We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little museum bursting with history”

Rothe House and Garden
Ranked #14 of 78 things to do in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A magnificent 17th century Irish merchant's townhouse & garden in the centre of Kilkenny city, open as a museum, garden, genealogy centre, book and gift shop. We open throughout the year: seven days a week in summer, six in winter.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This little museum has so much history. It is definitely worth a visit if you are in Kilkenny city. It has so much history. Give yourself an hour to do the tour. Bring a camera too. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

Thank SaoirseKilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotheHouse, Manager at Rothe House and Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear SaoirseKilkenny

Thank you very much for your kind words about us. We encourage everyone to take photographs so that they can take a little bit of Rothe House & Garden away with them.

Kind regards

Roisin McQuillan
CEO
Rothe House & Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"interesting house"
in 10 reviews
"medieval garden"
in 4 reviews
"century house"
in 4 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 32 reviews
"wealthy merchant"
in 5 reviews
"large garden"
in 5 reviews
"medieval life"
in 4 reviews
"fruit trees"
in 6 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 25 reviews
"wonderful garden"
in 4 reviews
"parliament street"
in 5 reviews
"entry fee"
in 5 reviews
"hidden gem"
in 8 reviews
"own pace"
in 7 reviews
"step back in time"
in 4 reviews
"interesting history"
in 6 reviews
"kilkenny city"
in 6 reviews
Filter

303 - 307 of 388 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Rothe House on Parliament Street was home to a powerful family of Kilkenny merchants of the 17th century. The family, as did many of that time, felt the wrath of Oliver Cromwell about 1650, when their land, property and possessions were seized and they were shipped off to Connaught.
The house was built between 1594 and 1610 and comprises three houses, linked by three enclosed courtyards plus a large reconstructed garden and orchard. The owners, the Kilkenny Archaeological Society displays its extensive collection of artefacts throughout the buildings, informing and adding atmosphere. The self guided tour wends its way through the various buildings and takes about an hour, ‘though you set your own pace.
The shop, through which you enter and exit the House has a large collection of books and has computerised facilities to look up your ancestry.
My only regret is that, a local watercolour artist has created an excellent series of watercolours depicting life in the house during the 1600’s. These are featured throughout the house, but cannot be purchased at the shop.
If you are in Kilkenny, make sure to include a trip to Rothe House.

Thank JoeFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotheHouse, Manager at Rothe House and Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear JoeFrancis

Thank you for your generous and kind words about Rothe House & Garden, particularly about the Roger O'Reilly artwork. We are indeed working on a set of postcards / booklet using these fascinating drawings, and plan to include them in our retail offering for later this year.

Kind regards

Roisin McQuillan
CEO
Rothe House & Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Rothe House is not one of those grand country houses, nor is it a slick and spectacular museum. Instead, it is an unobstentatious, vey well preserved glance into 16th Century urban Ireland. The tour is self-guided, and there is much more than meets the eye from the street. This is a series of three houses connected by courtyards, and one of the most beautiful gardens/orchards I have had the pleasure of seeing, going all the way back to the medieval city wall. Rotherham House was a real treat!

1  Thank ajnbux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

we were the only people there when we visited. The garden is really lovely and the staff are friendly and knowledgable

1  Thank joew24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This woman in the front shop was very nice. After that it was downhill. This place is pretty boring. They had empty rooms and other rooms full of old rocks. I love historical buildigns but this place wasnt worth the time.

Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotheHouse, Manager at Rothe House and Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Chris b - Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit to Rothe House & Garden, and I am truly sorry that you did not feel you had a good experience.

It's great that you felt that our Receptionist was 'very nice', as we work hard on our Customer Service approach. However, it's very disappointing to read that you felt a visit to us is not worth it.

We are a not for profit organisation, working very hard to conserve and sustain a unique site in Ireland, and we are in fact about to complete our Conservation project which we have been working on for the past number of years. This will see the installation of a new exhibition design which will tell the story of the development of the house and the family who lived here 400 years ago. There will also be a new café and gift shop.

We will do our very best to improve our offering over the coming months so that other visitors who read your review will not have the same experience.

Once again, thank you very much for visiting us.

Kind regards

Roisin McQuillan
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rothe House and Garden also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Rothe House and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing