointed. Lots of character at the hotel with a great locations. Was given a suite without request and was delighted to find a large, spacious rooms with a jacuzzi tub. Restaurant was equally impressive, one of the finest in the lovely city of Kilkenny. And the pub within the hotel was a great traditional Irish pub.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 10 to see if its available - you won't regret it!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rone75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for two nights in late September 2012, and found the hotel fantastic - staff extremely efficient and friendly, room fabulous (especially the Jacuzzi Bath) food outstanding. The afternoon tea has to be experienced to be believed

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Jacuzzi Bath
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mags M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with two old friends for the week. It was wonderful! We arrived much too early for room occupancy..but no trouble..our luggage was taken and we were provided with complimentary tea and biscuits in the Tea Rooms. From start to finish the staff were outstanding - welcoming, friendly, helpful and efficient. In fact, I think they were the best staff I met anywhere, ever. When the accommodation was ready, our luggage was place there for us while we were still 'scoffing' the tea. The Owner, Eamonn, a very pleasant gentleman, also saw to it that we were comfortable and well looked-after and had cab(s) called for us as necessary. Personal care and attention was important at Langton's.

Langton House is an old building and the bedroom windows (front of house) are rather small, and even though the bedroom had three windows, it was a little dark and the decor was on the dark side also. There were plenty of lights and lamps provided if one preferred it brighter. We were top-of-house and no lift, but no noise either!

The food was superb - nicely presented and plentiful. The Breakfast Menu alone fills the whole of an A4 page...Steak, Salmon etc. etc. and beautifully cooked, and even included a vegetarian option. Dinner was also delicious. The hotel was quite busy and, apart from the residents, seems to be frequented by locals for meals (always a good sign) and I can indeed heartily recommend the Langton food. It is no wonder that there were Group Dinner Bookings by Golf and GAA Associations in evidence during our stay. There were Black & Amber flags festooning the hotel facade and it looks like that there is a bit of HURLING fever in the air now that September is under way!!

I can concur with a previous Reviewer who praised the Scones...Yes, Yes, Yes...and they are available even for Breakfast, together with the delicious Brown Bread. I even bought some of the brown bread to bring home, Euro2.50 per loaf, just ask at Reception shortly before you are due to check out.

Yes, I shall go back to Langton's when I can; one of the staff even said "Please come back to us again!"

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyjoycethejoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Have to say gone to Kilkenny many many times over the years and this time decided to try Langtons, what a disappointment. Place grat location, but a feel of always dirty yet great decor, and as for the food all I can say is never again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
6  Thank Holiday28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Even though we live in England we arranged to celebrate my husbands 60th Birthday with 17 family and friends at Langtons. We have visited Kilkenny many times over the years and always made a point of having at least one meal here. From start to finish the whole event was fantastic. We had a private party in the conservatory which looked wonderful then a bar to ourselves afterwards. The rest of the place was very busy with many other celebrations taking place but the prompt service we received throughout the evening was nothing short of amazing.
A very special thanks must go to Collette and Adele who made sure our special night was one we will remember for a very long time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews