We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B & B”
Review of Dunromin B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunromin B&B
Ranked #11 of 74 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The house was perfectly set up to welcome you and the woman who runs the place makes you feel at home. She was more than to willing to answer any question you have and help you make your vacation as enjoyable as possible. The rooms had everything any one would need!

Room Tip: All rooms I saw were cute, clean and fully decorated to make you feel at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 290 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2011

We had a wonderful time staying at the Dunromin B&B, mostly because Val & Tom were warm, welcoming and extremely knowledgeable about Kilkenny. Val gave us a thorough overview of the area and armed us with maps, brochures and details of all of the attractions. After our terrific breakfast, we were set for the day! In the evening, we walked into town for great music and "craic" in the pubs Val suggested. The highlight, though, was our last breakfast when Tom brought out his concertina and serenaded us with Traditional Irish tunes!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Great reception by the owners. Gave us excellent advice on what to see, where to eat in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We were five adults staying here on our first night in Ireland and we couldn't have been happier with the accommodation. Val was very welcoming and helpful - we appreciated her pub recommendation for dinner (Bollards) and her suggestions for things to do the next day. The rooms were very bright and spacious, and the beds were comfortable. Although the B&B is located on a busy road, I stayed in the bedroom at the front of the house and did not find it noisy at all. The breakfast was great and the B&B is just a short walk to the centre of Kilkenny. Wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizcdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

A perfect place to stay while visiting Kilkenny. Val & Tom are a pair of the nicest hosts you will meet with superb local knowledge and insight. True ambassadors to one of the greatest towns in Ireland and Irish black pudding.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimmyJames79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Have just come across DUNROMIN on the internet, so decided to write a belated review. We have stayed with Val & Tom on many occasions over the years. Unfortunately we have not been back more recently, but hope to rectify this soon! Always a very homely welcome and they could not do enough for us any time we stayed. Val & Tom obviously enjoy the company of others, including children and the opportunity to make anyone welcome to their home. Everything was always "FINE" - Val will know what that refers to! Cannot recommend Dunromin highly enough. Breakfast will certainly set you up for the day!! You will receive plenty of information & advice about interesting places to see. You will not be disappointed!!
John, Brenda, Chris, Harriett & Megan (N/Irl)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Val and Tom were absolutely wonderful. Val had a plethora of information. Val directed us to a lovely area called St. Mullins. Val even remembered or breakfast order from previous trips. You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbieyf917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
0.7 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#9 of 74 in Kilkenny
226 reviews
4.2 mi away
Newlands Lodge
Newlands Lodge
#2 of 74 in Kilkenny
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
169 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rosquil House
Rosquil House
#5 of 74 in Kilkenny
570 reviews
0.7 mi away
Butler House
Butler House
#7 of 74 in Kilkenny
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunromin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunromin B&B

Address: Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: $41 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 19th Century family home where the kettle is always boiling. Located on the Dublin Road, 10 minute scenic walk to the City and Railway/Bus stations. Ideal centre from which to explore the South East. All rooms ensuite with TV / hairdryers. Two seperate guest sitting rooms with coffee/tea facilities and literature on local events/ attractions. We offer a private car park for guests' use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunromin Hotel Kilkenny
Dunromin Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing