We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place”
Review of Dunromin B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunromin B&B
Ranked #8 of 72 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Place”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We only had the opportunity to stay one night but it was one of the best stops we made. Val and Tom were wonderful. From the moment we walked in Val had Tea and Coffee made and started going over things to see and do. She set us up with Info to get OPW cards which helped save a little money on our tours. She even had menus for use to look at to get an idea of where we should go for dinner. Very accommodating and helpful. Val introduced us in the morning to the other couples staying there and her grandson that came to stay for a few days.
Just a real nice family atmosphere and made us feel right at home.

Room Tip: The front bedroom we stayed in was a little loud that night due to being on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    26
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
154
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed just one night at Dunromin as part of a two-week trip in Ireland. We loved it! It is so adorable and beautifully decorated and Tom and Val are the sweetest. Seriously they are just epitomize Irish hospitality. The stairs to and in (!) the room took some careful navigating but really it was an awesome b&b and I just wish we could have stayed longer. I loved the decor and Val's use of local pottery in the sitting/tea room. It's a good 10-15 minute walk from town center but nothing too far. The next time we're in the country we will do a few days in the area and definitely try to stay with them again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rocky hill, CT USA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have stayed with Val & Tom several times, and have always been made to feel as welcome as loved family. The home is nicely appointed, spacious, great showers, and a very good breakfast, often with Tom providing live music. They are a wealth of knowledge about the area, and are happy to help with suggestions and directions. Need recommendations for food & music in one of Kilkenny's over 70 pubs? Unbiased and honest advice you can trust. And an easy walk to an lar (town center), during the day the Nore River walk is beautiful. We won't stay anywhere else in Kilkenny!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our third time in Ireland, second with Val and Tom. Their B & B should be the standard that all B & B's strive for; the exact experience you hope to have in this immensely friendly country. Clean, Comfortable, Happy and Charming. Thank You Val and Tom, hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable and large for Ireland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikStor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

As many have said below, this is a wonderful place to stay in Kilkenny. As soon as you arrive they treat you like family and provide all the information you need regarding the city. You are about a 15 minute walk from the town center. Breakfast was wonderful. And, on the day you leave, Val will provide directions and information regarding your next destination. If you are planning a trip to Kilkenny, stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsims74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our first B&B of our trip and Val, the hostess was outstanding. She truly has a lovely personality, very friendly but professional. She had tea and cakes on our arrival and when I told her of our tire blow out on our first rental, she gave me three shots of Jameson whiskey for my tea upon my request! Very nice back room, facing a field which included pheasants(wild).
Since we arrived four hours later than planned, Val made sure we could see the highlights of Killkenny using a city walking guide map after 6:30PM. Breakfast was very filling and lots of fresh foods and choices. Fun sitting together at large table giving us a chance to talk and social with the other guests. She gave us a detailed map of getting out of town towards Killarney and it was 100% accurate. You can't go wrong staying here and the other four B&B we stayed at never even came close to hers.

Room Tip: Room facing the back has privacy shade but it could be darker for light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToniG-town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent only one night, and It was perfect. The pink room is cute. Val and Tom made us feel very comfortable from the minute we arrived. Nice welcome with tea and sweets.
First of all, it is located next to city center, very short and green walk next to the river.
Second, breakfast was great. Finally the day we left, they gave us all kinds of information for the whole day and it was very USEFUL.
Thanks. Ruti and Damian.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.7 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,756 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,950 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,915 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,684 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunromin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunromin B&B

Property: Dunromin B&B
Address: Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 19th Century family home where the kettle is always boiling. Located on the Dublin Road, 10 minute scenic walk to the City and Railway/Bus stations. Ideal centre from which to explore the South East. All rooms ensuite with TV / hairdryers. Two seperate guest sitting rooms with coffee/tea facilities and literature on local events/ attractions. We offer a private car park for guests' use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunromin Hotel Kilkenny
Dunromin Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing