We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in a Deluxe room with lovely views to the castleG. I was disappointed not to have a balcony room and reception had this sorted within minutes and helped move our bags. Rooms are spacious and beds very comfortable. Breakfast good. We didn't have dinner in the hotel as there are some great restaurants withing walking distance and if you fancy being out a bit later plenty of pubs with music. Don't leave without visiting the Whiskey Bar across the road Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A deluxe room with balcony is well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    486
    184
    99
    51
See reviews for
319
711
31
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I first visited Ireland in the fall of 1980 while on our honeymoon. One of the biggest improvement since than are the roads (100% better). During our recent two week visit to Ireland we rented a car and drove to various cities and towns in the Southern half of Ireland and stayed in four highly rated hotels and by a significant margin we would rate our stay in Kilkenny at the Kilkenny River Court Hotel the highest for the following reasons:
1. The hotel facilities - My wife and I found the Kilkenny River Court Hotel provided us with a wonderful high quality experience that was full of warmth with great facilities that would satisfy most guest requirements. The guest rooms were large, warm, quite, and included comfortable beds, furnishings, with free Internet and TV that worked great. The hotel’s Riverside Restaurant provided elegant dining for both breakfast and dinner with great views of the River Nore and the Kilkenny Castle and the choice, quality and quantity of food was excellent. The hotel also includes an excellent living room area that is great for meeting with people, relaxing, or working on your computer. There are also many other facilities and services offered at this hotel. Parking for your car is available on site for a reasonable $5 eur/24 hours. While staying at this hotel you probably will not have to use your car because everything is within close walking distance.
2. The hotel staff - All of the staff at the Kilkenny River Court Hotel provided excellent service with great attitudes and went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The front desk staff and those who assisted us with our luggage were very pleasant, accommodating and competent. The dining room staff and especially our waitress, Michelle, were all excellent and the food was the highest quality (we read after we left this hotel that the Executive Head Chef, Gerard Dunne, has worked at this hotel for the past 6 years and prior to that he was the Executive Head Chef of the QE2. The managers at the Kilkenny River Court Hotel were also excellent and the two we met both went out of their way to ensure the hotel provided the highest quality service and experience possible. I had several discussions with Declan Moriarty, General Manager of this hotel and he was definitely the best manager of any of the hotels we stayed at in Ireland. Mr. Moriarty was intelligent and did everything he could to ensure his guests received the best experience possible at this hotel. He reminded me of the motto "the customer is always right" and he backed it up by his "can do" actions. People like Mr. Moriarty and his staff add tremendous value to the organization they work for.
3. The location of the Kilkenny River Court Hotel is perfect in the heart of one of the most beautiful and clean cities in Ireland along the River Nore with majestic views of the spectacular 12th Century Kilkenny Castle on the other side of the river. This hotel is located within short walking distances to all parts of the downtown area of Kilkenny including all shopping and entertainment establishments. We especially like the nearby large "Dunnes Store" that had a large variety of food and department store items and the large enclosed "Market Cross Shopping Centre" along with the many unique individual shops throughout the town. We also enjoyed “The Kyleler’s Inn” for traditional Irish entertainment and its fascinating history as one of the oldest pubs in Ireland.
During this trip we first stayed at the Kilkenny River Court Hotel on Sept. 19, 2013 and we loved Kilkenny and this Hotel so much that we returned the following week to stay again - this was not part of our original plan.
My wife and I were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed our wonderful experience in Kilkenny and at the Kilkenny River Court Hotel. We would definitely stay in this hotel again. V & P

Room Tip: Communicate accurately to the staff what you want and ask them to confirm it via email - this should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent a night here on our way from Dublin to Killarney and are glad we did. The hotel was very nice, clean and spacious. The location was the absolute best for being close to all the shops of pubs of downtown. Not to mention it had a great view and proximity to Kilkenny Castle. A full breakfast was included which is always a nice bonus and parking was very convenient, although there was a slight charge for it. All in all, a nice visit to this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room on the front of the hotel, the late night noise from the pub across the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Offaly, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Came here for a break away and all i can say is WOW. What a hotel! Staff very friendly and so helpful. Rooms were warm but we noticed a fan in the bedroom in case we needed it.. Had a 3 course meal and the food is fantastic in the resturant and at the bar! Breakfast was one of the best ive had in a hotel in a long time! Had a 30 minute massage which was so relaxing! Swimming pool and leisure facilities were great. Very clean also. Even Marcus the staff member at the leisure club was so helpful. Also Martin in the residence bar was more than happy to serve us drinks! Blankets at the smoking area door for us to use when going smoking as it was very cold outside.
Cant speak enough of this hotel it was just fantastic. Will most def be coming back again!

Room Tip: 2 person sharing room was very big and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinead L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here as part of a hen weekend on 18 October. the staff were brilliant, the rooms were stunning and the food was amazing!! I've nothing but praise for this hotel and I will definitely return in the very near future.

Room Tip: A triple room is big enough to sleep 4/5 people!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

A very good hotel, unless your room is over the kitchen or there is a wedding booked at the same time as you. Booked two nights for a family reunion, which included some twenty relations.
We should have realised, on entering the room, that a fan was switched on full blast. Of course we didn't, but neither my wife nor i slept all night because of the heat in the room (we are normally good sleepers). Early next morning, I contacted the duty manager, who did not appear at all surprised! We were advised by reception staff that there was a wedding party at the hotel on that day, but would be unlikely to affect us. We were offered an alternative room (without the fan on), which appeared to be cool and comfortable. The porter who took us to the new room, mentioned the wedding, but said that it would be at the other side of the hotel and would not be a problem for us. The final guest climbed into his taxi at 05.40 having shouted to his fellow guests for a few hours. We were credited with one night and offered a free night in the future, but it's a long way to Kilkenny..

Room Tip: Find out where the kitchen is and avoid wedding party weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0terryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Myself and Husband and 2 kids stayed at this hotel from 11th Oct for 2 nights. I have to say it is a really lovely hotel with really lovely very accommodating staff. We arrived early and our room was ready which was great for the husband as he has been in bad health and needed to rest a little. We got a lovely room and once in room we a waiter arrived with a Jug of Milk and some warm cookies for the kids. I thought this was a lovely gesture and the kids really loved it. The room we stayed in was very big with nice comfortable mattresses for us all. The bathroom was big my only cristicism would be it could be updated a little. Dinner in the hotel on the saturday night was really nice we really couldn't fault it even though they were busy they still managed to be courteous and polite. Breakfast was great especially when the manager came over with a basket of bread for the kids to feed the ducks outside we thought this was a lovely touch. As I said its the little things x All in all we had a really nice time the hotel is fabulous there is nothing at all I could fault. Everyone said hello each time we passed by and as I said for the little gestures I thought this was special. We definitely plan to go back soon. Thanks again for everything and special thank you to Gillian Pierce for all your help x

Room Tip: I only gave the children activities a rating of 2 there wasn't anything on for the kids and that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizCummins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Property: Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing