We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't pass this up”

Rothe House and Garden
Ranked #9 of 72 things to do in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A magnificent 17th century Irish merchant's townhouse & garden in the centre of Kilkenny city, open as a museum, garden, genealogy centre, book and gift shop. We open throughout the year: seven days a week in summer, six in winter.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't pass this up”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Rothe House is not one of those grand country houses, nor is it a slick and spectacular museum. Instead, it is an unobstentatious, vey well preserved glance into 16th Century urban Ireland. The tour is self-guided, and there is much more than meets the eye from the street. This is a series of three houses connected by courtyards, and one of the most beautiful gardens/orchards I have had the pleasure of seeing, going all the way back to the medieval city wall. Rotherham House was a real treat!

Helpful?
1 Thank ajnbux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    112
    58
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“undiscovered gem”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

we were the only people there when we visited. The garden is really lovely and the staff are friendly and knowledgable

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joew24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Probably Not Worth It”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This woman in the front shop was very nice. After that it was downhill. This place is pretty boring. They had empty rooms and other rooms full of old rocks. I love historical buildigns but this place wasnt worth the time.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotheHouse, Manager at Rothe House and Garden, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Chris b - Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit to Rothe House & Garden, and I am truly sorry that you did not feel you had a good experience.

It's great that you felt that our Receptionist was 'very nice', as we work hard on our Customer Service approach. However, it's very disappointing to read that you felt a visit to us is not worth it.

We are a not for profit organisation, working very hard to conserve and sustain a unique site in Ireland, and we are in fact about to complete our Conservation project which we have been working on for the past number of years. This will see the installation of a new exhibition design which will tell the story of the development of the house and the family who lived here 400 years ago. There will also be a new café and gift shop.

We will do our very best to improve our offering over the coming months so that other visitors who read your review will not have the same experience.

Once again, thank you very much for visiting us.

Kind regards

Roisin McQuillan
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“interesting site but potential wasted....”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Historic medieval houses aren't that common in Ireland so it's worth the 5euro just to see one standing. The main halls, court yards and gardens are interesting. But the rest is quaint to say the least. The main exhibits have no signage at all while random directional notices abound. The 'self guided' tour is an a4 laminated info sheet. So much more could be told of the history of the house and its previous inhabitants... An audio guide would be great..some clever investment could make this house one of the most interesting sites in Ireland...

Helpful?
Thank laobhaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotheHouse, Manager at Rothe House and Garden, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Laobhaise, Thank you for taking the time to review Rothe House & Garden on your recent visit. I am sorry that you did not feel you had a worthwhile visit, but you are correct in saying we have not yet reached our true potential.

This is, in fact, happening this summer as we install a new café on the site. This will be followed by a major conservation project which will see a new exhibition display opening in January 2014 which will indeed tell the story of the development of the house and its inhabitants.

Rothe House & Garden is operated on a not for profit basis, and run for the most part on a voluntary basis. However, this very ambitious programme of works will result in a whole new visitor experience, and so we hope that you will return to us next year to see what we have done.

Kind regards

Roisin McQuillan
Chief Executive Officer
Rothe House & Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A lot done, more to do”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Rothe House itself is a rare gem - a medieval house that is completely intact. The recently renovated garden is a wonderful addition. However, many of the items in the house are not relevant to the history of the house. And the absence of a historic narrative to engage visitors is seriously lacking. Hopefully there will be some fundraising to enable further investment in the story and an enriched visitor experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank clontarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotheHouse, Manager at Rothe House and Garden, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hello, and thank you for your review of Rothe House & Garden. You have hit the nail on the head with your heading in fact - so much work has been done but we still have so much more to do. Our Renaissance Project will be undertaken this year where we are installing a new exhibition display to provide the historical narrative you felt was missing on your visit. We are upgrading the buildings, in a sensitive manner and always with Conservation as our main objective. And we will be providing a café and retail space. I really hope that you will revisit later on this year, or next year, and see the improvements which we are making.

Thanks again for your review, and the very positive comments you made. All comments are appreciated, and taken on board in a constructive manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rothe House and Garden also viewed

 

Been to Rothe House and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing