We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, great pool & Spa, great price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, great pool & Spa, great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We spent 2 mid-week nights during our trip to Ireland. We took the train from Dublin & walked the 10 minutes through town to the hotel. Kilkenny castle is truly next door and a definite do not miss. This hotel was nice, but the pool & spa center was just wonderful - had a facial one morning, a massage on the 2nd - and the pool and stream room to myself afterwards ! Price was great, location could not be better. Room, retaurant and service good. Would definitly recommend this Hotel and Kilkenny midweek for both price and lots of history and intersting places to visit all within walking distance. And don't miss the Candy stor just across the bridge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMCK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    480
    178
    99
    50
See reviews for
314
692
30
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

As part of a hen party from galway, we stayed in the rivercourt from Friday 8th June to Sunday 10th! And I cannot praise this place enough! The staff were exceptionally friendly, welcoming and great craic! A very sincere thank you to Paul Quinlan the bar supervisor who went above and beyond to make it a great stay for us, and also to the bar staff David, Ben (friday night) and John (saturday night) who were so nice and made both nights unforgettable! Your cocktails were amazing and the sambuca surprises really surprised my head the next day!!!! Thank you so much for such a great weekend! I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bro-Harv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

I went to kilkenny last week for a weekend away with my partner. The hotel is fantastic and in the heart of the city. We had an amazing room with a view over the nore river and the food was delicious. The hotel itself has a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The best part of the hotel for us was the spa because of the staff, the spa was quite and relaxing and Conor (although young was very professional) made us feel very welcome and provided an excellent service helping us book treatments and advising us where to go for the busy nightlife and quite drinks, he was more than helpful and made us feel very comfortable right at home. We would definelty go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingCouple07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Did a midweek golden years visit to this hotel this week.
Found both hotel restaurants really good. the Yindee (oriental) is definitely is definitely is top class.
Value was good and overall it was a pleasant visit.
Highlight of the hotel is the Riverside Terrace which is right on the banks of the Nore River across the river from Kilkenny Castle.
Disappointment was the quality of towels.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We started our Ireland vacation in Kilkenny after a short drive from Dublin. We were greeted warmly at the hotel and then had an amazing view of Kilkenny Castle and the River Nore right outside our window. Staff was pleasant, breakfast outstanding with many, many choices. Room comfortable and hotel is within walking distance of just about everything in Kilkenny. You cannot go wrong at this Hotel. Parking a little tight, but available. Weather a little cool in May, but plenty of outdoor seating for dinner and/or drinks along the river with a great castle view.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room overlooking the castle, but most naturally face that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John3911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

I stayed in the River Court with my Mam last weekend. We had the most amazing 2 nights. The hotel staff were extremely friendly & helpful from the minute we arrived.
Our therapist in the treatment room was amazing.
Food was fantastic.
We couldn't off asked for better views or location.
We got a brilliant deal on our stay & would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: We had a basic twin room and it was just what we needed but for a special occasion I would recommene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachiehun2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We just like to share our feedback regarding the rivercourt hotel in Kilkenny. We had our wedding day organised there end of April for 120 guests and we have to say that everything went fine and was greatly done by the hotel team. The meal, wine, accommodation were excellent and Martin and his staff did their best to accomodate our wishes and they ensured the day went smooothly. We would definitely recommend this hotel to other couples, and the midweek wedding package is a great deal.
Elaine and Olivier

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irisholivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Property: Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing