We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and friendly”
Review of Auburndale B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auburndale B&B
Ranked #30 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Hopedale, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice, clean and friendly”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

These are very nice owners. The house is spotless and the room was a good size. Breakfast was good and plentiful and overall it was very nice. The beds were harder than I expected but it was fine. Also it was easy to get to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theloneexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    22
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My friend and I stayed here 2 nights on our tour of Ireland. Pat and Teresa are the owners of this wonderful B&B. Our room was a good size and comfortable. We were a little disappointed in the size of the shower, but it was workable and got us clean! :) Breakfast was very tasty and filling! Pat and I both served in the US Navy so we chatted a bit about that. I would definitely stay here again!!

My friend and I walked into town after being advised the city center was a 10 minute walk from the B&B. After 45 minutes and 2 kilometers of walking downhill the whole way, we determined that a taxi would be needed to get us home!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelChick417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our least favorite Bed and Breakfast in Ireland. We did not find the hosts to be very friendly towards us and the room was extremely small, very little room to walk around and the bathroom was tiny as well. The breakfast was good, but nothing special. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this Bed and Breakfast compared to others that we stayed in Ireland.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ssreview480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I would highly recommend this welcoming Bed & Breakfast, the hosts, the food and room were above and beyond any expectations. The location is at the most a twenty minute walk to the centre of town but Teresa offered to call a taxi if we required one.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateWren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The owners were great. Loved talking with them and they were very helpful with our travels. And use of a phone to notify our bank of our travels. Beautiful area and lots to see. Missed Kilkenny Castle but it would have been a great look and see. Only 25 minutes to Waterford.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 360Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ommelanderwijk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our trip was booked by Irish Tourism as a press trip through Ireland. Despite the request to book authentic Irish Bed & Breakfasts or -hotel accommodations, Auburndale House failed on that aspect. It is situated on the outskirts ('suburbia') of Kilkenny, the walk to the historic city centre takes apr 30-45 minutes (advisable to take own transport or a taxi). Also because the scenery during the walk is rather depressing... even the (small) historic centre and the Kilkenny castle can't make up that first impression. It is just an average B&B. Clean, WIFI and good breakfast, helpful owner. But not really that outstanding authentic; it could have been any accommodation anywhere, everywhere. Personally I don't like military memorabilia on the walls during breakfast. I don't like military (or for the same value religious-) memorabilia at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stikfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in this B&B ideally situated just 5 mins drive to town centre.
Lovely large house with very nice hosts (Teresa & Patrick).
Roomy clean and comfortable bedroom with shower en-suite.
Tea and Coffee available in communal area downstairs
Plenty of on-site car parking
Would stay there again although it was our most expensive B&B (and I feel a little over-priced) in our 3 week tour of Eire.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front can be a noisy due to main-road traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wongy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.9 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
Newlands Country House B&B
#11 of 73 in Kilkenny
220 reviews
11.7 mi away
Brandon View House B&B
Brandon View House B&B
#3 of 3 in Graiguenamanagh
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Breagagh View
Breagagh View
#45 of 73 in Kilkenny
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
143 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ashbrook House
Ashbrook House
#43 of 73 in Kilkenny
38 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
#16 of 73 in Kilkenny
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auburndale B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auburndale B&B

Property: Auburndale B&B
Address: Auburndale Waterford Road Springmount | Waterford Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auburndale B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Auburndale B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing