We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Co Derry
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bit tired”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Staff here great-extremely friendly and helpful. However the rooms are a bit tired looking,chips out of the tables and stains on the furniture. I forgot to say I wanted a no smoking room and there was the smell of stale smoke in the room. I would have needed to been a contortionist to get at the toilet roll when it was on the holder and overall the bathroom was very small.
The dining room was dark and over crowded. There was a Kids club on so there were a lot of children about.
A taxi into the city costs 8 euro each way
Over all nothing major to complain about but the next time we are in Kilkenny we will not be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    209
    136
    90
    64
See reviews for
274
201
18
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

When I first rang to book, on a Saturday, I was told that there would be nobody there to take my booking until Monday and they would ring me back then. I found this a bit unusual but they did call me back on Monday.
The hotel is a bit out of the city and you would need a taxi in and out, we were at a wedding so the location wasn't a problem but for anybody wanting to go in and out of town it could get expensive. Though there are probably busses.
The room was clean, the furniture was very scuffed and dated. The bathroom was nice and was spotless. Very little hot water and what was there wasn't exactly hot. Comfortable bed and I had a good sleep.
Breakfast was fine, the sausages didn't look great but they tasted fine, I am aware that its difficult to have everything perfect for buffet breakfast. There was a good selection of fruit, cereal, breads and juices .
I thought everything was good for what we paid - €99 incl breakfast on a bank holiday weekend. Can't go wrong with that.
I would stay again if it were closer to the city centre as I would probably end up paying more in taxis than I would if I stayed in the city centre

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazzardgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Was in the hotel for a few days last week with my daughter and have to say it was probably one of the best holidays we have had in Ireland. Donna was fantastic and so helpful when booking- couldnt have done enough!!! Reception staff so friendly and welcoming. Bedroom was abit dated but the lesuire facilities more then made up for it! The kids club is a life saver for one parent as it gave an hour or 2 for a breather and the kids club staff were also brilliant! Richie in the bar is such a gent and fantastic with the kids! Your staff are a credit to your hotel. Have talked about how great your hotel is to anyone who will listen and my sister has booked for next week since! Cant wait to return- Well done to you all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashling155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus O, General Manager at Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Ashling

Thank you for taking the time out to post a review of your recent stay at the Springhill Court Hotel. I’m delighted to hear that you and your daughter had such a great time at our hotel recently. I’m also thrilled that you had the chance to experience the restaurant, bar and leisure facilities that the hotel has to offer. Furthermore I’m glad to hear that your daughter enjoyed our Lenny the Lion Kids Club which proves very popular with our younger guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback and the recommendation you gave to your sister and we look forward to greeting you again soon at the Springhill Court Hotel.

Kind Regards

Seamus O’Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

having checked in at three, i went for a swim the hot tub was broken.
the service was awful at dinner, we had to wait fifteen minutes to order and a further twenty for our plates to be cleared. it seemed like they had plenty staff on but they just didn't know what they were doing. the sockets in our room tripped twice, due to a bad kettle, while the manger was nice and rectified the situation promptly it was quite annoying.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus O, General Manager at Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Ken

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Springhill Court Hotel and I would appreciate if you might contact me directly here at the hotel or at my email address, socarroll@springhillcourt.com

Kind regards

Seamus O’Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kilkenny hotels

chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel staff were very helpful and the staff were very nice. We were a family of six and the were able to accommodate us in one room. The rooms are very basic, but clean. The price was very good and the pub was fun. While not upscale by any means it is a good place to stay for an overnight in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhawks9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus O, General Manager at Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Springhill Court Hotel. I’m delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your brief stay with us and in particular the service you received from our staff. I look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Seamus O’Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We (myself, my partner, our two kids and my mother-in-law) stayed for three nights at this hotel just at the end of July. We did enjoy our break and the hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly and extremely professional. But unfortunately the room that we were staying in was disappointing. I am sorry to say the word "shabby" is the only word I can use to describe it. There were net curtains on the windows (which did not open too easily) that were grey. The bedroom itself was dark and furniture was dated. The bathroom also was dark, with horrible wooden panels around the sink area and the shower was constantly dripping. And the fan for the shower was very noisy. The tiles around the bath were black with mildew. Also the door was very hard to open (had to pull it very hard to get it open as it got stuck). We did draw a member of the cleaning staff's attention to it and it was fixed but there was no handle on it when it was fixed.
As I said however we did enjoy our time on the break, food in the hotel was lovely and there was a great choice. It was a pity though that room was such a disappointment as when you come into the hotel initially the reception is bright and modern. It is an huge issue in my opinion which should be addressed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night with a group of girls. We originally booked a room for three and then the hotel agreed to change us to a four. The room was plenty big and clean. The hotel itself is a little grubby. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was good and there was plenty of food and choice. The swimming pool was nice if a little small.

Room Tip: I would suggest asking for a room at the back if you want a lie in as the hotel is on a busy road, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anname47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus O, General Manager at Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking time to post a review of your recent stay at the Springhill Court Hotel. I’m delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and utilised the restaurant and leisure facilities. I’m also delighted that you found the staff at our hotel to be friendly and courteous and will be sure to pass this on to them.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to us again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Seamus O’Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
2.2 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel

Property: Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
Address: Waterford Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 3 star Newly Refurbished Springhill Court Hotel Kilkenny your break begins from the moment you leave home. Set out on your journey stress free knowing that we are easily accessible, have ample free car parking on site and complimentary wifi. The Springhill Court Hotel in Kilkenny is one of the best known hotels and if it is Kilkenny hotels you are looking for then look no further! Once you have arrived in Kilkenny City you can begin to enjoy our superb hotel facilities which include Lavender Spa, Kupp Coffee Dock, Leisure Club, Image Hair Salon, Oscars Restaurant, popular Paddock Bar, new Children's Playground and Lenny Lion's Kids Club which operates during all school holidays. Friendly, efficient staff are at your disposal for the duration of your stay. We pride ourselves on our standards of service and customer care, many guests return time and again to soak up the genuine, friendly atmosphere that prevails at the Springhill Court Hotel Kilkenny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure Hotel Kilkenny
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure And Spa Hotel
Springhill Court Kilkenny
Hotel Springhill Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing