We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Zuni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zuni Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed April 21, 2007

We stayed in Zuni 19th to 22nd April, 2007 and had a wonderful time.

Without exception, the staff were courteous and went out of their way to help us with anything we requested. The room was spacious, spotless and well decorated and the breakfasts (which we had in bed!) were lovely... the great Irish breakfast!

The only negative that we would point out is the bathroom in the room. It was of reasonable size and very clean but it needed updating. There was nothing wrong with it per se but it could do with updating. In saying that, Georgina Campbells guide to hotels in Ireland states that they are renovating at the moment, so we may have caught them out a little.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. Lovely staff, great loaction and a fabulous restaurant. We'll definitely return.

  • Liked — Quality and service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Porthos80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    121
    39
    22
    10
See reviews for
49
213
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kildare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2007

Having stayed in the Zuni townhouse hotel some years ago it was out of nostalgia that we booked a one night stay in a suite(theres only one apparently). Upon arrival we had to phone in to reception to have the barrier raised to access parking. Renata checked us in and was very pleasant in doing so. Having gone for the suite we expected the extra bit of luxury,this however was not to be the case. While the room was clean in general it was the bathroom that caused our hearts and jaws to drop. Such an important to pay attention to. The area was cramped although high ceilinged,cracked tiles from probably an unstable or uneven under flooring, the woodchip-like laminated side of the bath looked water bloated and peeling in spots and none too hygienic looking. The shower holder was set low and there was a reason as we discovered. Because the bottom was broken if the shower head was raised it came away from the lower fixing. An old soap dispenser was out of commission probably for some time too. It looked like a nice soak would be out of the question. We expected more from booking the suite. I knew better not to bother approach reception about my concerns as I had been informed upon arrival that it was the only suite in the hotel. Such a pity and a disappointment.

  • Liked — nice restaurant
  • Disliked — the suite,the term is used loosely we found
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dermotKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2007

I found the staff to be very helpful, I received a phone call to let me know I'd left some clothes behind, which they returned to me at the hotel's expense. The room was very nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great, with a nice selection of foods, all served in the lovely restaurant. All in all, I was very happy with my stay, and would most definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank DublinPrettypolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj, usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2006

We booked 2 nights at the Zuni after reading recommendations in one of the Bridgestone Guides. Right from the start, we were not impressed with the cleanliness of the public areas -- the elevator and esp. the 2nd floor hallway where the black carpet had tears in it and was very worn. Our room was just ok -- absolutely nothing special -- sparsely decorated, clean but not spotless -- the door had a new door knob/lock situation but the old holes were still in the door which needed a new paint job. It was very obvious that the Zuni accommodations need some tender loving care and need to pay attention to small details -- esp. if they are going to charge prices like they do. We only stayed the one night and then moved onto another accommodation. Our breakfast was fine the next morning but we definitely felt like the Zuni was very overrated for the cost.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank flutemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monaghan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2006

Third time staying in this hotel, and its gone downhill on each visit. Why did we go back? sentiments. First time a wonderful stay as it was newly opened, staff were eager and cared, rooms were properly cleaned, attitude and atmosphere was healthy and positive. Second and third time we stayed was the result of family gifts, back to the sentiment theme. Rooms were filthy, staff were shockingly unhelpful and uninterested.A tray with decomposing food sat outside the next doors room for two nights and three days!!!
The basics you would expect from a hotel are long gone attention to detail is beyond this place now.
So disappointed, Zuni was on the right road to start with but sharply fell off with a large bump...ouch!

  • Liked — when it was newly opened
  • Disliked — standards hev declined since
  • Stayed September 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank roadtriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkpb, Owner/Manager at Zuni Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2006
In response to the damaging review from Monaghan member, I am very dissapointed that the guest in question did not fill in a comment card or speak with a manager during a two night stay, assuming standards were as low as they described at Zuni.
We are consistantly striving to provide a top class service. We have an excellent award winning restaurant, and while our romms are seven years old, they are not filthy.
If there was a problem in a particular room during their stay, we would have liked to have had the chance to rectify the problem for the guest.
Regarding a tray on a corridor for three days, that is impossible, our rooms are serviced daily and staff would have had to step over the tray to carry out their daily duties.
We pride ourselves on our excellent & helpful staff, we do not tolerate or employ unhelpful or uninterested staff.

I think you will agree that if we were as bad as Monaghan member suggests, we would have been out of business a long time ago.

Kind regards
Paul Byrne
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2006

For the prices that are charged, I was a little disappointed in this hotel. It is far from being a budget option and I expected more in terms of the room and service for the amount paid

I found that the front desk staff were not particularly welcoming or helpful, but the staff in the restaurant and bar were friendly and efficient. Our room probably looked very trendy when the hotel opened, but at this stage it could do with being redecorated. Some of the red paint had chipped off the walls, the dark furniture was stained with cup marks and the black carpet had definitely seen better days. However, the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and we both slept very well – despite some noise from the fans.

The biggest disappointment was the bathroom. For somewhere that presents itself as a designer boutique hotel, I was very surprised to find that it resembled my idea of a bathroom from a horrible dingy bedsit. The tiles were cracked, the wood panelling that fronted the bath was rotten, and the power shower (although good in itself) was too much for the shower door, with the result that there was a flood all over the floor every time we used it.

Our package included dinner in the hotel one evening, and I must say that this was the highlight. The food was excellent and it was a very enjoyable evening. All in all a mixed experience – it was somewhat frustrating as we could see that the hotel was obviously once fantastic. I think I would try to stay somewhere else if I was in Kilkenny again, but I would definitely return for the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zebedee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2006

We set off from Dublin expecing a relaxing night in Kilkenny. Unfortunately, Zuni did not live up to expectations (or price). The room was small, stuffy, hot and dark, with a window overlooking the courtyard with the fans from the restaurant right outside. We were assured that the fans stop when the restaurant closes, which they did. However, the noise from the fans was replaced by worse - a very loud humming noise which we think probably came from the heating pipes, even thought the radiator was switched off. This finally stopped in the early morning, to be replaced by the fans! Never again!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
763 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,915 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zuni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuni Hotel

Property: Zuni Hotel
Address: 26 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#11 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Zuni Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free On-Site Parking Free Wi-FiCity Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Zuni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zuni Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing