We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carriglea B&B Kilkenny

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriglea B&B Kilkenny
Ranked #19 of 77 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed at this charming B & B just on the edge of downtown Kilkenny for two nights in June and had a wonderful time. This gorgeous old 2-storey B & B is located across the street from the Kilkenny castle grounds and only a couple of blocks from downtown. This is far enough away from downtown not to hear the traffic and close enough for a leisurely stroll into town. We were able to park our car on the lot and never use it during our stay. We had booked 3 nights at Carriglea but an emergency put us a day behind schedule and we had to cancel our first nights stay. We called only 24 hours before our scheduled arrival but Josephine was wonderful (I wish we could have stayed the extra night). Our room was spacious and well kept and the breakfasts were superb. Carriglea is a clean, well run B &B where the host, Josephine, welcomes you and makes you feel at home. I don’t know if you could find a better location for a B & B in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KelandJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
121
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

This B&B is about a 10 minute walk to town. The host provided us with several restaurant choices and other advice. Although it did not have inroom phones, Josephine and her husband gladly let us use theirs for our calling card needs. It is very quiet and in a beautiful section of Kilkenny.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort atkinson wisconsin usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

We have stayed at this bed and breakfast three times in the last three years, and we have thoroughly enjoyed each multiple-day stay. The rooms are clean, well-equipped, with washroom facilities that more than fit any standard of fussines. The breakfasts are wonderful, with fresh fruit salad, homemade breads, cereal, losts of hot choices, and crepes to die for. Two factors make this an exceptional place to stay: the friendly hosts who know the area and can clue in visitors to out-of-the way sites, and a perfect location on a quiet side street just across for the castle. Take the river walk across the castle park and explore the park grounds. We took an evening walk in the park every day we stayed. If you have a noon flight out of Dublin, this bed and breakfast is only two hours away on modern roads.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights last week, and we had a wonderful stay at Carriglea, a true home from home.
Josephine is so kind and nice, and her breakfast was so good, I can recommend the pancakes and the full Irish- delicious! What's more she will help you finding the best restaurants and B&B in town. We loved everything: our cozy, clean and spacious room, the bathroom wita powerful shower, and the nice room where breakfast was served.. everything was perfect.
The B&B is very easy to reach, and conveniently located about 5 min walk to kilkenny castle, the Kilkenny Design Centre -lovely shop- and town centre. So stay here, you'll love this place, and will be so happy with your choise!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irisheart79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

The other rave reviews of Carriglea on TripAdvisor are what convinced me to spend one night there. Josephine, the owner and host, is a sweet, warm woman, and everything about our stay was pleasant. The room was small, but it was clean and cozy. The breakfast was very good and Josephine offers a choice of four menu options, which was a treat! At every other B&B in Ireland, we had less choice in what our breakfast would be. The location couldn't be closer to the castle and the downtown. Both the castle and the cathedral are worth visiting (climb the tower at the cathedral for a great view!), and The Field was the most fun, lively pub we experienced in Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaliforniaNewlywed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

My mom, sister, and I stayed here for one short night in late July. If you are still planning your trip, head the advice - stay longer than you think you'll need! We had already booked most of our B & Bs and didn't want to "mess things up" by tacking on another day and we all agreed we would have liked at least one more day. We ended up not leaving until almost 4:00 p.m our last day with a four hour drive ahead of us because we liked the city so much. Josephine was kind enough to let us leave our car there because she was expecting a late arrival.

Kilkenny is an adorable little town and Josephine is an exceptional host. Her home is spotless and she made us feel welcome from the very beginning. We enjoyed tea and her famous scones upon arrival and enjoyed chatting with her then and again the next morning after a delicious breakfast. Perfect location and a gorgeous home, you would do yourself a favor booking a couple of nights here! :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfever104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We enjoyed a very nice stay at the Carriglea House and we would highly recommend this B&B for a stay in Kilkenny. We arrived by train and took a taxi which cost about 8 euros for 2 people. We were there within 7-10 minutes. If you drive, however, there was ample parking next to the lodge.

We were greeted by Tony and told that Josephine is the boss, but he helps. We were shown to our room and were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. We had #2 and it had a double bed and a twin. We welcomed all the extra space after a very tiny room during our stay in Cork. The room was comfortable and everything was clean and updated. The linens were new and the bed very comfortable.

Tony gave us some recommendations for things to see and places to eat, along with a map of the city. We loved the location of this B&B. It was on a quiet street, but about a 5 min walk to the center of town and right across the street from the Castle grounds. For us, you couldn't get much better.

We met Josephine the next morning at breakfast. We were asked to put in our breakfast order the night before and there were 4 things to choose from. We had the full Irish breakfast of which the sausages and white pudding were some of my favorites I've had in Ireland. The pancakes were excellent. They were a bit of a cross between a crepe and a US pancake, our favorite of breakfasts there.

They don't do laundry at the B&B, but there was was both a self-serve and laundry service facility in town. It was about a 15 min walk from the lodge and it cost us 14 euros for a small load, but it was ready within 2 hours.

Our hosts were very friendly and helpful and we thought the room was comfortable and the location great. This place was also an excellent value.

Just a few tips on Kilkenny. We've been to Ireland several times, but this was our first stop here. Although, very touristy it is an enjoyable, picturesque little town. Most say they wish they would have spent more time here and less in Dublin. We weren't overly impressed with food options, they all seemed to be the same, but this in comparison to Cork, Belfast and Dublin. The Castle is gorgeous and a great place to run or walk in the mornings. The grounds open at 8:30 am. We loved Left Bank bar. Be sure you try Kilkenny beer while there. If you plan to do the Smithwick's Brewery Tour which tells a great history of the area, stop by and get your tickets ahead of time. They only take 12 per tour and many times were booked when we went. If you are there on Thursday, check out the Farmer's Market near the Castle.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pug13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriglea B&B Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriglea B&B Kilkenny

Property: Carriglea B&B Kilkenny
Address: Archers Avenue | Castle Road, Kilkenny 00, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriglea is an elegant spacious home on a quiet avenue 5 minutes walk from Kilkenny city centre. Adjacent to the beautiful castle park and only 3 minutes walk from Kilkenny Castle. All bedrooms are well furnished and offer a comfortable relaxing atmosphere. They are all centrally heated with en-suite bathrooms and welcome tray with tea and coffee. Guests are offered a full breakfast menu. A warm and friendly welcome to Kilkenny is assured to all. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriglea Bed And Breakfast Kilkenny
Carriglea b&b Kilkenny Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing