We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in February 2013, it was a great location for walking the town of Kilkenny. We arrived via train from Dublin and it took about 7-8 mins to walk to the hotel dragging our luggage. The hotel itself is nice, but like other people said, the walls are paper thin and one of the two rooms we stayed in smelled like smoke.... The breakfast was good, lots to choose from.
Great views of the castle from our room as well as the breakfast room.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PTCPEREZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear PTCPEREZ,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Kilkenny River Court Hotel. Feedback is imperative to us for ensuring standards are continuously improved here at the Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed both the breakfast at the Riverside Restaurant and found the location of the Hotel a benefit.

In relation to the issues you have mentioned, we operate a strict non smoking policy here at the Hotel. We do have measures in place to try avoid this from happening however from time to time certain guests do not comply. This is something that the Hotel feels very strongly about and please accept my apologies for this incident. In relation to the noise issue, this is something we are currently investigating as an on-going concern and appreciate your comments.

I do hope that these issues did not dwell on your stay overall and that we can expect to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Declan Moriarty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    486
    185
    99
    51
See reviews for
319
712
31
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Hi we stayed here for 4 nights from11th March 2013, we arrived late due to delayed ferry crossing and snow, but we were greeted by a very pleasant girl. Our room however was substandard but after a word with reception we were offered another excelent room and Declan the manager even brought up the keys to the new room to us!!! How is that for personal sevice? In fact every member of staff went out of their way to be helpful.

All in all anexcellent break and we shall definitely return in the near future.

Thanks to all at the hotel.

Pat and Sue

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Pat & Sue,

Thank you for your kind words and for posting a review of your recent stay with us at the River Court Hotel. I am delighted that you both had an enjoyable and relaxing stay. Feedback is very important to the team at the Hotel.

Personal service is paromount at the River Court Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to kilkenny in the future.

warmest regards

Declan Moriarty
General Manager

Kilkenny River Court Hotel
The Bridge,
John Street,
Kilkenny,
Ireland
Tel: +353 (0)56 7723388
Email: gm@rivercourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the River Court in June 12 for a hen party, myself and 16 other girls, from the moment we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by friendly and efficient staff!
Check in was fast considering how many of us arrived at once,
Rooms were great, clean, spacious and we were all close to each other!
When we arrived in the bar the staff were helpful and friendly from the go, making cocktails to suit our needs even if they weren't on the menu, dropping drinks to our table despite it been quite busy as there was a wedding on in the hotel.
The pool facilities were fantastic and great special offers extended to hotel guests in the spa, had a massage and was so relaxing!
There was an issue with another hotel guest becoming aggressive with some of the girls, but the management dealt with this straight away and we weren't bothered again,
They gave us an area to sit altogether early next morning to watch the Ireland Rugby game which was excellant and we were very grateful,
Special mention for Paul, the bar manager, went above and beyond for us and reccomended places for us to continue our night
Also Dave in the bar who made us delicious cocktails and welcomed us back to the residents bar wit excellant service (and patience!)
I cannot say enough good things about this hotel, we ate somewhere rlse as we had previously booked but breakfast was great!
Thanks again to all at the River Court Hotel, we plan on returning this Summer again for a "Heniversary"! :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalBoots87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear GalBoots87,

Thank you most sincerely for your comments and for your valued custom. I am delighted that all of your group enjoyed all that the hotel has to offer, from excellent service to some delicous cocktails. The River Court is popular for groups who wish to explore all that Kilkenny city has to offer.

I know all of the teams and the staff mentioned will be delighted to read your review. All the team look forward to welcoming you back to Kilkenny in the future.

Warmest regards

Declan Moriarty
General Manager

Kilkenny River Court Hotel
The Bridge,
John Street,
Kilkenny,
Ireland
Email: gm@rivercourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Walking around Kilkenny, we reviewed several hotels before deciding to splurge on the Kilkenny River Court Hotel. The room was elegantly furnished and had a beautiful view of Kilkenny Castle across the river. The desk clerk had us sign a paper after telling us that there would be a wedding that evening and there would be more noise than usual. Being from the states, we assumed a wedding ends by midnight...1 AM at the latest. We were also given a room as far from the festivities as possible. Unfortunately, the sound traveled, the music was loud enough that we could hear every lyric, and the reception ran until 4 AM. IF NOT for the wedding, I'm sure we would have enjoyed a comfortable night's sleep. The hotel is centrally located, beautifully appointed, and has one of the best views in the city. I would recommend it, as long as there isn't a wedding or party during your stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river and the castle. Beautifully lit at night and a great photo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz33_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Liz33_12,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the River Court Hotel. I do apologise that your nights sleep was somewhat disturbed. We do endevour to allocate all of our back facing rooms to guests not attending Weddings, on this occassion it is obvious that there was a mistake made and for this I sincerely apologise.

I am pleased that you enjoyed all the other aspects of your stay with us, the views of kilkenny castle from the bedrooms and the terrace are truly amazing.


I look forward to welcoming you back to the River Court and plesae contact me personally on your return so that i can ensure that I welcome you in person.

Warmest regards

Declan Moriarty
General Manager

Kilkenny River Court Hotel
The Bridge,
John Street,
Kilkenny,
Ireland
Email: gm@rivercourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our first stop of 3 in Ireland and it didn't disappoint. It is beautiful and quiet! The location is in the middle of town so we were able to walk everywhere, which was very nice for us as we were not used to driving on the opposite side of the road. It was nice to be able to sit in the bar and have lunch and look at the stunning Kilkenny Castle beside us! The room service was extremely slow, but it was very worth it. The hotel was very clean and they were very nice. Breakfast was well done as well. A lot of foods to choose from!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Michelle L,

Thank you for your comments and your very valued custom. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you stated the location of the hotel is just perfect for seeing all that the wonderful city of kilkenny has to offer.

I am also delighted that you found the service and quality of food to your liking. We strive at all times to provided your guests with a professional yet friendly level of service.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in ireland and should you be visiting Ireland again in the future I hope that you will pay us a return visit.

Warmest regards

Declan Moriarty
General Manager

Kilkenny River Court Hotel
The Bridge,
John Street,
Kilkenny,
Ireland
Email: gm@rivercourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I came for a quick view of Kilkenny and this is the best location. A genuinly nice hotel. Comfortable very large room overlooking the river. However the hotel is not personal.Quite a lot of friendly older people in the bar. Many Americans came here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slussvakten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Slussvakten,

Thank you for your review and your comments, as you stated we do have a great location. I am delighted that you enjoyed your trip to kilkenny.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and that you had a very safe trip home.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Kilkenny in the future

Kind Regards,

Declan Moriarty
General Manager

Kilkenny River Court Hotel
The Bridge,
John Street,
Kilkenny,
Ireland

Tel: +353 (0)56 7723388
Email: gm@rivercourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Positives : 4 star hotel so you have certain expectations and in fairness it does deliver. Very nice decor and rooms are spacious and well appointed. Location is absolutely bang in the middle of town and beside the river and most of the rooms probably have river/ Castle views. Stayed 2 nights, didn't eat dinner at the hotel, but breakfast was pretty good both mornings. We stayed on a Sat & Sun and had no problems with noise or queuing ..although the hotel was probably almost full.

Negatives : Prices are on the high side in a recession economy. €240 for double room for 2 nights considering you have to pay extra for breakfast in bedroom and extra for car parking. But hotels in Kilkenny seem to be very expensive anyway (this is not the fault of Rivercourt)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrLittlevillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Mr LittleVillage,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us and for your positive and constructive comments. I am delighted that you experienced the ambience and view from our very popular castle view rooms.

the location of the hotel is ideal for exploring Kilkenny. I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and perhaps on your next visit you can experience the high quality of food at dinner.

I look forward to welcoming you back to kilkenny in the future

Warmest regards

Declan Moriarty
General Manager

Kilkenny River Court Hotel
The Bridge,
John Street,
Kilkenny,
Ireland
Email: gm@rivercourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Property: Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing