We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Room in Ireland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Room in Ireland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

Beautiful hotel cozily tucked into central Kilkenny, within easy walking distance of everything and just a stone's throw from Kilkenny Castle. These were the best rooms we had during our 7 day stay in Ireland, but this hotel was also the most impersonal. Great Irish breakfast buffet every morning. Good off-season rates.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoeyeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    480
    178
    99
    50
See reviews for
314
692
30
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2009

This hotel is in a good location but lets itself down with the service.
On arrival there was no assistance in bringing in luggage in the pouring rain. Finding a car space can be problematic and there is also a 2 euro charge.

My room was nicely furnished but the bathroom was cramped and tired looking, with paint peeling from the ceiling. The hotel is pretty noisy with guests easily heard walking and talking in the corridors.

Breakffast is ok, noting too fanciful. Not a great selection of fruit for vegetarians.

On checkout I had a loyalty card which entitled me to forty euro off my bill. This loyalty card was built up from a previous visit to their sister hotel The Lyrath. The card can be used in either hotel.
I was told this could only be used against a bill from the main restaurant. I had eaten in Yindees which is on the grounds of the hotel and which is run by the Rivercourt. Yindees also provide stamps towards loyalty cards (as I observed in the restaurant) but was amazingly told that it did not apply to this restuarant as it had to be the restaurant in the main part of the hotel. I then queried this with the manager on duty and was then told that I should have produced the card after the meal the evening before and should have paid using it at the time rather than at checkout. After some deliberation the manager agreed that I could use it.

What is point of a loyalty card scheme if the customer has prove their rights to be able to use the card!

On checkout there was no query as to whether I enjoyed my stay or even a mention of welcoming the customer back in the future.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2009

My partner and I stayed at Kilkenny River Court Hotel earlier this month and overall we were pleased with our experience, the room itself was nice and clean, spacious and well decorated, however the room they put us in happened to be right next to the service elevator. As a result of this we were woken up early in the morning by the sound of the elevator screeching as it came up the shaft - if you find yourself in this room ask to change!

Breakfast was terrible.. fatty, tasteless, deepfired with soggy toast and horrible porridge. Would recommend going out for breakfast. The location was fantastic, within walking distance to everything. Despite these annoyances we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aus_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

I organised a three day break for a group of eleven female friends and availed of the Golden Years package. It was a great success.
The welcomes at reception were friendly and efficient and our rooms were all delightful, with views of Kilkenny Castle. The facilities and location of the hotel were very suitable for us as the city centre is within a short walk, there is a selection of golf clubs in the area and the hotel has a leisure centre with beauty treatments.
The quality of the food was wonderful and each meal was a pleasure.
We arrived on a Sunday and by doing so seemed to have missed any noise from entertainment on the Saturday - or weddings on the more popular days at the end of the week.. The small resident's lounge was perfect for a late night drink and chat.
A slight downside is the charge of €2 to exit the car park and the difficulty some time in finding a parking space.
Those of us with extra time available would have been very happy to stay on for an extra night but unfortunately for us the hotel was fully booked!
However, everyone on the break will be recommending the hotel to friends and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barcardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

These nicely appointed rooms were wonderful for a family use to staying at luxury hotels. They had several rooms with sleeping arrangements to accomodate families of five or more (twin beds and full beds). The rooms were comfortable, the en suite tea service and pant valet were nice perks, and you can't go wrong for the price. Best location in Kilkenny too!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MotorCityMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

We were there for five nights, including a weekend. On both Friday and Saturday there were Weddings which were VERY loud until about 2 in the morning. Management posted a notice about the potential for noise with the caveat that they would attempt to move you to a new room if you were bothered. However when asked, no rooms were available as the hotel was fully booked.

Our bathroom shower was pretty cramped, and the rooms were overheated, but the location was great. The breakfast was good although the hot offering did not change. The front desk staff was pretty harried, and not particularly friendly or helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allisonsnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

We had three days here with breakfast and dinner each day. We got a special deal for 'oldies' - It was good value and we enjoyed our stay. One of the receptionists could have been a bit more friendly but she was business-like. The dining room staff were great and our room was fine with a free upgrade to a room with river and castle view. The staff were from many countries and each wore a flag corresponding to their nationality - a nice touch we thought. The service was excellent. We enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FANDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Property: Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing