We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropole hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metropole hotel
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had a great stay at the metropole. As a rennovated hotel, it has a bit of character, and the friendly staff was definitely a highlight, which really matters when you're travelling solo. They're happy to make recommendations on which pubs to go to (and which to avoid!). Regular backpackers might find that typical hostel features- like a common kitchen- are absent, but the free towels were much appreciated, since I'm usually too stingy on luggage space to pack my own. Oh, and a delicious Irish stew at the bar is always a plus!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    19
    7
    17
    45
See reviews for
3
25
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed in the Metropole with some friends.Rooms were spotless and the beds very comfortable!..The two lads working the bar were very frindly and we had great craic in the Metrople.The food was excellent and considering the price it really was the best value stay I think I have ever had!
I would definitley recommend the Metropole to family and friends.
Ger b.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slippy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Slippy, thanks for taking the time to write a review about the Metropole. We are glad you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you and your friends again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed last week.It ticks all the boxes.Ceartan and his staff are very friendly and very willing to make your trip a pleasant 1.The bed was comfy and clean linen and towels and free flowing hot water.I can recommend the strognoff and the baileys cheesecake downstairs in the bar and the craic was good to. I traveled alone and found it safe and secure.Rates are fantastic and girls i highly recommend the location,you step out the door and shops are all around you.I'll definitely be back with a gang of girls,take over the girls only dorm and spend the extra cash in the shops and not having to walk far with the bags.Thanks ,great spot highly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Angie, We are really glad you had such a great craig at the Metropole . come back soon and bring your friends...the shops really are great. thanks for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location. Really clean rooms. Beds are really comfortable. Food was top notch. The 2 lads behind the bar were fantastic hosts, very friendly and laid back. Extremely reasonable rates. Perfect place to stay when visiting Kilkennny. Will definitely be back, and will recommend the Metropole to all my family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear John C. thanks for taking time to review The Metropole. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killaha, Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in January as part of a birthday bash. Could not fault the place. From the moment we checked in, Mike & Cartan looked after each of us and were amazing to deal with. The rooms were clean and spacious and bar just downstairs served a lovely selection of food in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere.
The birthday girl has a great weekend and had nothing but great words for all the staff and accommodation. Made it a stress free break for us all and will definitely be recommending it in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sile R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Sile R...thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare, Kerry, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

stayed for a weekend for a friends birthday bash. mighty craic, no panic, all very chilled out. rooms are some of the best hostel rooms ive stayed in. really clean, and an epic shower! bar just down stairs, food, right in the middle of the town, good price, mike and Ceartan are cool, hip and with it!sure what else could you want?!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinead P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are glad you had a good time and we looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munster
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed with a group of friends(22 of us) and each one of us have nothing but compliments to give about this property, some have even pre booked for summer events already.

Before i even arrived Ceartan the co-owner had been in contact with me to introduce himself and make sure i had the relevent information about parking etc.

On arrival we were met by 2 very helpful and friendly gentlemen, Ceartan and Mike. It was a pleasure and from the moment we walked in the door nothing was a problem i.e extra towels, extra toilet roll etc.

Once checked in and given our codes we checked the rooms out. From the doubles to the dorms they were all spotless. Very spacious, comfy beds, clean linen and powerful showers. I cannot fault the standards this place has.

We went back downstairs to the bar where food is served. A nice, warm friendly Irish atmosphere and good pub grub. It's very central so it's only a short stroll to the shops and other bars. Matt the Millers is a great spot for abit of good music and The marble arch cafe just down the alley from the Metropole probably has the best full irish ive ever had.

All in all a perfect stay in The Metropole and def will book the next time i'm in Kilkenny.

Thank you for extending our stay without any problems and best of luck with your new venture Ceartan, Mike and Sarah, i have no doubt it will be a massive success and i'll be sending people your way :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelMunster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks for your lovely comments and we all look forward to your return visit. thanks for spreading the word!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole hotel

Property: Metropole hotel
Address: High Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropole hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new management. The Metropole hotel in Kilkenny is a B&B and backpackers hostel with accommodation ranging from private twins and doubles to dorms sleeping 8, including a female only dorm. All rooms have en suite facilities and we provide fresh linen and towels and a free continental breakfast each morning. We serve great traditional Irish and International food in our bar, which also features live music 5 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Metropole hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing