We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“can't beat the location, cheap rooms and fantastic staff”
Review of Metropole hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metropole hotel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“can't beat the location, cheap rooms and fantastic staff”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

booked the metropole with some friends as we were on a serious budget. I was not expecting much but the rooms were very clean and comfortable with ensuite. Staff were so friendly to us and the location was fantastic, couldn't ask for better. The bar served really tasty food and was very reasonable. For that price I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geminifunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again next time you come to Kilkenny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    19
    7
    17
    45
See reviews for
3
25
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I recently accompanied some younger friends to Kilkenny. This city has obviously decided to declare itself a recession free zone and continues on with life as we once knew it. We stayed in the Metropole hotel in James Street-right smack in the middle of town. This hotel has recently been taken over by new management who have converted the hotel into a more budget type hostel with private rooms and dormer type rooms available and all en-suite. Very clean and very, very, reasonably priced. Really suited our party of six and I imagine it would be fantastic for back packers or visitors not wishing to spend an arm and a leg on accommodation. Theres a bonus-downstairs there is a lovely old world pub with great music and to top it off you can get very tasty home style food,once again at a very reasonable price. All in all a gem of a find for anyone visiting Kilkenny for the entertainment and the "Craic".Will be back and a sincere thank you to the professional management and staff who helped make our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deciesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
- we look forward to welcoming you back! Glad you had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

When I was told we were staying in a budget hotel and backpackers I was not overly hyped. However for 20 euro a night I said I`d give it a go. We were very well greeted on our arrival and were told that fresh linen & towel would be waiting for us in our room. I was very impressed with the room, clean, fresh and airy, the ensuite was grand and the shower hot.It was the hospitality that we were given for our two day stay that really impressed me. The staff could not do enough for us, tourist sites, directions, bar service, suggestions for pub music etc. They had great live music while we were there as well,and as a staying guest we got a late bar! Well done to all in the Metropole - we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chief100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here with a few girlfriends. Accommodation is simple but comfortable, we had an en suite room and crisp clean sheets. I believe it's just been refurbished. Great bar food and atmosphere in the bar is great. We will be back. Kilkenny great fun and a great alternative to Dublin which we have visited so many times now!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carriexoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hi, glad you and your friends had fun - spread the word! We will continue with great music and tasty food and drink!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Us and another couple stayed last weekend and got really cheap beds in the middle of town. The guy said they had only just opened the bedrooms and that he took the place over a few months ago. The rooms were clean and functional and the beds seemed brand new. Food in the bar was tasty and pretty cheap compared to a couple of other places round the centre. Music was on in the bar both nights and we drank there on the Saturday night and had a sing song and even a little dance, a good craic night alround with a good mix of tourists and locals.

Room Tip: Room on corner has windows and 2 streets with town views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samechanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thanks for the lovely review. Yes we took it over recently, and we are really pleased with your response. Hope to see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed here last week,this beautiful hotel is under new ownership and has received a complete makeover.The bar was great fun with John on guitar providing the" toons "They do great bar food.My wife and I stayed in a very comfortable room at only 40e. a room or 20e.single.
We did'nt have breakfast at 6.50e .
We had a super time in Kilkenny and this hotel is slam bam in the town certre.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deebeeKilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyMW, Public Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest
Thanks for your review and for noticing the changes! We took over the Metropole hotel in June and have already undertaken vast improvements, with far more planned. Watch this space for news or check out our new website . We look forward to seeing you again at the Metropole Kilkenny.
Nicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

a large group of girls booked in here for a hen party, all of the young girls stayed here but i promptly booked myself into the kilkenny ormonde hotel this place was filthy, smelly, disgusting some of the girls had bed bug bites on their legs!!! and he had the cheek to charge €50 per person per night some rooms had 4 beds in there - all i can say is run away kicking and screaming - i would rather sleep in my car !

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kilkenny hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole hotel

Property: Metropole hotel
Address: High Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropole hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new management. The Metropole hotel in Kilkenny is a B&B and backpackers hostel with accommodation ranging from private twins and doubles to dorms sleeping 8, including a female only dorm. All rooms have en suite facilities and we provide fresh linen and towels and a free continental breakfast each morning. We serve great traditional Irish and International food in our bar, which also features live music 5 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Metropole hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing