We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit - will go back”
Review of Auburndale B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auburndale B&B
Ranked #26 of 72 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Second visit - will go back”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed here last year and had to book again for our second visit. Pat is a fantastic host and makes time to chat. The room was clean with everything you need and I am convinced that if you needed anything then they would try and help. The breakfast was possibly the best I had in Ireland. This B&B is a great base to visit Kilkenny - just on the ring road and only 2km walk into town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaxWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    22
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
31
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at Auburndale as our first B&B in Ireland. It was wonderful. We called the day before to confirm and get directions, I personally found driving in Kilkenny to be a little confusing, but it might have just been our first experience with the city layouts in Ireland (lots of round abouts). We arrived and were greeted warmly and shown to our lovely room. The porta crib was already set up and ready to go with blankets and a little pillow for our daughter. As far as hosts go - he was lovely. Told us how to get to town and where we might find a nice dinner. The home was really clean and well kept.
It was a really lovely stay. I would definitely recommended this B&B to people traveling with young kids; they knew exactly how to cater to my little family’s needs.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelingStaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We arrived in the rain, cold wet and tired after an early start to find the place totally deserted! There were no contact details anywhere on the outside of the property. We had to go back to Tourist Information and find alternative accomm for the night. We left an angry note for the owner who called the next day and admitted to having booked us in the following month in error - not much help the next day! For a place this size they should have some way for people to contact them if they're out - they have a B & B sign up outside - not much good if they're not in for passing trade! Its also more than a 'stroll' into town - and we found much more central accommodation for less money in the centre.The Hibernian was actually less than this B & B on the night in question, and Auburndale will also cost you extra for taxi's into town if you want a night out.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank owlandpussycat1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The rooms are a bit on the small size but are modern and clean. The bathroom is clean and well equipped.
The breakfasts are great.
5 minutes drive from the city center so you should be just fine if you have a car.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldkot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herlev
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I highly recommend this B&B which was the best stay we had during our 14 day trip around Ireland! The rooms are very well equipped, functional and well maintained. The hospitality was top notch and the breakfast simply terrific!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MST68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Beautifully presented in every way. Scrupulously clean & well appointed. The bed was THE most comfortable I have ever slept in while travelling. Great breakfast if you need it. Pat was a friendly & gracious host. No drama, no troubles. Quiet location & just about 15 - 20 minutes to beautiful Kilkenney centre via shoelace express (walking)! If you partake of a drink or two it make take considerably longer on the return!!

Highly recommended in every way.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickie5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Great place to stay for romantic trip, with friends, for sightseeing etc. Rooms had all amenties, each en suite, quiet and comfortable. Very clean. Brekafast fantastic. Good value for money. 20 min walk to Kilkenny town centre, however taxi EUR 7. Fantastic people running. All you need from B&B and even more. Definitely need to come back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lastkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.9 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
Newlands Country House B&B
#11 of 72 in Kilkenny
226 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
#14 of 72 in Kilkenny
218 reviews
9.4 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
#43 of 72 in Kilkenny
165 reviews
11.7 mi away
Brandon View House B&B
Brandon View House B&B
#3 of 3 in Graiguenamanagh
63 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hibernian House
Hibernian House
#62 of 72 in Kilkenny
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auburndale B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auburndale B&B

Property: Auburndale B&B
Address: Auburndale Waterford Road Springmount | Waterford Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auburndale B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Auburndale B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing