We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Zuni Hotel(Kilkenny)
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyrath Estate(Kilkenny)
$275
$267
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
$191
$185
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newpark Hotel(Kilkenny)
$257
$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilkenny Inn Hotel(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$278
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$301
$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilford Arms Hotel(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
$144
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pembroke Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,883)
Filter reviews
1,883 results
Traveler rating
904
576
226
119
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
904
576
226
119
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the rivercastle viewcar parkperfect locationlovely hotelfew drinkswedding receptionleisure centredeluxe roomwould highly recommend this hotellast weekendbreakfast was excellentbar foodafternoon teafamily roomtop classnore
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,360 - 1,365 of 1,883 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

From start to finish a brilliant overnight. We were attending a function in Kilkenny and the reception staff could not have been any better from helping me find a formal shirt to general politeness they were amazing. Special word of thanks for Antoinette Nolan, you are a star at your job.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TadhgT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Tadhg,

Thank you for your 'top marks' review on trip advisor which we are delighted to receive. I have passed on your sentiments to Annette and her Reception Team and she joins me in appreciating you taking the time to share your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Declan Moriarty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in February 2013, it was a great location for walking the town of Kilkenny. We arrived via train from Dublin and it took about 7-8 mins to walk to the hotel dragging our luggage. The hotel itself is nice, but like other people said, the walls are paper thin and one of the two rooms we stayed in smelled like smoke.... The breakfast was good, lots to choose from.
Great views of the castle from our room as well as the breakfast room.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank PTCPEREZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear PTCPEREZ,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Kilkenny River Court Hotel. Feedback is imperative to us for ensuring standards are continuously improved here at the Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed both the breakfast at the Riverside Restaurant and found the location of the Hotel a benefit.

In relation to the issues you have mentioned, we operate a strict non smoking policy here at the Hotel. We do have measures in place to try avoid this from happening however from time to time certain guests do not comply. This is something that the Hotel feels very strongly about and please accept my apologies for this incident. In relation to the noise issue, this is something we are currently investigating as an on-going concern and appreciate your comments.

I do hope that these issues did not dwell on your stay overall and that we can expect to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Declan Moriarty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Hi we stayed here for 4 nights from11th March 2013, we arrived late due to delayed ferry crossing and snow, but we were greeted by a very pleasant girl. Our room however was substandard but after a word with reception we were offered another excelent room and Declan the manager even brought up the keys to the new room to us!!! How is that for personal sevice? In fact every member of staff went out of their way to be helpful.

All in all anexcellent break and we shall definitely return in the near future.

Thanks to all at the hotel.

Pat and Sue

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Pat & Sue,

Thank you for your kind words and for posting a review of your recent stay with us at the River Court Hotel. I am delighted that you both had an enjoyable and relaxing stay. Feedback is very important to the team at the Hotel.

Personal service is paromount at the River Court Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to kilkenny in the future.

warmest regards

Declan Moriarty
General Manager

Kilkenny River Court Hotel
The Bridge,
John Street,
Kilkenny,
Ireland
Tel: +353 (0)56 7723388
Email: gm@rivercourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the River Court in June 12 for a hen party, myself and 16 other girls, from the moment we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by friendly and efficient staff!
Check in was fast considering how many of us arrived at once,
Rooms were great, clean, spacious and we were all close to each other!
When we arrived in the bar the staff were helpful and friendly from the go, making cocktails to suit our needs even if they weren't on the menu, dropping drinks to our table despite it been quite busy as there was a wedding on in the hotel.
The pool facilities were fantastic and great special offers extended to hotel guests in the spa, had a massage and was so relaxing!
There was an issue with another hotel guest becoming aggressive with some of the girls, but the management dealt with this straight away and we weren't bothered again,
They gave us an area to sit altogether early next morning to watch the Ireland Rugby game which was excellant and we were very grateful,
Special mention for Paul, the bar manager, went above and beyond for us and reccomended places for us to continue our night
Also Dave in the bar who made us delicious cocktails and welcomed us back to the residents bar wit excellant service (and patience!)
I cannot say enough good things about this hotel, we ate somewhere rlse as we had previously booked but breakfast was great!
Thanks again to all at the River Court Hotel, we plan on returning this Summer again for a "Heniversary"! :)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GalBoots87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear GalBoots87,

Thank you most sincerely for your comments and for your valued custom. I am delighted that all of your group enjoyed all that the hotel has to offer, from excellent service to some delicous cocktails. The River Court is popular for groups who wish to explore all that Kilkenny city has to offer.

I know all of the teams and the staff mentioned will be delighted to read your review. All the team look forward to welcoming you back to Kilkenny in the future.

Warmest regards

Declan Moriarty
General Manager

Kilkenny River Court Hotel
The Bridge,
John Street,
Kilkenny,
Ireland
Email: gm@rivercourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Walking around Kilkenny, we reviewed several hotels before deciding to splurge on the Kilkenny River Court Hotel. The room was elegantly furnished and had a beautiful view of Kilkenny Castle across the river. The desk clerk had us sign a paper after telling us that there would be a wedding that evening and there would be more noise than usual. Being from the states, we assumed a wedding ends by midnight...1 AM at the latest. We were also given a room as far from the festivities as possible. Unfortunately, the sound traveled, the music was loud enough that we could hear every lyric, and the reception ran until 4 AM. IF NOT for the wedding, I'm sure we would have enjoyed a comfortable night's sleep. The hotel is centrally located, beautifully appointed, and has one of the best views in the city. I would recommend it, as long as there isn't a wedding or party during your stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river and the castle. Beautifully lit at night and a great photo opportunity if you open your window.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz33_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Liz33_12,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the River Court Hotel. I do apologise that your nights sleep was somewhat disturbed. We do endevour to allocate all of our back facing rooms to guests not attending Weddings, on this occassion it is obvious that there was a mistake made and for this I sincerely apologise.

I am pleased that you enjoyed all the other aspects of your stay with us, the views of kilkenny castle from the bedrooms and the terrace are truly amazing.


I look forward to welcoming you back to the River Court and plesae contact me personally on your return so that i can ensure that I welcome you in person.

Warmest regards

Declan Moriarty
General Manager

Kilkenny River Court Hotel
The Bridge,
John Street,
Kilkenny,
Ireland
Email: gm@rivercourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews