We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mena House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mena House B&B
Ranked #5 of 77 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Incredible B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our first night on our way through southern Ireland, and Katherine, the proprietor of Mena House has such an expansive knowledge of not just Kilkenny but all of Ireland, that she damn near helped us plan the rest of our trip! Breakfast was incredible, and the rooms were huge. We can't thank her enough or recommend Mena House any higher.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    35
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
135
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Katherine operates an excellent B&B. Besides being a very comfortable place to stay, the breakfast was outstanding. Katherine is a font of knowledge on tourism, not only in Kilkenny, but throughout Ireland. We showed her our planned route and she gave us great recommendations on places to go off of the beaten path which we wanted to do. Cannot recommend Mena House and Katherine highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We didn't actually get to stay because of a medical situation changing our plans but I want to say that Katherine was gracious and understanding. She had also been very helpful in the planning stages of our trip. We booked on B & B Ireland so we lost our deposit for the night. I would suggest booking directly with the property to avoid that situation if it arises. We hope to be able to visit the Mena House at sometime in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeandcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our last night in Ireland and we really enjoyed our stay at Mena House. Katherine was a wonderful hostess and made some great suggestions on where to eat and listen to music in Kilkenny. We went to all of the places she recommended and had an awesome last night, partying, drinking and dancing! The accomodations at Mena House were lovely and comfortable and I wish we had had more time just to visit with Katherine! I would highly recommend Mena House to anyone looking for a warm welcome, good food and a really nice place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank millercolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our first overnight spot on a tour of Ireland with friends.A welcome and lovely surprise after a long trip. A friendly and cordial welcome from our host.Lovely rooms and an excellent breakfast.
On the outskirts of Kilkenny but in easy and convenient reach of the town centre and all the sites.
The hostess was very freindly and helpful and an excellent source of local information and advice. We would return and recommend this Guesthouse.
PS We own an Inn in Canada and are not easy to pleaase!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buellton, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Mena house is located just outside of Kilkenny, easy to find. Room was very comfortable, with three beds, lots of room in this one! Our host Katherine was engaged and very helpful, provided many suggestions on things to do and places to visit. On her suggestion we went to a pub in the old town Kilkenny reported to be one of the oldest pubs in Ireland, had a good dinner followed by the best session of Irish music on this trip - the banjo player came in second place in a recent international banjo competition. Good Irish breakfast got the day off to a great start.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Va
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived early for check-in, and Katherine was in a bit of a hurry to get to a wedding, but took time for a warm welcome and to suggest activities for our afternoon and evening in Kilkenny. Later, when she saw us in town, she came over to say hello and to ask how we were enjoying ourselves.
Our room was upstairs, in the back, overlooking the lovely gardens. It was comfortable, roomy and very clean. Bathroom and shower were small, but that seems to be standard in Ireland. We were able to get internet reception from our room, although it was a rather slow connection.
We enjoyed a good breakfast, and again Katherine gave us tips for the rest of our travels, suggesting some scenic routes.
We were very pleased with our stay, and loved our day in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
0.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosquil House
Rosquil House
#4 of 77 in Kilkenny
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mena House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena House B&B

Property: Mena House B&B
Address: Mena House Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing