We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a look”

St. Canice's Cathedral & Round Tower
Ranked #3 of 75 things to do in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: St Canice’s Cathedral and Round Tower are an essential part of the structural heritage in the vibrant medieval city of Kilkenny. This ecclesiastical site was founded in the 6th century and named after St Canice. Cill Channigh is the Gaelic for the Church of Canice, the church that originally stood on the site in the 6th century.The Round Tower is the oldest standing structure in Kilkenny City. Tourists can enjoy climbing the Round Tower capturing great views of the city (weather permitting). St Canice’s Round Tower is one of only two Round Towers that people can climb in Ireland. Opening times from 29/11/2011 to 23/11/2011. Monday to Saturday 10am to 1pm & 2pm to 4pm. Sunday 2pm to 4pm. Round Tower Climb Time at 12 noon and 3pm Monday to Saturday and Sunday 3pm. Weather and staff permitting. Admission fee applies for visit into Cathedral and Round Tower. From 24/12/2011 to 02/01/2012 the Cathedral and Round Tower is closed for visiting. PLease check our website for services during the Christmas period.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We didn't get to go inside (we arrived right at lunch time) but the outside of the church was beautiful and worth the walk from Kilkenny Castle. Easy walk through town. Check it out!

Thank roobrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

901 - 905 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

I recently visited St.Canice's with my girlfriend and we both really enjoyed the experience. The staff were lovely and the information pack very informative. Climbing the round tower is not for those with vertigo (or for those wearing high heals!) and my girlfriend was a little nervous during the ascent and descent, but the views from the top of this 30m tower made it worthwhile. The cathedral itself is full of local history and a must visit for anyone interested in such matters. I would recommend any visitor to Kilkenny to take the 10 minute walk to St.Canices.

Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are claustrophic, you might find the climb to tight and disconcerting, but we found it to be well worth the climb. We were the first to arrive that morning and the friendly staff handed us the key to unlock the tower door. The tower can not accommodate a lot of people, so we were happy to be the only ones at the time of our climb. Great photo opportunities at the top of the tower! The cathedral tour is self-guided. There are bigger and more ornate cathedrals, but the relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff make this a worthwhile stop in Kilkenny.

1  Thank Liz33_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I were just walking through town when we found this cathedral. At first we were just going to take some photos, but someone told us to go up in the tower as it was actually open. We are so glad we did. I don't remember the exact cost, but it wasn't very much. The cathedral is beautiful inside. The tower is 7 flights of ladders to get up - Make sure you don't have to carry anything up there!! The views are just breathtaking!!! You can see all of Kilkenny and the countryside around it. I recommend this to anyone!

1  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Such a beautiful cathedral, right in the heart of Kilkenny . The staff were so friendly and on the grounds there is a lovely cafe. Well worth a visit.

1  Thank walsh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Canice's Cathedral & Round Tower also viewed

 
Thomastown, Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to St. Canice's Cathedral & Round Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing