We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Popular Hotel!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wow! This was a popular hotel. We stayed only one night, a Saturday night but there were several events going on the same time: wedding, red hat gathering, large family reunion. Lots of people and lots of fun! As stated in other reviews, the hotel is located just across the river from the Kilkenny Castle and on one of the main shopping streets in Kilkenny. Central location was superb. The room was adequate. It faced the street and we could hear the street noises during the evening. We wanted heat but the system was not working well. Wi-fi worked well as did the rest of the facilities. Breakfast was a full Irish breakfast and delicious. An enjoyable stay and well worth returning if we are in Kilkenny again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffKol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Cliffkol,

Many thanks for your review of the Kilkenny River Court Hotel. We very much appreciate your complimentary comments regarding the hotel location and Breakfast. We are fortunate to have such a great location with the many attractions such as Kilkenny Castle, Rothe House & Smithwicks Bewery on our doorstep.

As you mentioned the Hotel was busy as is Kilkenny. Kilkenny is proud to host many national events such as the Rhythm & Roots Festival, Cats Laugh Festival to name a few which makes Kilkenny a great destination to visit

It is a shame the only slight disappointment from your visit had been a problem with the heat in your room something that I have addressed with our Maintenance Manager. We very sorry for any inconvenience caused and I hope this wouldn't deter you from coming to stay at Kilkenny River Court Hotel in the future.
Warmest Regards,
Declan Moriarty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    510
    203
    112
    53
See reviews for
341
762
31
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Had a great stay at the River Court. I went for the Cat Laughs Comedy Festival. It was a Bank Holiday W/E in Ireland. Room, Breakfasts and facilities were excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They had their own entertainment laid on for the W/E which did go on late but it was simply a case of joining in and not complaining:-) They has switched to plastic glasses for this particular W/E but a simple word to the barman produced proper glasses in the hotel bar so absolutely no problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Ron L,
It's a pleasure to read such lovely review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel over the Bank Holiday weekend, which is alwalys a great weekend here in Kilkenny.

I was particularly pleased to read how much you liked the food and how wonderful you found the service provided by my team. We do indeed have to use plastic glasses for a number of reasons but I am glad to see our staff use their discretion to accomodate you which is something we encourage.

We hope to see you back soon.
Warmest Regards,
Declan Moriarty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very nice hotel with a lot of sytle and local Irish flavor. With a room overlooking the Kilkenny Castle it's easy to imagine the times gone by. The staff were very helpful in recommending restaurants and local highlights. The patio along the river overlooking the castle is perfect although the wait staff are not exactly efficient. I suggest if you want a drink to go to the inside bar and bring it out with you.

Room Tip: Corner rooms closer to the castle are lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Marcy B,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Kilkenny River Court Hotel on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

I'm pleased to learn our staff had helped in recommending restaurants and local highlights.
and that you enjoyed the terrace bar overlooking the castle.

It is a shame the only slight disappointment from your visit had been a delay in getting a drink on the terrace. I have taken steps to improve the service and next time you visit the service should be fitting for a King. I'm very sorry for any inconvenience caused and I hope this wouldn't deter you from coming to stay at Kilkenny River Court Hotel in the future.
Warmest Regards,
Declan Moriarty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The location is great, the views of the castle across the river are beautiful, and the parking is easy. We stayed in a single bed (average hotel room), it was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and the price was reasonable.

We would have never expected it but Kilkenny was one of our favorite cities in Ireland!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cronins2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Cronins2012,
We appreciate your review on Tripadvisor. we are pleased that you liked the area and the hotel. We try and combine comfort, quality on service and good location for the convenience of our guests.

We hope to see you back soon.
Warmest Regards,
Declan Moriarty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Absolutely our best stop during our road tour of southern Ireland. We loved Kilkenny. Once we found that little tunnel through the building we discovered lots of parking off the main street. This place is within walking distance of many historic sites and shopping venues. We enjoyed the traditional Irish music and dancing at Matt the Millers and Kyteler's (1324 AD) and the excellent food so much we didn't have enough time to enjoy the excellent pool / gym facilities available at the River Court. Absolutely superb breakfast. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Room_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Room_Guy,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Kilkenny River Court Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always wonderful and encouraging to receive such positive feedback.
I was particularly pleased to read how much you loved Kilkenny and the locality, We are fortunate to have such a great location and many of our guests comment on how great it is to be in the heart of Kilkenny.
I'm also delighted that your breakfast experience throughout your stay was supberb. as we do pay a lot of attention to this area of our guest's experience and it is great to hear how this has been noticed. We look forward to welcoming you back,
Warm Regards,
Declan Moriarty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHICAGO
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beautiful View of Kilkenny Castle across the river. Room was on first floor with small balcony. Centrally located in town across from numerous dining and pub options. Walking distance to many attractions. Front desk staff was very courteous. Breakfast was included-delicious although no one was able to get us a glass of milk! We did sleep with the patio door open as there were not fans or a/c in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LORA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Lora,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Kilkenny River Court Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and like many of our guests found the location ideal for exploring Kilkenny and enjoying the city.

I'm also delighted that your breakfast experience was delicious we do pay a lot of attention to this area of our guest's experience and it is great to hear how this has been noticed.

It is a shame the only slight disappointment from your visit had been unable to get a glass of milk, we always have milk available in the morning and I have passed the comments to the restaurant team. I hope this wouldn't deter you from coming to stay at Kilkenny River Court Hotel in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Declan Moriarty,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELFAST
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The food was good the breakfast especially, set us up for the day. But the superb spa/ massage treatments were excellent and great value for money. Parked the car and walked everywhere for the three days it was so good to be able to take a drink together as no one had to drive. We also were lucky enough to see a live hurling match involving the home county the skill the speed the excitement must get back for that for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SINGINPUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Many thanks for your review of the Kilkenny River Court Hotel. We very much appreciate your complimentary comments regarding the hotel location . We are fortunate to have such a great location with the many attractions such as Kilkenny Castle, Rothe House & Smithwicks Bewery on our doorstep. Many of our guests take a break from their car's whilst with us and I am pleased you too got to enjoy the many great bars Kilkenny has to offer.

We have In response to recent reviews regarding breakfast taken steps to improve the breakfast selection and quality of food and it is great that you found the food was good the breakfast especially which I am glad set us up for the day.

We are of course known as a great Hurling county and we are very proud of our Hurlers and their achievements in KIlkenny, and to witness the skill and excitment of a game
is a very special memory.

We would be honored to welcome you again. Contact us directly for future reservations.
Warmest Regards,
Declan Moriarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,756 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,948 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Property: Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing