We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We apparently don't understand "modern art"”
Review of Butler Gallery

Butler Gallery
Timrat, Emek Izrael, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We apparently don't understand "modern art"”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

It was in the bottom of the castle, which was ok, in itself....
We didn't really understand or care for the Butler Gallery's works... Can't remember by who... I guess it's really a matter of hit or miss, here...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoniBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gwangju, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“contemporary art within the castle”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Don't confuse this Butler Gallery with The Long Gallery of historic painting which is part of the castle's tour route. The Butler Gallery is free and showcases contemporary work.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonakilty, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

There was an art & craft exhibition on in the Butler Gallery when we went to visit it during Arts Week. The garden in front of the house is definitely worth a visit. Beautifully maintained and an oasis of tranquility, you could sit and read here or just relax and have your packed lunch. There was some seating around the garden. The house itself was really nice and the art work was enjoyable. Pleasant experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mgt147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stumbled upon this contemporary art gallery situated below the castle on a recent visit to Kilkenny Castle. We happened to follow a few people from our tour who mentioned that there was a new exhibition featuring rarely seen pieces from the gallery's collection. I really enjoyed the exhibition and saw the gallery itself as a nice addition to the castle experience. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dublin247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Arty”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This is always worth a visit you never know what you'll come accross. A real mind opener.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank PLUNKETTMURPHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butler Gallery also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Butler Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing