We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place next to the castle grounds”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriglea B&B Kilkenny
Ranked #25 of 72 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Luneburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lovely place next to the castle grounds”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at Josephines. Even we arrived the wrong day it wasn't a problem at all. We were warmly welcomed by Josephine. Our nice and bright room was beautifully designed, very clean and with a view into the green. The breakfast was stunning with fresh fruit of the garden, homemade flapjacks and the best tea we had in Ireland. We also got good tips for dinner in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabbelbeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
122
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Alabama, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here our first three nights in Ireland. We arrived somewhat earlier than the normal check in time, but this was not a problem. The room was quite large for a B&B and everything was in excellent condition. It is located right off the main road, but our room was very quiet. There is off-street parking and although the house is not right in the city centre, it is well within walking distance of restaurants, pubs, and shopping. It is directly across the street from the castle park. Breakfast was delicious and Josephine was a perfect hostess and made us feel very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Carriglea B&B was the first B&B we stayed in during our trip to Ireland. We did not arrive until 7PM and since Josephine had a commitment that evening, we were greeted by a Tony. He did a wonderful job of making us feel right at home, offering suggestions where we could get a good dinner - he didn't steer us wrong - and providing us with directions and a map of Kilkenny. Our room was cozy and charming. A delicious breakfast, with something for everyone, awaited us the next morning with relaxing classical music playing in the background.....a perfect start to our day!! Carriglea is within walking distance of town and Kilkenny Castle is just down the street. This B&B is in a perfect location. Tony and Josephine are friendly and helpful hosts and we felt we could have chatted with them for hours! We totally enjoyed our stay there and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Kilkenny.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

This B&B was our first B&B experience in Ireland, and it was the best. Josephine is a delightful host and runs an impeccable business. The house is about a hundred years old and in excellent condition. It is also well cared for - no chipped paint or dripping faucets. You can tell that they are serious about offering a perfect experience.
The location for us was perfect, a couple of blocks from Kilkenny Castle and a slew of terrific shops, pubs and restaurants. We dumped our rental car in the Carriglea's private off-street parking and walked to everything.
We both had the full Irish breakfast, served in the Carriglea's beautiful high-ceilinged dining room. With white linen table cloths and friendly service.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OcalaTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cogorno, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We’ve been staying just one night at Carriglea. Josephine was extremely kind and friendly. The room was lovely and very clean, it was huge as well, comfortable and very quiet despite the main road not far from our window. Irish morning breakfast was delicious, everything was freshly cooked with plenty of choice of jam, fruits and yoghurt. Private car parking and wireless internet connection are included. The location is very close to the castle and walking distance to any pub and shop you may want to visit in the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Corrado C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Carriglea B&B is a great place to stay! Just a few minutes from Kilkenny centre, it features car park, wide and lovely rooms with plenty of light and free wifi connection. Breakfast is fantastic! Josephine is a lovely and friendly host!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donato I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A short 1 and half hour ride from Dublin airport. Very welcoming hosts, off street parking, great large room with shower and toilet. Outstanding full Irish breakfast served each morning. Just a short five minute to the downtown area. Josephine and Tony were perfect hosts, stayed four nights and it was hard to leave. Tony was great with driving directions to the many places we were able to travel to during the four days. Recommend for couple, and families with children, will stay again on our future visits to Kilkenny.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel Guy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fanad House
Fanad House
#12 of 72 in Kilkenny
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
Newlands Country House B&B
#11 of 72 in Kilkenny
226 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ashbrook House
Ashbrook House
#41 of 72 in Kilkenny
39 reviews
10.1 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriglea B&B Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriglea B&B Kilkenny

Property: Carriglea B&B Kilkenny
Address: Archers Avenue | Castle Road, Kilkenny 00, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriglea is an elegant spacious home on a quiet avenue 5 minutes walk from Kilkenny city centre. Adjacent to the beautiful castle park and only 3 minutes walk from Kilkenny Castle. All bedrooms are well furnished and offer a comfortable relaxing atmosphere. They are all centrally heated with en-suite bathrooms and welcome tray with tea and coffee. Guests are offered a full breakfast menu. A warm and friendly welcome to Kilkenny is assured to all. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriglea b&b Kilkenny Hotel Kilkenny
Carriglea Bed And Breakfast Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing