We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mena House”
Review of Mena House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mena House B&B
Ranked #4 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Centreville, Va
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mena House”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived early for check-in, and Katherine was in a bit of a hurry to get to a wedding, but took time for a warm welcome and to suggest activities for our afternoon and evening in Kilkenny. Later, when she saw us in town, she came over to say hello and to ask how we were enjoying ourselves.
Our room was upstairs, in the back, overlooking the lovely gardens. It was comfortable, roomy and very clean. Bathroom and shower were small, but that seems to be standard in Ireland. We were able to get internet reception from our room, although it was a rather slow connection.
We enjoyed a good breakfast, and again Katherine gave us tips for the rest of our travels, suggesting some scenic routes.
We were very pleased with our stay, and loved our day in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    35
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
140
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here in September with my husband, daughter and her boyfriend. Lovely B&B with a superb hostess. Katherine provided great travel advice and tips. We enjoyed one of our best nights out on the town thanks to Katherine's dinner and Irish pub recommendations! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ontariosunseeker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was a beautiful environment to visit. Katherine was very informative with where to go and what to do. Pleasant personality. The Breakfasts were lovely. We were very happy with this location. We could have stayed more days here and wished we had done so.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
206 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We spent one night at Mena House. It is located on a major thoroughfare just outside Killkenny. There is adequate parking in a small area in front of the house.

Our room was three beds and the room spotless. Space was not ample but was adequate. Bathroom clean and modern, albeit a very small shower (but adequate). There is a small but well manicured garden in the back with some lawn furniture (it was raining so we could not take advantage). The dining area was adequate and food was OK. Internet was free but one must go into a small sitting area to get reception. Even though our room was not far away we could not connect to internet there. The owner was a bit rough around the edges but I grew to appreciate how hard she and her one staff member work to maintain the property with so many guests coming and going. She did welcome us and took time to offer suggestions on travel.

There really is nothing negative about Mena House but nor is there anything memorable either. It is a simple B&B that is clean and adequate and was within easy driving distance to the center of town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Mena House for 1 night in July. We were greeted immediately by Catherine who showed us our room for the night. Our room was huge! We had requested a Double room with our vouchers, but she ended up giving us a room with a queen and two single beds! The decor was nothing fancy, but it served our purpose. Yes, the TV only had two channels, but we weren't in the room long enough to watch TV. The double bed matress was hard and my husband actually switched to one of the singles with no problems.The bathroom was small with little counter space and a tiny shower with not so great water pressure, but it was VERY clean, which is what counted!
Catherine was very helpful in giving us directions and advice for going to town, which was about a 10 minute walk.
Breakfast in the morning was delicious! Huge portions and cooked the way we asked! Overall, we had a very good stay here and I would definitely stay here again if we were touring Kilkenny!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wiley1597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

First B&B experience outside of the US - was impressed by the hospitality! Katherine, the hostess, helped us to know the "must-see" locations in Ireland (and what to skip). Comfortable, clean room. Wonderful food (one of the best breakfasts of our 8 day trip!)

From Wisconsin, USA

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
275 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I would like to rebut the 1 "Terrible" review written in 2010 alleging that Katherine prefers couples. We are 2 women - friends not a couple - and from the moment we walked in the door, Katherine was welcoming and genuine. She showed us to our separate single en suite rooms and offered a shared room for our second night. It made no sense to cause the extra work and we assured her that the single rooms were fine.

Mena House is a 10-15 minute walk to Kilkenny center and once settled in and ready to head out, Katherine gave us a city map, directions, and several suggestions. The walk was lovely including a walking path along the River Nore. One day, the weather was not great and Katherine showed us where we could park the car all day for 2E. Worked perfectly.

The house is lovely and quite large since Katherine doubled the space with a significant addition. The breakfast room overlooking the backyard gardens is bright and cheery. Our rooms were on the small side but had comfortable double beds and fairly small bathrooms. As common in Ireland, water pressure is not the best.. Rooms were immaculately clean throughout our 2 night stay.

This was the last of the 5 B&B's of this trip and I can honestly say that it was the best and overcame stiff competition. We did not have to reserve a time and the offerings were everything you'd expect. Literally a dozen fresh fruits - including figs and dates - and homemade jam. The porridge was excellent and the poached eggs on toast and bacon terrific. Never felt rushed.

Over the 2 day period we learned that Katherine has owned 2 horses and loves golf and travel. My friend owns a horse so you can imagine the spirited conversations they had. Katherine has hosted this B&B for 27 years so obviously she knows the business. She continues to be very enthusiastic.

By Ireland B&B ratings, Mena is a 3 star because not all rooms are en suite. In all other aspects, Mena House is definitely a 4 star. If in Kilkenny, this is a must stop if you prefer a B&B to a hotel.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room that overlooks the backyard gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlohaTravelerOahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,861 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,716 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.4 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mena House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena House B&B

Property: Mena House B&B
Address: Mena House Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing