We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very nice”
Review of Alcantra B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alcantra B&B
Ranked #54 of 74 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 17, 2006

This was the nicest B&B we stayed in in Ireland. Brigid was very welcoming to all of us. Our room was very spacious with a plush carpet, comfortable bed and large bathroom. Our two grown daughters had a separate room with twin beds ... also more than adequate. The soda scones at breakfast were yummy!

Brigid took extra time to point out some good restaurants on a map of the town she gave us and also some places where we could find Irish music entertainment in the evening (although that's not hard to do ... just walk down the main street of Kilkenny!). Kilkenny Castle and the rest of the town are within walking distance (less than a km).

Stayed: August 2006
5  Thank ljr88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 42 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2006

We had a wonderful experience at Alcantra! We had flown into Dublin from the US and driven down to Kilkenny the same day seeing some sights along the way. Needless to say, we were very tired! Alcrantra proved perfect for the weary traveler.

Ireland was in the middle of a heat wave and I was worried when there was no air conditioning or fan in the room, but the room cooled off before dark. The house was surprisingly quiet to be near a fairly busy road. The house itself was in a lovely neighborhood. We found it easy to leave the car at the B&B and walk into the town for dinner. The B&B owners gave us very good suggestions for restaurants.

The room was spottless and was spacious by European standards. I loved the large bathroom. There was a hair dyrer in the room. The full Irish breakfast was delicious. The owner had made homemade jams that were excellent.

The very helpful owners gave us tips on what to see in town as well as a suggestion to take a scenic route to Waterford.

I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank moodymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2006

This is a prime example of how a B&B should be. The host and hostess were warm, welcoming, and eager to fill our every need. The room, while small (a triple) was still adequate for our needs. The bathroom was huge, the shower pressure FANTASTIC strong, the breakfast was fabulous!

Our hostess, Brigid, even served homemade jams during our stay, gooseberry and raspberry. She had stewed plums, fresh fruit, and of course the normal suspects for the Full Irish Breakfast. She recommended several places for great music, food, etc.

Our only lack was a fan at night, as it was rather warm, but that was self-correcting as the evening got cooler.

Kilkenny is a great medieval town, and Alcantra was just several long blocks from the castle. We usually drove into town and parked at the Dunnes parking lot.

A wonderful place, and I will definitely visit again next time!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreenDragon9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2006

We sayted at Alcantra B&B inJune it was top notch. Bridget made you feel welcomed into her home. The bedroom was tastfully done, beds were comfortable, bathroom clean. Breakfast was excellent brown bread and scones very good.Bridget was heplful in giving recommendations on restaurants and sights seeing. We voted her the best hostess on our two week trip through Ireland.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank irishdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2006

This was a wonderful place to stay. The B&B is a short stroll (10 minutes) to the city center, and the hospitality of the host was great. The room was exceptionally spotless, breakfast was delicious and served on fancy dishware, and the place itself really felt like a warm, inviting home. Highly recommended.

3  Thank AJAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2006

One of the best b&b's of the trip. Room was nice and the breakfast was great. It was a 15 minute walk to town with sidewalks all but the first 100 yards. Sidewalks are important on those narrow roads. The owners were real nice and the coffee was the best of our trip. The location was very quiet and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2006

We stayed at the Alcantra for our one day stopover in Kilkenny. The house is situated about a 15 minute walk from the Kilkenny Castle and busy shopping/pub area. The grounds and house are beautifully maintained, with lovely furnishings. Our room was up a short flight of stairs. Brigid and Liam Holohan and their daughter were helpful with recommendations for dining (Marble City Pub), our driving route and hidden stopovers as we made our way to Cashel. We'd definitely stay here again if ever in the area. Special note: If you are driving into Kilkenny for a one day stopover, as we did, be sure to check the closing times for the Castle and Design Center which is across the street from the Castle (wonderful crafts). Also, if you like Irish beer, try the local Smithwick's -- terrific!

3  Thank FEDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
11.2 mi away
Brandon View House B&B
Brandon View House B&B
#3 of 3 in Graiguenamanagh
65 reviews
8.3 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Moonarch Bed & Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,031 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcantra B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcantra B&B

Address: Alcantra 33 Kells Road Maiden Hill | Kells Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing