We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Grove Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Penang
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice Site”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

When we arrived there was no one at reception just a sign saying to choose a pitch. We managed to get a hard standing pitch on the lower level. We didn't have any problem with road noise. There is a mixture of hard standing and grass pitches. Our pitch was fairly level. Each pitch had power and water but you could not hook up to the water. Still it was nice to be close to water. The owner Dan came round later to see if we were OK and gave us a map of the area. The showers were clean and free and plenty of hot water. There was a common room but we didn't use it. We couldn't get satellite TV but phone and internet was fine. We did see others with satellite TV so maybe it was just our pitch. There is free WIFI on the site but we couldn't log in from our pitch

It is a 25 minute walk into Kilkenny. The town is very pretty with lots of shops and pubs. There are no pubs close to the site. However, there are loads of taxi's around and they charge 6 euro one way. We went to 2 pubs in town. The Left Bank is a really nice bar that serves meals as well. It is opposite the castle. We also went to the Kyteler's Inn. We had a fantastic night. There were a couple of Irish Musicians on that played lots of sing a long songs but also played different instruments. It was really busy but was a great atmosphere. Would recommend it.

We visited Kilkenny Castle. They have 1 free entry day a month and we were lucky that we went on the free day.

We went to Waterford but, other than the Waterford Crystal showroom, it was pretty ordinary.

We went to the Rock of Cashel and Hore Abbey. They were worth visiting and next to each other.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and felt it was good value.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank collipm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    33
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
57
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This was my first experience camping and I have to say, I loved it.
Showers and toilets were clean, and there was a kitchen facility (with three sinks, a kettle and a fridge) that was a great addition, where we could happily wash the dishes and keep our milk and stuff from spoiling. There were sheltered picnic benches where we barbecued when it rained for a couple of hours one evening. There was even a TV room with a pool table, (basic but didn't expect much at all!).
We were there as a foursome, (two couples). We did appreciate the lack of big groups too. We had a campfire, some music and a drinks each night, so they still allow fun (I know some campsites can be strict) but we kept ourselves to ourselves and were conscious of noise affecting the other campers.
It's about a 20- 30 min walk to the town. I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LydiaEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We went camping through Ireland and this was the best camp we stayed at. Actually the only camp with free, working, hot-water, clean showers. The place was quite empty because it was the middle of september so it was easy to find a perfect place for our tent. It was not expensive and just a 15minute walk from the town center so also perfect for sightseeing and a night out. Very clean, the owner really friendly, all in all no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I stayed here twice in 2011 and had a good time. The site was very busy one of the times and there was a great atmosphere on site. I would definitely go back for a visit. The owner was very nice and helpful. I was in a field on my own at the top because the rest of the site was full and he called up a few times to see was i alright so roll on to the 2012 camping season.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elddis21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Lovely site, perfect for an over night stay in Kilkenny. Reasonably priced for August. All facilities clean and pleasant ! Owner is lovely and also very helpful. Not a bad walk into Kilkenny city either! Perfect place for couples :) Will definitely go back to this camp site!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maybelle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Had a brilliant time campsite was amazing with horses to greet you amenities were good we stayed for 2 weeks and really enjoyed it and would go again.owner very friendly and helpful even showed me how to play hurling which i am interested in.was a nice 25 minute walk into kilkenny town centre which is about the right distance to walk.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joesuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed for two nights and the place was OK even if it was pretty basic for the price we had to pay.
We chose a location on the flat area in front of the toilet block (in the furthest away corner). What we didn't realise was that this was right next to the busy highway just over the fence. We never slept for the two nights we were there, because the racket caused by the rumbling trucks and noisy motorcycles just never ended

What really p**sed us off was that the owner, who seemed to be a very nice guy met us when we arrived, and could have given us a 'heads up' to pitch our tent somewhere else as the site was not busy while we were there and there was plenty space in quiter areas.

I tried to locate him before we left to make this point by failed to find him.So here I am on TripAdviser to tip off future campers :- Get your bearings before you pitch your tent and don't go anywhere near the bottom fence in the camping area in front of the toilet block if you need 8 hours sleep..

This might seem to be a petty complaint but we were shattered mentally as we drove out the gate.

Apart from this, everything else was satisfactory. Level pitches,clean toilet/showers, good facilities and about 30 mins walk from Kilkenny city centre (5 mins if you've got transport) and would generally recommend the place if you're not very fussy and just need a place to stay near the town for a couple of days.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank murmount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,894 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,861 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Grove Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Grove Camping Park

Property: Tree Grove Camping Park
Address: Danville House | Danville, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Kilkenny
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Tree Grove Camping Park Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing